The GAA is becoming a ridiculous embarrassment

tearintom --
I don't see why people brought rugby into the thread here, it seems to be a means of distraction from our own issues as was the original point of the thread.

Agreed- just any excuse to denigrate rugby --which to some posters is the most evil unpure sport of all!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/11/2015 20:36:23    1805439

08/11/2015 20:36:23
janesboro
County: Limerick

tearintom --
I don't see why people brought rugby into the thread here, it seems to be a means of distraction from our own issues as was the original point of the thread.

Agreed- just any excuse to denigrate rugby --which to some posters is the most evil unpure sport of all!!

Inferior sport yes but evil no thats putting to far .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/11/2015 21:40:04    1805462

I brought rugby in as a way of proving the point that its the media who continue to pick the moments in Gaelic football to make headlines and not in other sports and also to show the comparison of the championship to the rugby world cup which showed how they whinged that there was only Dublin Kerry and mayo who could win it but before rugby world cup started you had new Zealand and Australia as clearly above the rest and a lot of no hopers yet it was lauded as a fantastic world cup where is the equality in judging both sports in print and broadcast media? I also used rugby as a comparison for the national league to the rabo in how the league has far more full strength line ups week in week out but the media put it down constantly yet promote the rabo in a far better light.
You also have across the water managers week in week out berating officials and constantly being hit with touch line bans yet no real highlighting how that is destroying soccer or the fact that a certain manager was backed by his club by using a female team doctor doing her job correctly as a reason his team lost and was allowed sack her by the club and get their full support

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/11/2015 21:41:42    1805463

A lot of the controversy over the year has centred around the DRA and its rulings. The simple fact of the matter is GAA rules are so poorly defined which leads to inconsistency and then trial by the Sunday game - all without due process. That is what the DRA is for, it is not a mechanism to absolve wrongdoer's it is to ensure fairness in the application of the rules. People have been charged on the strenght of say a highlight on the Sunday game, the charges maybe be non-existent, they maybe are incorrect, they maybe are completely out of context. The bottom line if someone gets "physical" with you - no matter were it is, on the street or the pitch you are entitled to defend yourself. How many players are sent off for retaliation and the original culprit has no sanction? How many times on the Sunday game have we seen panelists highlight indiscretion in a very biased subjective way. That is why the DRA takes the stance it does, fairness, due process and the right to defend yourself are values every game must have. I hope now the Sunday game curb their kangaroo court, that players continue to go to the DRA to clear their names especially when they have been unfairly singled out.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 09/11/2015 09:01:05    1805475

Im sorry but this idea that there is some form of media conspiracy against the GAA and Football in particualar is at best a lame excuse.

And whats the obsession with the 2 teams capable of winning the rubgy world up meaning it must be poor. Because there are 2 outstanding teams who get to the final it must be poor, what sort of logic is that? How many people picked Dublin and Kerry as the teams to reach the final this year? This idea that theres nothing wrong its just a media conspiracy is fanciful at best. And even if there is what difference does it make, the media arent making up these things, if they dont report them does that mean they dont exist.

In the media today there is a report of the referee getting a Garda escort from the Kerry final, so the media shouldnt report it or should only report it if there are similar issues in a rugby or soccer match to balance it out? This is a website for promoting our games and scroll down the page to look at the headlines and you see "referee struck in longford", "bite not mentioned in referees report" and "he gouged my eye". Is the Hoganstand part of this media conspiracy? Should they try brush these things under the
carpet? And im not sure what TV stations, Radio stations or papers you frequent if you believe there has been no real highlighting of the Mourinho incidents you refer to!

The football this year was atrocious and in my opinion the fault lies with the powers that be at GAA HQ. Dublin handing out trashing each day they play (in their own stadium and nowhere else) until they reach the semi final, Kerry getting 1 scare in Munster and another quarter final trashing to reach the semi, Mayo handing out a record beating in the Conaught final at least Ulster wasnt a cake walk for anyone.

Its a bit much complaining about the gaps in the rugby world cup when you look at our own football championship as an example. Look at Leinster football or Dublins run to the All Ireland final, imagine Chelsea taking part in the Champions League and going on to win it playing every game at Stamford Bridge or Leinster wining the Heineken Cup playing every game in the Aviva?

There is no conspiracy, the GAA is my game and we have huge issues 90% of the fault lies with the men in suits who run the game. We dont have issues because the media "apparently" highlight them, we have issues because we have issues and no amount of distraction to failings of other games is going to change that.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1534 - 09/11/2015 09:06:25    1805476

No need for all the grandstanding from Ulsterman, it isn't helpful to the point.

