Most counties are spending huge amounts of their money on developing their own centres of excellence and there's Dublin just get a ground that would rival clubs of the EPL landed there for free. Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 19/04/2016 17:41:21 1847338 Link 0 |
Nobody is blaming Dublin for this, or that they'll have every one of their under-age teams and adult teams training her in the future. What is frustrating is the GAA HQ overwhelming favouritism for Dublin. Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 19/04/2016 17:55:02 1847343 Link 0 |
Uncle Fester when you say that Dublin are getting this facility for free what do you mean? Do you mean that the DCB doesn't have to pay anything at all to use the pitches there but other counties do? If that's the case then I agree that this is grossly unfar. I thinks it's fair that they get usage of the gym if the DCB paid for it. Of course the NSC was always going to be in Abbotstown. In fairness this was a government decision, not the GAA's. This project is effectively the GAA's bertie bowl, a white elephant in the making I would say. The national sport was always going to have a huge presence there unless Enda decided to reloacte the NSC to Westport. Dublin already have excellent training facilities at DCU and at some of the bigger clubs so I don't think using Abbotstown to any degree is going to enhance their prospects. The hard work is being done at club level to produce and then refine the raw talent. Roscommon, Mayo, Tipp, Kildare are all at it. As this article suggests, Abbotstown is unlikely to be used intensively by the Dubs, whose hurlers are already hosted at DCU and where the DCB has already invested. However, if this facility does all start to go white elephant then I would not be surprised if HQ put pressure on the DCB to become an anchor tenant or they will end up with egg on their face. Think Spring Series here, except, unlike Croker where you can jam in a Springsteen concert to make it look like a viable facility, you can't do the same at Abbotstown, not unless Crystal Swing are now doing outdoor venues anyway. Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 19/04/2016 18:41:08 1847362 Link 0 |
@ Joxer if you read McEntee's article he suggests that the Abbotstown site shouldn't be an All Ireland GAA facility. It should have been set aside as a Dublin GAA facility. It would have then been Dublin GAA's responsibility for developing the site. Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4600 - 19/04/2016 19:22:37 1847376 Link 0 |
Il repeat again the gaa did not pick the location. Why is this so hard for people on here to understand? ??? hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/04/2016 19:47:08 1847382 Link 0 |
Joxer, apart from paying to outfit the gym Dublin County Board were not asked to make a contribution to Abbotstown. Yet they now find themselves with a state of the art centre of excellence within the confines of the county. Should they chose to use it they will have to pay to do so. I have worked with two relatively small counties. Both have developed very fine centres of excellence. Both of those centres of excellence cost large amounts of money which had to be raised and which continue to be raised. Both cost significant amounts of money on an annual basis to maintain. That is money that cannot be invested in player development. The Dublin county board do not have to deal with the cost of developing a centre of excellence nor will they have to deal with the on going costs of maintaining a centre of excellence. That means they can use that money for games and player development. They currently have 60 full time coaches employed in player development. Allied to the fact that don't have to finance a centre of excellence is the fact that they receive 47% of all games development grants disbursed by The GAA. This also gives them a significant advantage over other counties. Dublin have developed their players very well and deserve all their recent success but I don't think anyone can deny that they have been very favourably treated by The GAA. Abbotstown is another example of Dublin being advantaged by The GAA from the point of view of not having to finance and maintain a centre of excellence and as a consequence being able to plough that money in to additional player development. Other counties have not been afforded that luxury. Dublin posters have said that it is all about players and their development. Those posters are correct. It is time to acknowledge however that Dublin have significant advantages when it comes to player development. Abbotstown affords them another one. I am not anti Dublin. I admire what they have achieved and having worked with teams who have played against them I appreciate how good they are. However they cannot be afforded any more advantages over competing counties. Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 19/04/2016 19:48:04 1847383 Link 0 |
Yes Whammo but it's a NATIONAL Sports Centre and Dublin don't need, nor want I suspect, this facility. They've been doing alright without it. Duffy himself said that the GAA were always going to build big here. The location was by accident more than design in that the NSC was destined for Abbotstown from day 1. The GAA is a national sports body not a Dublin sports body. Imagine the uproar on here if the GAA built this and just handed the keys of the car to Dublin as you suggest. Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 19/04/2016 20:17:00 1847391 Link 0 |
