Hypocrisy? Not at all, fairness and application of the rules are all many of us want to see and at the minute discipline is non existent in the GAA. We have all seen fellas get off on technicalities and loopholes while certain high profile players and counties are basically untouchable. As I said previously we deserve the boggers and langers tag we get sometimes. Lads who love biting, gouging and kicking the crap out of each as eejits on the sidelines cackle and grin like maniacs while chanting the "Tis a maaaaaans gammmmme" mantra.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 08/11/2015 15:25:46
The pro 12 is a joke of a competition. A combined population of 80 odd million can produce 12 professional teams. Included in that are the dragons Treviso zebre connacht Edinburgh who have never finished in the top four. Those plus Glasgow have never even made the quarters of the Heineken cup which represents only three leagues. Do the rugby heads who are sprouting rubbish on this GAA forum even watch rugby. I mean how could you otherwise use connacht current position as an example. ALL the other teams were missing virtually their starting teams, or squads in Glasgow case due to the world cup. The alliance leagues are keenly contested and have promotion and relegation. The pro 12 is an annual cakewalk.
sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 08/11/2015 15:49:05
Censorship alive and well on HS today.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 08/11/2015 16:03:47
Point out what was incorrect or derogatory in that post? When was the last time a team was promoted in the alliance league and was then hammered in all games in division to which they were promoted? I merely pointed out that nothing that matches this competition in popularity or competitiveness exists in ireland the secondary comps in rugby and soccer, pro 12 and first division soccer are uncompetitive and in the pro 12 case are challenge matches that are meant to be a warm up for the Heineken cup. Sure even if you don't qualify or lose every game for ten years you still can't be relegated. As for censorship. Your pushing a rugby agenda on a gaa forum. Would a gaa fan get away with what the rugby men/gaa bashes get away with on a rugby forum.
sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 08/11/2015 16:43:37
There is one short term and mid term solution to clean up the house. That is sanctions, through match bans and sin bining players rather than black carding them. I think when a team is reduced to 14 men they will cop on to the downside of gamesanship. I also believe that if the GAA has a disciplinary body in situ the way the irfu has, there would be less and less appeals, due to the fact that you run the risk of doubling your suspension if you appeal and it is thrown out. I think that we can talk all night about it being up to players, and their attitude and the way they are trained etc etc, but so long as deep down you know you can get away with it, you will continue to do whatever it takes to win a game, right or wrong.
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 08/11/2015 16:47:26
08/11/2015 08:27:03 football first Ormond, no need to resort to personal abuse - just address the points made. I'll keep this post to just one question: so far this reason, how often have Munster or Leinster fielded full strength teams in the Rabo? The world cup was on for most of the pro12 so far this season so this season very few sides have been full strength What personal abuse? What about those you name call me? 08/11/2015 12:11:05 Damothedub Ormo I refuse to debate with as pointless, the local Rugby spin doctor, as for Ulsterman dont get me staeted, does he forget his previous posts and stances jesus hed make a new labour spin doctor if ever he wanted. yep Ormo and Ulsterman are cut from the same cloth. I wonder and have done for a long time how many actually get off their holes and watch games on a regular basis, I get to go to at least three club games various age groups to senior, and while no association is perfect Id say that discipline is Not a major issue, what is an issue is TV death by analysis, the media love an opportunity to have a go at The GAA , to say otherwise is to ignore the coverage on a daily weekly basis, Fixture congestion, playing county finals semi finals etc in horrendous weather in a glorified blitz fashion is whats a disgrace, However the biggest own goal scored by the GAA is by its own members with pariocal hindsight views, the utter hatred of opposition and bringing everything down to were your from and nobody worse for that than OP. What is with the name calling. Call me Ormondbannerman or Ormond. The media don't love to criticise the GAA. The GAA is its own worst enemy
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 08/11/2015 17:33:25
08/11/2015 12:22:58 Pericles The media are drawn to the negative with the GAA because every disciplinary situation has more twists and turns than a pig's intestines, with both producing more than the odd smelly emission. This is such an easy guaranteed story for the sports hacks writing it up, whereas with rugby and even soccer there are only facts and a sentence to report with no debate. The GAA needs to decide whether their disciplinary procedures are there to protect the players and the sports, or if they genuinely value the guaranteed entertainment and PR they provide (I wouldn't underestimate the perceived value of the PR, even though it comes with a negative slant). Totally agree. How many appeals and committees do teams go to when a decision is made in a game by an official? DRA etc 08/11/2015 15:49:05 sceptical The pro 12 is a joke of a