Does GAA get fair coverage compared to soccer and rugby

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "so what coverage do you think gaa should receive ormond?..to dismiss attendances and the strength of the grassroots is laughable...2 strong indicators how big the sport is...i agree with you in that lot of negative coverage responsibility lies with ex players or coaches like brolly however lets not pretend rte dont egg it on as the examples mentioned previously show
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:69 - 13/06/2016 23:22:17
Coverage of games as well as a weekly round up/highlights show. A magazine show which is a lighthearted coverage of GAA and everything within the organisation.
Im not dismissing either attendances or numbers playing. To simply blame RTE is wrong."
they have held the rights for years..they have been lazy and do not provide programming up to standard..and their coverage is overwhelmingly negative

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/06/2016 18:17:34    1866813

OK lads, I think some of ye need to calm down a bit, I'm not trying to offend anyone here, be biased, shush the conversation, be overly negative of the GAA, or anything like that.

I'll tell you what happened. I was browsing on the Irish Sports Council website one day and found some interesting reports. I found them interesting because the findings in some studies went against my preconceptions, ie. that Gaelic Football is the most popular sport in Ireland in one of the most obvious ways, participation levels.
I remembered this thread at that time, and decided to share what I'd found, as I figured some people here might find the reports interesting, informative and generally conducive towards the debate on RTE sports bias.

And that's pretty much it.

Mediaman has done a lot of work to provide us with some very interesting statistics, which alot of people here enjoy, and I merely tried to provide more information for the debate. If you don't like the statistical information I found (which I can assure you Alano, is not made up, but can be easily found under the "Research" section at www.irishsportscouncil.ie), that's your problem lads, because it's not going to make those stats go away.

So we can either accept them, and try to find a place for them in the narrative, through rational and logical debate. Or, we can stick our heads in the sand and pretend they don't exist.
I know which path I'd rather follow.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 14/06/2016 20:19:45    1866873

Replying To extranjero:  "OK lads, I think some of ye need to calm down a bit, I'm not trying to offend anyone here, be biased, shush the conversation, be overly negative of the GAA, or anything like that.

I'll tell you what happened. I was browsing on the Irish Sports Council website one day and found some interesting reports. I found them interesting because the findings in some studies went against my preconceptions, ie. that Gaelic Football is the most popular sport in Ireland in one of the most obvious ways, participation levels.
I remembered this thread at that time, and decided to share what I'd found, as I figured some people here might find the reports interesting, informative and generally conducive towards the debate on RTE sports bias.

Mediaman has done a lot of work to provide us with some very interesting statistics, which alot of people here enjoy, and I merely tried to provide more information for the debate. If you don't like the statistical information I found (which I can assure you Alano, is not made up, but can be easily found under the "Research" section at www.irishsportscouncil.ie), that's your problem lads, because it's not going to make those stats go away.

So we can either accept them, and try to find a place for them in the narrative, through rational and logical debate. Or, we can stick our heads in the sand and pretend they don't exist.
I know which path I'd rather follow."
again if you arent biased then why do you support whinge comments?..why have you ignored that gaa has the highest attendance figures and viewing figures..what are your stats based on?..is there any context to them?..how many soccer clubs is there v gaa clubs?..how much of the soccer figures is kick a sides?...stats have 0 credibility unless u provide some context to them...you are simply trying to hang your hat on one single statistic to back up your points...i have 0 issues with the coverage soccer is given on rte as it is a massively popular sport especially for the major tournments...you do realise swimming ranks very highly for this also?...again i dont see what lads playing 5 a side has to do with rtes coverage of gaa and should it be treated better?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/06/2016 20:59:52    1866894

Replying To mediaman:  "
Replying To alano12:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "[quote=alano12:  "[quote=extranjero:  "by looking at participation numbers, attendances and viewing figures, gaelic football is the most popular sport in the country..

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:65 - 13/06/2016 15:46:13

I've already provided evidence from the Irish Sports Council suggesting adult participation levels in soccer are higher than football/hurling/rugby combined. Have you any relevant statistical data to backup your claim that football is the most popular in terms of viewing and attendance, as you claim?