Joxer and Hill you are missing points. Joxer it was not suggested that the keys of Abbotstown be handed to Dublin free of charge. It was suggested that they make a significant financial contribution to it. Dublin were already investigating the possibility of developing a centre of excellence. I believe they will now come under pressure to use Abbotstown in order to make Abbotstown viable. Hill the point you are missing is that other counties have developed centres of excellence at very significant cost not just in terms of development but in terms of maintenance. That is money that cannot be spent on coaches, player and games development. Those are very, very significant costs that Dublin don't have to pay. Consequently they are in a position to employ 60 full time coaches. Allied to this is the fact that a disproportionately large percentage of the games development grants have been disbursed to Dublin over the last ten years . It's fairly clear that Dublin have been advantaged. They have done brilliantly and they thoroughly deserve their success but the playing field has to be levelled . Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 19/04/2016 20:37:35 1847400 Link 0 |
Yes Greengrass but the NSC is a national facility. Regardless of whether Dublin were to pay for it or not the NSC is not supposed to be the exclusive reserve of any one team, county, group etc. What do you think the reaction would be if the GAA said Dublin give us €6m and we will build you a state of the art facility at the National Sports Campus? There would have been uproar, not least from McEntee's CB who have just ploughed 5m or so into a centre of excellence up the road, part funded by the Leinster Council and government of course. There are no winners here and yes I agree with you per my original post that it's likely that Dublin will be forced into using this potential white elephant when they have already bespoked DCU for their needs. The GAA should have built a scaled down facility at Abbotstown and split the rest of the funding out to the provinces. I suspect that the egos at HQ wouldn't allow this though. No way would they want to look like a minority partner in a national sporting facility. Duffy said as much himself. Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 19/04/2016 21:14:09 1847411 Link 0 |
I agree with a lot of what you say Joxer. We are a national organisation but we could never have a national centre of excellence in the true sense of the word because we don't have international teams . The top brass can posture all they like but Abbotstown will never be a national centre of excellence . I think Dublin will be pressurised in to using it . There should have been less money spent on it and more money should be given to counties for games development . Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 19/04/2016 21:47:16 1847420 Link 0 |
I agree with a lot of what you say Joxer. We are a national organisation but we could never have a national centre of excellence in the true sense of the word because we don't have international teams . The top brass can posture all they like but Abbotstown will never be a national centre of excellence . I think Dublin will be pressurised in to using it . There should have been less money spent on it and more money should be given to counties for games development . Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 19/04/2016 21:52:37 1847422 Link 0 |
I feel sorry for the genuine Dublin GAA people on here. tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1526 - 20/04/2016 08:24:44 1847427 Link 0 |
The financial doping of the Man City of GAA continues. The GAA is creating a monster in Dublin GAA and granted, they seem to be responding but will it take Dublin winning 10-in-a-row before the GAA cop on to the fact that it's a competitive sport that keeps things alive? Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 20/04/2016 09:18:33 1847443 Link 0 |
I dont know how to make this any more clear. heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 20/04/2016 09:23:19 1847445 Link 0 |
The financial doping of the Man City of GAA continues. The GAA is creating a monster in Dublin GAA and granted, they seem to be responding but will it take Dublin winning 10-in-a-row before the GAA cop on to the fact that it's a competitive sport that keeps things alive? heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 20/04/2016 09:28:30 1847448 Link 0 |
Give up heresam. You're embarrassing . Louth won't be going anywhere near Abbotstown . Nor will Meath . They have developed their own centres of excellence . Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 20/04/2016 09:58:32 1847460 Link 0 |
Whinge whinge whinge you do realise Dublin have as I already said stated they won't be using it. Your giving out that Dublin had money to pay coaches hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/04/2016 10:07:45 1847466 Link 0 |
Kilkenny last won a championship match in 1926 v Longford. Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 20/04/2016 10:14:19 1847470 Link 0 |
heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 20/04/2016 10:34:24 1847486 Link 0 |
A bit off topic but just one thing about full time coaches(GPOs). We have one in our club. His time is divided, roughly, like this. Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 20/04/2016 12:18:18 1847569 Link 0 |