competition. A combined population of 80 odd million can produce 12 professional teams. Included in that are the dragons Treviso zebre connacht Edinburgh who have never finished in the top four. Those plus Glasgow have never even made the quarters of the Heineken cup which represents only three leagues. Do the rugby heads who are sprouting rubbish on this GAA forum even watch rugby. I mean how could you otherwise use connacht current position as an example. ALL the other teams were missing virtually their starting teams, or squads in Glasgow case due to the world cup. The alliance leagues are keenly contested and have promotion and relegation. The pro 12 is an annual cakewalk. Italy has concentrated its players into 2 professional sides. the rest of their players play in England and france. They also have a large semi pro league. Ireland/Scotland/Wales all have decent number of pro sides considering their population. Edinburgh constantly finished in/around top 4 for a few years but dropped back. The pro12 isn't a cake walk. You don't watch it if you think it is. 08/11/2015 16:43:37 sceptical Point out what was incorrect or derogatory in that post? When was the last time a team was promoted in the alliance league and was then hammered in all games in division to which they were promoted? I merely pointed out that nothing that matches this competition in popularity or competitiveness exists in ireland the secondary comps in rugby and soccer, pro 12 and first division soccer are uncompetitive and in the pro 12 case are challenge matches that are meant to be a warm up for the Heineken cup. Sure even if you don't qualify or lose every game for ten years you still can't be relegated. As for censorship. Your pushing a rugby agenda on a gaa forum. Would a gaa fan get away with what the rugby men/gaa bashes get away with on a rugby forum. the pro12 games are not friendlies. Don't be foolish and try and convince people that they are. 08/11/2015 16:47:26 Donegalman There is one short term and mid term solution to clean up the house. That is sanctions, through match bans and sin bining players rather than black carding them. I think when a team is reduced to 14 men they will cop on to the downside of gamesanship. I also believe that if the GAA has a disciplinary body in situ the way the irfu has, there would be less and less appeals, due to the fact that you run the risk of doubling your suspension if you appeal and it is thrown out. I think that we can talk all night about it being up to players, and their attitude and the way they are trained etc etc, but so long as deep down you know you can get away with it, you will continue to do whatever it takes to win a game, right or wrong. the discipline system isn't exactly like that in rugby but is miles better than what exists in the gaa.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 08/11/2015 17:41:01
ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 10563
The world cup was on for most of the pro12 so far this season so this season very few sides have been full strength
Which proves it isn't really that important.
If it was so important the world cup would not be clashing with the competition.
The whole soccer season in Europe will be changed in order to make sure all the players can play in domestic leagues when the world Cup in Qatar is on.Why isn't the same done for a supposedly important competition like the pro 12.
uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 08/11/2015 18:03:51
The pro 12 magners cleric league has only been in existence since 2001! What years did Edinburgh finish NEAR THE TOP of a 12 team league. It is a competition of glorified challenges the absence of internationals For half the games prove that. Nothing any other poster reposting or not can do to counter that.
sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 08/11/2015 19:10:57
Everyone on this site is anonymous and uses a moniker.The stuffiness of any contributor who guards their moniker as if it is intrinsic to their whole being is just incredible. It is absolutely ridiculous and childish to be so precious about made-up names Ormond (and that will be the last time I will refer to you as ormond!)
PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2058 - 08/11/2015 19:13:45
The pro 12 magners cleric league has only been in existence since 2001! What years did Edinburgh finish NEAR THE TOP of a 12 team league. It is a competition of glorified challenges the absence of internationals For half the games prove that. Nothing any other poster reposting or not can do to counter that.
Edinburgh were second in 2008/2009 - is this near the top for you Whats the cleric league - sounds like something from father ted
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/11/2015 19:33:59
Scepticals quotes in bold - my responses beside them
The pro 12 is a joke of a competition. ----- I was at the final last year and judging by the emotional reaction of the glasgow players and fans they didnt seem to think it was a joke competitation have a look at the celebrations in the dressing room in this video and tell me its a joke competition
the dragons Treviso zebre connacht Edinburgh who have never finished in the top four. Those plus Glasgow have never even made the quarters of the Heineken cup which represents only three leagues. Edinburgh finished 2nd in 2008/09 and got to H Cup quarters in 2005 and semis in 2012
The pro 12 is an annual cakewalk -4 separate winners since 2010 - hardly a cakewalk -
Sure even if you don't qualify or lose every game for ten years you still can't be relegated. - -- I didnt realise you could be relegated from the All Ireland football championship!!!!