There is a big issue around discipline in the gaa. We need to sort it out.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/11/2015 09:47:00    1805489

tearintom

you obviously didnt read my post properly to understand the points I was making.
what I was doing was showing that the public perception would be quite similiar of certain competitions
between GAA and rugby, but the medias coverage of both were completly different ends of the scale in how they
portrayed one to the other.
The example with the championship to the world cup is relevant
as the media have lead a berage looking for change in championship structures because three or four teams are on top.
the ironic thing is they are looking to change it to the format that exists in the rugby world cup,
now the fact is you have wo teams who were capable of only winning that competition and both made the final
why would that make anybody want to adapt that structure in a hope of change??????
where was the clamour for change to the rugby world cup structure when it brought about the predictable scenario????
Surely you can identify how the media treats similiar things in each sport with different perspectives?
Talk of the GAA being an embarressment is madness
its not perfect but what sport is???
we had a massive FIFA scandal in world soccer
The IAAf is rife with systemic doping, bribery and corruption at the heart of the sport.
Yet they dont make headlines over the good stuff that happens in their sport
Thats the problem with the medias attention to all things negative when it comes to Gaelic football

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/11/2015 12:21:18    1805553

Todays Irish Independant is just one newspaper I clicked on and these are their GAA headlines

*Ugly scenes as Kerry rivals Legion and South Kerry draw after generous added time*
*Leinster Council awaiting report after referee is allegedly punched after game*
*Referee gets Garda escort off pitch as Killarney Legion and South Kerry draw in dramatic encounter*
*Joe Brolly: Drift towards capitalism is sucking life out of the GAA*
*Hurler impales hand on team mates helmet during game*

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/11/2015 12:28:44    1805556

ormondbannerman
The world cup was on for most of the pro12 so far this season so this season very few sides have been full strength
08/11/2015 18:03:51 uibhfhaili1986
Which proves it isn't really that important.
If it was so important the world cup would not be clashing with the competition.
The whole soccer season in Europe will be changed in order to make sure all the players can play in domestic leagues when the world Cup in Qatar is on.Why isn't the same done for a supposedly important competition like the pro 12.
No it doesn't mean that the pro12 isn't important. If no games were played during the world cup you would have to extend the season by a month or so and that just isn't feasible. Your point about the soccer world cup is nonsense. The world cup in soccer is usually played in June and the European leagues don't clash with the world cup in June but the Qatar world cup is in European winter and therefore a big clahs

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 09/11/2015 12:44:06    1805565

08/11/2015 19:13:45 PoolSturgeon
Everyone on this site is anonymous and uses a moniker.The stuffiness of any contributor who guards their moniker as if it is intrinsic to their whole being is just incredible. It is absolutely ridiculous and childish to be so precious about made-up names Ormond (and that will be the last time I will refer to you as ormond!)
One of the house rules of this site states you shouldn't post anything offensive. Calling me names and not calling me by name is offensive in my eyes
It isn't ridiculous to expect your name to be spelt as you like it to be

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 09/11/2015 12:45:41    1805566

Ormond

People should spell your name correctly.

However, you should not call other peoples posts as ignorant and stupid which you do constantly.

You are the one that is committing the bigger 'crimes'. Rather than petulantly taking a pseudo moral high ground when someone misspells you name, you could change (dramatically) how you post yourself.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 09/11/2015 13:09:52    1805584

I know it doesn't fit in with the theme of the thread but there were some excellent hurling, gaelic football and ladies football games played over here this weekend despite dreadful conditions. From reading reports in the papers there were also some excellent games in Ireland, many in front of huge crowds. As someone said here earlier, if you actually go and attend games you will see the excitement and enjoyment the GAA brings to every corner of the country. Yes there are occasionally disciplinary issues but it is very much the exception rather than the norm.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 09/11/2015 15:45:18    1805648

09/11/2015 13:09:52
bennybunny
Ormond People should spell your name correctly.
However, you should not call other peoples posts as ignorant and stupid which you do constantly.
You are the one that is committing the bigger 'crimes'. Rather than petulantly taking a pseudo moral high ground when someone misspells you name, you could change (dramatically) how you post yourself.
Am I really committing the 'bigger' crimes when people are constantly doing the same to me? To solely criticise me for saying people are ignorant and posts are stupid is double standards
Yes I need to improve how I post but why should I when I am constantly abused and called names? Why should I have to accept that?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 09/11/2015 16:05:35    1805655