The most popular games are GAA play wise and supporter wise. Every community in the country has a team with some clubs having over 50 teams...Is there any soccer or rubghy club with over 50 teams and if so, how many of these clubs are there?

browncows (Meath) - Posts:980 - 12/06/2016 10:53:59

As I've already explained, soccer is the most popular sport player wise in Ireland, have you any relevant statistics to backup your claim it's the most popular supporter wise?
As regards the soccer/rugby clubs with over 50 teams, I've no idea if there are any (possibly a few soccer clubs in Dublin?). However, who are the GAA clubs you mention with over 50 teams? (off the top of my head, I think maybe Ballyboden in Dublin, not sure of any others?)

I judge support by the amount of people who attend matches on a daily/weekly basis - not just a single match. So I repeat my stat that the ratio of support for the GAA games are many many times more supported than any other sport.

browncows (Meath) - Posts:980 - 12/06/2016 10:53:59

But how many games of soccer,rugby or other sports have you attended recently to be able to compare attendance levels with gaelic football? Your "stat" is merely anecdotal, lacking any proper scientific enquiry. It's not a stat at all.
1 good example of a "stat" I have for you though, again on the Irish Sports Council website, this time a report entitled
"SPORT AND RECREATIONAL EXERCISE
AMONG ADULTS (AGED 16+) IN
LOUTH AND MEATH, 2007-2009",
states that soccer has higher participation levels than gaelic football in the region, at 4.8% to 4.2% (although it also acknowledges a higher level of gaelic football players in the region than nationally).

I respect mediamans efforts here to highlight what he feels is a bias in the rte. But now is the time to put together all his analysis, and present it to rte, Gaa, National print media, or any other outlets he feels can highlight his findings and make a change. Otherwise, as Jimski pointed out, this is just a big whinge."
well its clear you have a bias when you go out and use terms like 'whinge'...if you want to make points or stats at least be objective about it

why are you trying to sshh people?..ignore the thread if you dont like it so much"
Alano. He makes good points about an anti-GAA bias. Been making the same points for about two years now and doing nothing proactive about it. This thread is a thread bemoaning the GAA's poor coverage by RTE from someone who knows nothing about the GAA. Just a vehicle to show a narrowminded view that GAA is good, other sports are bad, which is a definite bias in itself.
Some might call it whinging I call it trolling."]i dont think u could accuse me of being against other sports in fairness greenandred?..can only speak for myself...people can simply ignore the thread if they dont agree with it..soma suggests contacting rte and i do feel mediaman should do so even if to satisfy everybody else"]Sad to see so many of our Rugby Union 'friends' have signed up to the C.J.Stander School of Debate - never mind the ball/facts just play the man."]He took the guy out. A blatant foul. What's your point?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8167 - 14/06/2016 21:03:35    1866896

Admin. The reply option has gone bananas ! Only a matter of time before a reply to previous replies takes up the whole page.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8167 - 14/06/2016 21:07:18    1866899

Replying To extranjero:  "OK lads, I think some of ye need to calm down a bit, I'm not trying to offend anyone here, be biased, shush the conversation, be overly negative of the GAA, or anything like that.

I know which path I'd rather follow."
you have displayed 0 interest in any debate..have you an exact link for your stats just so we could see a bit of context which is important..you have continued to fail to respond to any questions put to you

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/06/2016 21:09:03    1866903

hes right about the playing the man thing as the one constant in this thread has been slating him instead of looking at the actual points made but the dig at rugby was unnecessary

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/06/2016 21:11:39    1866904

Replying To alano12:  "you have displayed 0 interest in any debate..have you an exact link for your stats just so we could see a bit of context which is important..you have continued to fail to respond to any questions put to you"

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 14/06/2016 22:04:44    1866938

again if you arent biased then why do you support whinge comments?(which whinge comments? If you are talking about Jimskis comment, I found it amusing. Is it such a bad thing to find something funny on this thread?)..why have you ignored that gaa has the highest attendance figures and viewing figures..(again, nobody has provided any attendance/viewing figures in comparison with other sports, could you provide such info please?) what are your stats based on?..is there any context to them?(the context is to compare mediamans tv stats with irishSC adult participation stats, to see if there's any correlation)..how many soccer clubs is there v gaa clubs?(I've no idea, do you? Or anyone here for that matter?) ..how much of the soccer figures is kick a sides?(I don't know what a kick-a-sides is, sorry, could you be more specific?) ...stats have 0 credibility unless u provide some context to them...you are simply trying to hang your hat on one single statistic to back up your points(I've provided what I thought was an interesting and relevant link to a large amount of sports statistics. How many stats have you provided here?)...i have 0 issues with the coverage soccer is given on rte as it is a massively popular sport especially for the major tournments...you do realise swimming ranks very highly for this also?(yes, it was very highly ranked in participation, above soccer actually, aswell as running and cycling) ...again i dont see what lads playing 5 a side has to do with rtes coverage of gaa and should it be treated better?(as participation levels has been mentioned here several times by supporters of gaa/rugby/soccer as proof of their deserving more coverage, I feel the report is relevant)