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/11/2015 19:36:56
So what if some think certain rugby competitions are two horse races, glorified friendlies, etc etc, look at our own.
Leinster football championship a one horse race where the strongest team in the province who dominate it almost 100% get the most backing and funding and then get to play every game at home, if that's not the definition of Mickey Mouse I don't know what it!
Munster football championship set up in such a way to ensure the 2 strongest teams end up in the final.
Leagues structures that can and have been changed with the stroke of a pen after the games have been played.
A county final winning club playing in the Munster club championship 24 hours later this weekend gone.
Players winning multiple lenster and all Ireland's and never playing anywhere other than their home ground.
League structures where promotion and relegation in the lower leagues are different than those in the higher leagues.
A hurling league where the 5th and 6th best teams in the country going by league finished don't make the quarter finals but the 9th and 10th best gems though by virtue of finishing 3rd and 4th in a lower divisions.
I don't see why people brought rugby into the thread here, it seems to be a means of distraction from our own issues as was the original point of the thread.
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1534 - 08/11/2015 19:40:25
uibhfhaili 1986 The world cup was on for most of the pro12 so far this season so this season very few sides have been full strength Which proves it isn't really that important.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CU_IINgiWxE have a look at the dressing room celebrations and tell me its not important - i was at that final saw a lot of emotion on the face of glasgow players and fans that day -- in the same way winning a provincial title is important to offaly and limerick
They have to play some games during the world cup -otherwise they would have to add another six weeks onto the season end and by the time tis over it would be nearly time to start the next season- whereas with the soccer they can squeeze in more midweek games than rugby can
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/11/2015 19:41:24
separately and getting back to the point - i dont believe The GAA is becoming a ridiculous embarrassment
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/11/2015 19:44:07
bad.monkey I counted 8 regulars in that team you picked out and everyone knew dublin had a long injury list for the opening rounds of the league you cannot play people who are injured from the mayo game you can clearly see when available they were played.
1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells) 2. Eoin Culligan (Kilmacud Crokes) 3. Rory O'Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes) 4. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna) 5. Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams) 6. Cian O'Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes) 7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf) 8. Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge St) 9. Paul Flynn (Fingallians) 10. Tomás Brady (Na Fianna) 11. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams) 12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock) 13. Kevin McManamon (St Jude's) 14. Diurmuid Connolly (St Vincent's) 15. Bernard Brogan (Oliver Plunkett's Eoghan Ruaidh)
13 regulars in that team
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/11/2015 19:54:52
Meant to be Celtic league. Auto correct!! That is what's called resorting to insults when you lose an argument ormonde! You do know 2009 is 6 years ago? Half empty Rodney parade today showed popularity of rugby in its so called Wales heartland.
sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 08/11/2015 20:02:37
08/11/2015 19:13:45 PoolSturgeon County: Galway Posts: 276
1805395 Everyone on this site is anonymous and uses a moniker.The stuffiness of any contributor who guards their moniker as if it is intrinsic to their whole being is just incredible. It is absolutely ridiculous and childish to be so precious about made-up names Ormond (and that will be the last time I will refer to you as ormond!) 08/11/2015 19:33:59
So true , send out a worm and Ormo comes back with a thats not my name retort , who gives a toss Im not Damo , I might not even be a dub , respect my views hey even disrespect my views , my name hey feck off thats private , as for Damothedub have a pop couldnt careless .
Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/11/2015 20:04:20
hahaha love it janesboro would that be an ecumenical matter hahaha
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/11/2015 20:04:33
08/11/2015 15:25:46 Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 7500
Hypocrisy? Not at all, fairness and application of the rules are all many of us want to see and at the minute discipline is non existent in the GAA. We have all seen fellas get off on technicalities and loopholes while certain high profile players and counties are basically untouchable. As I said previously we deserve the boggers and langers tag we get sometimes. Lads who love biting, gouging and kicking the crap out of each as eejits on the sidelines cackle and grin like maniacs while chanting the "Tis a maaaaaans gammmmme" mantra
In your last comment you reveal your true colours , you bet your bottom dollar its a mans game , and someone who shys away from that comment has no idea or concept of what or why we watch our game , I am happy for my 15 and 17 year olds to play A MANS GAME ,if I didnt Id attend soccer , I LIKE the physical aspect of our game I LIKE big hits , my boys give them they have been on the recieving end of them , your remmind of the parent I meet so often with the kid who doesnt want to be involved but the parent wants them there and we all have to accomadte , thank god for tyrone armagh and other counties heaven help us if the game was left in hands like yours .
Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/11/2015 20:13:28