Best Pub to watch finals.

Lads particularly our Dublin friends what pub would you recommend to watch the game in, For those that won't get a ticket?

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 16/09/2015 17:38:49    1788307

The Hoganstand...you're near the action. If you like a nice pint of Guinness I'd recommend Gaffney's in Fairview, or Cusacks on the North Strand. Stay out of Quinns....not a nice pub at all imo. Enjoy.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 16/09/2015 17:53:59    1788316

Avonali that's brilliant thanks a million.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 16/09/2015 19:04:25    1788347

Have watched a few finals n toddys bar good spot

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 643 - 16/09/2015 19:09:55    1788353

I like Meagher's and Cusacks. Watched a final in Jury's Croke Park one year, dead atmosphere but a good place for bumping into a few legends and indeed legend killers.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2557 - 16/09/2015 19:19:55    1788361

Clearys pub across from Connolly Station.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 16/09/2015 21:58:46    1788441

Branigans on Cathedral St just off O'Connell St.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 17/09/2015 09:22:25    1788464

If your a Dub, grand central. Its like being on the Hill. Watched 2011 final in there and dont regret not being in croker it was THAT good
if u want a quieter spot where u will have a seat and hear the half time analysis and all, across the road on Abbey St, the Flowing Tide

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/09/2015 10:20:50    1788493

Depends where you're staying or travelling into town from. If it's DART or LUAS to Connolly, you can't beat Cleary's on Amiens St. The Big Tree and Kavanaghs on Dorset St. are good if you're coming in from that direction. Kavanaghs always seems to be a big meeting spot for teams from the country. Gills is too packed for my liking.

I don't know the Fairview/Drumcondra side too well at all.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 17/09/2015 10:52:01    1788508

Meaghers All Day

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/09/2015 10:53:30    1788510

If you want a mix of support stay on the Dorset Street/North Circular Road side of the ground. Gills, Hoganstand, Big Tree, Red Parrot etc.

If you fancy being in lion's den, Meaghers/Gaffney's/Smyths on Fairview/Ballybough side.

Finally Kavanagh's on bottom of Malahide Road is as authentic GAA pub as it gets.

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 17/09/2015 11:12:16    1788516

All day Damo!Do u not even take a break for your dinner?(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/09/2015 11:19:18    1788521

Meaghers is a good aul spot and they do good grub there too if I remember rightly, although maybe not on AI final day.

Big Tree, Quinns etc are to be avoided in you want to watch in any sort of comfort. But if you're young and on for a good session these are probably good spots to go for the craic.

McGraths is a nice pub with good porter but I don't think I've ever watched a match there. I'd say it would have a good mix of support though.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9730 - 17/09/2015 11:30:41    1788533

If anyone needs a pub to watch the game in London then The Parish in Wembley is the place.They have the big screen TVs including one in the beer garden and it's like being in Croke Park with the atmosphere there and with live music straight after the game the craic will be mighty..It's also a very popular place for all GAA people so I'm guessing this Sunday will be no different.

Dalys71 (Waterford) - Posts: 2 - 17/09/2015 13:25:32    1788601

Mulligans on Poolbeg St, always a big Kerry crowd in there for an All Ireland. I'll be there myself either before or after.

If we win, its the Big Tree and then Flannerys for the craic...

If we lose, I'll be sulking off to some dark corner of somewhere like McSorley's in Ranelagh or Kiely's in Donnybrook. No chance anyone in there would even know there was an All Ireland on!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/09/2015 15:16:41    1788665

Meaghers and Gaffos by a mile.......athmosphere, craic, banter , characters in abundance !!! only thing is out and out Dub pubs......

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 17/09/2015 15:40:52    1788675

Ha good man hermit,Mulligans is indeed a fine GAA pub.Especially for Kerry.The great Con Houlihan loved the place.The Palace on Fleet St is another pub frequented by Kingdom folk.The Sean O Casey on Marlborough St is another Kerry pub i visit regularly.Even if ye lose hermit,forget those posh rugby pubs in the middle of a world cup!Stay amongst our own-Dubs & Kerry-GAA men/woman all.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/09/2015 15:42:53    1788677

Rocket, I've had many a pint on match day in Sean O'Casey's, they pour a powerful stout and rest assured that will be stop no. 2 on my way to the minor game!

My grandfather, God rest him, used frequent the Shakespeare on Parnell St. Apparently it was a big Kerry/Old IRA pub back in the 1950s and 60s when he was going to matches. My father to used drink in there when he was coming up followings Micko's marvels.

He was up with me for a game in Dublin for the first time in years a while ago and when he spotted the place he wanted to go straight in. Needless to say things had change a bit, my grandfather would probably turn in his grave to discover his old haunt was now a Chinese karaoke bar!!!!!!!!!!

Don't worry win or lose some rugger bugger establishment is the last place I'll go! Plenty of time for the World Cup in the weeks to come.

The Dubs looked after me well in Harry Byrne's and the Raheny GAA club bar the night of 2011 and in 2013 I sucked it up in Meagher's, all good fun (at least until reality dawned on the Monday morning!!!!).

But, I'm hoping come Sunday night I'm the one commiserating with ye for the first time in a few years!

Should we win the plan of action is:

The Big Tree: Sing along

O'Casey's/Mulligans: Dissect the match/watch the Sunday Game

Flanerys: Chase tail

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/09/2015 16:32:27    1788706

sadly The Hideout is no more, if it was still there would be the place to be.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 17/09/2015 17:06:05    1788735

Im just after passin The Shakespeare hermit.It is indeed a Korean Hop House.Karaoke,fusion food(watever that is) and oriental beers.I was kindly asked to leave a few years back when i inquired whether it was North or South Korean?Not before i wolfed down a meal.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/09/2015 17:14:50    1788745