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:75 - 14/06/2016 20:59:52

I've only really skimmed through the report Alano, I reckon if you have a good read through it you'll find plenty of stuff to promote more GAA with, for example in one section on club membership I think GAA comes out tops, which with the right spin I'm sure Mediaman could use if he does send some kind of a report to rte.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 14/06/2016 22:44:15    1866958

Replying To extranjero:  "again if you arent biased then why do you support whinge comments?(which whinge comments? If you are talking about Jimskis comment, I found it amusing. Is it such a bad thing to find something funny on this thread?)..why have you ignored that gaa has the highest attendance figures and viewing figures..(again, nobody has provided any attendance/viewing figures in comparison with other sports, could you provide such info please?) what are your stats based on?..is there any context to them?(the context is to compare mediamans tv stats with irishSC adult participation stats, to see if there's any correlation)..how many soccer clubs is there v gaa clubs?(I've no idea, do you? Or anyone here for that matter?) ..how much of the soccer figures is kick a sides?(I don't know what a kick-a-sides is, sorry, could you be more specific?) ...stats have 0 credibility unless u provide some context to them...you are simply trying to hang your hat on one single statistic to back up your points(I've provided what I thought was an interesting and relevant link to a large amount of sports statistics. How many stats have you provided here?)...i have 0 issues with the coverage soccer is given on rte as it is a massively popular sport especially for the major tournments...you do realise swimming ranks very highly for this also?(yes, it was very highly ranked in participation, above soccer actually, aswell as running and cycling) ...again i dont see what lads playing 5 a side has to do with rtes coverage of gaa and should it be treated better?(as participation levels has been mentioned here several times by supporters of gaa/rugby/soccer as proof of their deserving more coverage, I feel the report is relevant)

I've only really skimmed through the report Alano, I reckon if you have a good read through it you'll find plenty of stuff to promote more GAA with, for example in one section on club membership I think GAA comes out tops, which with the right spin I'm sure Mediaman could use if he does send some kind of a report to rte."
i dont see how it is relevant?...so dispute that gaa is strong in viewing figures and attendances?....a 5 a side kick around is hardly a relevant stat..participation levels as well as numerous other factors have been mentioned yet u choose to focus on 1 specific thing and claim to be objective?..these stats hold no weight as the likes of running cycling and swimming do very well in this report and would rank well below the likes of soccer,gaa and rugby in popularity therefore undeserving of similar levels of coverage....surely club membership is very important yet you focused on participation which is clearly a vague enough level of participation based off the report...Do i need to provide stats?..the information is out there if you wish to look it up...i dont think throwing in poorly compiled stats on vague participation levels has anything to do with how gaa is covered by rte?..surely you would have looked up the various variables mentioned instead of focusing on one particular area if you were interested in providing a well constructed objective argument?

Objectivity is important and you have failed to show any..focusing on 1 particular stat

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/06/2016 23:24:55    1866974

Replying To extranjero:  "again if you arent biased then why do you support whinge comments?(which whinge comments? If you are talking about Jimskis comment, I found it amusing. Is it such a bad thing to find something funny on this thread?)..why have you ignored that gaa has the highest attendance figures and viewing figures..(again, nobody has provided any attendance/viewing figures in comparison with other sports, could you provide such info please?) what are your stats based on?..is there any context to them?(the context is to compare mediamans tv stats with irishSC adult participation stats, to see if there's any correlation)..how many soccer clubs is there v gaa clubs?(I've no idea, do you? Or anyone here for that matter?) ..how much of the soccer figures is kick a sides?(I don't know what a kick-a-sides is, sorry, could you be more specific?) ...stats have 0 credibility unless u provide some context to them...you are simply trying to hang your hat on one single statistic to back up your points(I've provided what I thought was an interesting and relevant link to a large amount of sports statistics. How many stats have you provided here?)...i have 0 issues with the coverage soccer is given on rte as it is a massively popular sport especially for the major tournments...you do realise swimming ranks very highly for this also?(yes, it was very highly ranked in participation, above soccer actually, aswell as running and cycling) ...again i dont see what lads playing 5 a side has to do with rtes coverage of gaa and should it be treated better?(as participation levels has been mentioned here several times by supporters of gaa/rugby/soccer as proof of their deserving more coverage, I feel the report is relevant)