Unfortunately some so-called journalists would rather avoid reporting on 50 good games in the hope of reporting on second-hand accounts of a 'melee' at a GAA match which was little more than handbags. The same journalists get their information online or by adapting real journalists stories. They know nothing about GAA but unfortunately in this day and age bad news stories sell papers.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8168 - 09/11/2015 16:12:46    1805660

Well said GreenandRed , but in fairness is HS any different ? Love a bit of blame and shame on here and to hell with the truth , this is the Velcro site throw enough and see whats sticks is some lads motto , We play a physical sport and there are instances when that line is crossed of course it happens , wed be foolish to deny othewards , but I attend enough games to be confident to state this , there is no more an issue with our sport than any other of course my experiences are Dublin based mainly .
I love my lads who are young men ,if I thought for one second that their well being was in danger Id have them nowhere near a GAA pitch .
I read the same papers Im sure as most and am allways flabbergasted at the headlines I see as its not in keeping with what I witness regularly .
Worst games ever attended have been school games as they are often played by lads looking to get off classs, they dont know the game and it leads to major trouble the moment they take a hit .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 09/11/2015 18:22:42    1805714

Am I really committing the 'bigger' crimes when people are constantly doing the same to me? To solely criticise me for saying people are ignorant and posts are stupid is double standards
Yes I need to improve how I post but why should I when I am constantly abused and called names? Why should I have to accept that?

No. It is not ok for people to say that your posts are ignorant and stupid. I think you are right to ask that people spell your name correctly. Two rights don't make...etc as you well know.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 09/11/2015 19:41:37    1805744

Sorry Ormond but you make far too big a deal of this whole name thing. I mean for a start your name isn't even Ormond it's ormondbannerman. You want one pseudonym and not another, and make such a big song and dance over it that people refuse to do it out of sheer annoyance at your demands. I can tell you now, I get called far worse than you ever did on this site and I honestly couldn't give a toss.

On the topic, last nights program displays the issue with officiating in the gaa. The ref seems almost apologetic to the players for having to take action over their indiscipline. The Gooch seemed to be the only guy who was speaking to him with a bit of respect. Aidan O'Mahoney in particular was ----. For me, that sort of thing should see the card upgraded to a straight red.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/11/2015 09:50:49    1805818

09/11/2015 16:12:46 GreenandRed
Unfortunately some so-called journalists would rather avoid reporting on 50 good games in the hope of reporting on second-hand accounts of a 'melee' at a GAA match which was little more than handbags. The same journalists get their information online or by adapting real journalists stories. They know nothing about GAA but unfortunately in this day and age bad news stories sell papers.
Who are the "so-called journalists" who would prefer to report on a bad story over a good story?
09/11/2015 19:41:37 bennybunny
No. It is not ok for people to say that your posts are ignorant and stupid. I think you are right to ask that people spell your name correctly. Two rights don't make...etc as you well know.
But how and why should I have to accept being called names and treat those who refuse to respect me by respecting them? I will change if my name is spelt in an appropriate manner.
10/11/2015 09:50:49 TheMaster
Sorry Ormond but you make far too big a deal of this whole name thing. I mean for a start your name isn't even Ormond it's ormondbannerman. You want one pseudonym and not another, and make such a big song and dance over it that people refuse to do it out of sheer annoyance at your demands. I can tell you now, I get called far worse than you ever did on this site and I honestly couldn't give a toss.
On the topic, last nights program displays the issue with officiating in the gaa. The ref seems almost apologetic to the players for having to take action over their indiscipline. The Gooch seemed to be the only guy who was speaking to him with a bit of respect. Aidan O'Mahoney in particular was ----. For me, that sort of thing should see the card upgraded to a straight red.
You don't give a toss but I do care about by nom de plume. It is the same as my Christian name on this site and the deliberate misspelling of my name here is bullying.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 10/11/2015 11:20:19    1805852

Ormond, you are right to ask that you be called your correct name . But bullying ?? I don't think so.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6182 - 10/11/2015 12:12:37    1805886

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

You don't give a toss but I do care about by nom de plume. It is the same as my Christian name on this site and the deliberate misspelling of my name here is bullying.

Bullying? Really?

Pull youself together for gods sake.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 10/11/2015 13:25:50    1805935