I've only really skimmed through the report Alano, I reckon if you have a good read through it you'll find plenty of stuff to promote more GAA with, for example in one section on club membership I think GAA comes out tops, which with the right spin I'm sure Mediaman could use if he does send some kind of a report to rte."
i dont need to promote the gaa...im aware how big and popular it is as the various variables such as club membership, number of clubs, participation numbers, viewing figures, attendances show if you want to check them out...the one issue looking at any data for soccer is the domestic league is performs poorly and the national team has a large bandwagon following with crazy levels of support and viewing figures especially for major tournaments with large lulls in between this...so much of irelands interest in soccer is based on english soccer which is something hard to quantify just how truly big it is but id say its pretty massive

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 14/06/2016 23:29:07    1866975

Replying To alano12:  "

i dont need to promote the gaa...im aware how big and popular it is as the various variables such as club membership, number of clubs, participation numbers, viewing figures, attendances show if you want to check them out...the one issue looking at any data for soccer is the domestic league is performs poorly and the national team has a large bandwagon following with crazy levels of support and viewing figures especially for major tournaments with large lulls in between this...so much of irelands interest in soccer is based on english soccer which is something hard to quantify just how truly big it is but id say its pretty massive"
Alano, I see what you're saying but in fairness I think a lot of our own countrymen and women think the "bandwagon" thing is unique to us. It isn't. Look at Iceland last night for example. According to BBC, there were 30,000 of them in the stadium last night. Or to put it another way, one tenth of their entire population!

You could look at a number of other countries with a similar support, too. Sweden, Denmark for example attract huge followings in tournaments and even at regular qualifiers while their own domestic leagues are very poorly supported.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 15/06/2016 08:06:46    1867011

'Look at Iceland last night for example. According to BBC, there were 30,000 of them in the stadium last night. Or to put it another way, one tenth of their entire population!' And fair play to them. A great performance showing that heart and team spirit can be more important than silky skills. But it's easier to get 10% of about 300,000 than of 4 or 5 m. Sure they've no GAA championship either. We'd have a million in France rather than 100,000 but many stayed home for the championship !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8167 - 15/06/2016 09:45:56    1867036

Objectivity is important and you have failed to show any..focusing on 1 particular stat

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:81 - 14/06/2016 23:24:55

Alano, I sincerely apologise if you feel I have been lacking in objectivity in any statistics I have brought to your attention, or if they have upset your world view.
To avoid any more offence to your delicate sensibilities, I graciously remove myself from the debate.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 15/06/2016 10:19:42    1867061

Replying To GreenandRed:  "'Look at Iceland last night for example. According to BBC, there were 30,000 of them in the stadium last night. Or to put it another way, one tenth of their entire population!' And fair play to them. A great performance showing that heart and team spirit can be more important than silky skills. But it's easier to get 10% of about 300,000 than of 4 or 5 m. Sure they've no GAA championship either. We'd have a million in France rather than 100,000 but many stayed home for the championship !"
Maybe that's the answer G&R, continue to expand our games across the continent and beyond as a Trojan Horse to take up their time and resources, safe in the knowledge they'll only get one game a year in the championship!

And I bet any prospective Reykjavik country board would've made a better job of the London v Mayo ticket arrangements, too!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 15/06/2016 10:28:11    1867064

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Maybe that's the answer G&R, continue to expand our games across the continent and beyond as a Trojan Horse to take up their time and resources, safe in the knowledge they'll only get one game a year in the championship!

And I bet any prospective Reykjavik country board would've made a better job of the London v Mayo ticket arrangements, too!"
They could split Reykjavijk in half and get two teams out training in time for next year's All Iceland Final !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8167 - 15/06/2016 16:38:41    1867308

Replying To alano12:  "
Replying To ormondbannerman:  "so what coverage do you think gaa should receive ormond?..to dismiss attendances and the strength of the grassroots is laughable...2 strong indicators how big the sport is...i agree with you in that lot of negative coverage responsibility lies with ex players or coaches like brolly however lets not pretend rte dont egg it on as the examples mentioned previously show
Coverage of games as well as a weekly round up/highlights show. A magazine show which is a lighthearted coverage of GAA and everything within the organisation.
Im not dismissing either attendances or numbers playing. To simply blame RTE is wrong."
they have held the rights for years..they have been lazy and do not provide programming up to standard..and their coverage is overwhelmingly negative"
If it is so bad and so negative why don't the GAA do something about it?

Simple question

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 15/06/2016 17:41:30    1867328

Replying To jimski:  "
Replying To alano12:  "[quote=ormondbannerman:  "so what coverage do you think gaa should receive ormond?..to dismiss attendances and the strength of the grassroots is laughable...2 strong indicators how big the sport is...i agree with you in that lot of negative coverage responsibility lies with ex players or coaches like brolly however lets not pretend rte dont egg it on as the examples mentioned previously show
they have held the rights for years..they have been lazy and do not provide programming up to standard..and their coverage is overwhelmingly negative"
If it is so bad and so negative why don't the GAA do something about it?

Simple question"]and what have you to contribute?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 15/06/2016 19:11:22    1867360

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "
Replying To alano12:  "[quote=extranjero:  "again if you arent biased then why do you support whinge comments?(which whinge comments? If you are talking about Jimskis comment, I found it amusing. Is it such a bad thing to find something funny on this thread?)..why have you ignored that gaa has the highest attendance figures and viewing figures..(again, nobody has provided any attendance/viewing figures in comparison with other sports, could you provide such info please?) what are your stats based on?..is there any context to them?(the context is to compare mediamans tv stats with irishSC adult participation stats, to see if there's any correlation)..how many soccer clubs is there v gaa clubs?(I've no idea, do you? Or anyone here for that matter?) ..how much of the soccer figures is kick a sides?(I don't know what a kick-a-sides is, sorry, could you be more specific?) ...stats have 0 credibility unless u provide some context to them...you are simply trying to hang your hat on one single statistic to back up your points(I've provided what I thought was an interesting and relevant link to a large amount of sports statistics. How many stats have you provided here?)...i have 0 issues with the coverage soccer is given on rte as it is a massively popular sport especially for the major tournments...you do realise swimming ranks very highly for this also?(yes, it was very highly ranked in participation, above soccer actually, aswell as running and cycling) ...again i dont see what lads playing 5 a side has to do with rtes coverage of gaa and should it be treated better?(as participation levels has been mentioned here several times by supporters of gaa/rugby/soccer as proof of their deserving more coverage, I feel the report is relevant)

i dont need to promote the gaa...im aware how big and popular it is as the various variables such as club membership, number of clubs, participation numbers, viewing figures, attendances show if you want to check them out...the one issue looking at any data for soccer is the domestic league is performs poorly and the national team has a large bandwagon following with crazy levels of support and viewing figures especially for major tournaments with large lulls in between this...so much of irelands interest in soccer is based on english soccer which is something hard to quantify just how truly big it is but id say its pretty massive"
Alano, I see what you're saying but in fairness I think a lot of our own countrymen and women think the "bandwagon" thing is unique to us. It isn't. Look at Iceland last night for example. According to BBC, there were 30,000 of them in the stadium last night. Or to put it another way, one tenth of their entire population!

You could look at a number of other countries with a similar support, too. Sweden, Denmark for example attract huge followings in tournaments and even at regular qualifiers while their own domestic leagues are very poorly supported."]of course its not unique to us..its very common...when we really back something though im not sure there is anybody quite like us!..look at the support we got for the rugby world cup, mcgregor fights and various football tournaments and gaa teams that have gone on big runs..crazy the support iceland got

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 15/06/2016 19:32:31    1867369

And a good question it is too Jimski.

Top brass in the GAA aren't too bothered about how the game is portrayed in media, aren't overly bothered about looking for new recruits to the game and will do nothing about trying to dampen down bad news incidents usually little more than handbags at down blown out of all proportion by some sections of the media. They're also not providing bang for the buck for taxpayer money spent. Again we will see the spectacle of a less than half empty Croke Park on Saturday and Sunday of August Bank Holiday weekend when we are awash with tourists completely unaware if our amazing games. Other stadia are also less full when some thinking like ticket price reduction for all or some cashback on ticket prices for tourists (already there for them buying goods here) might improve the atmosphere, promote the game abroad, sell a few hats, jersies etc and put a few quid in the pocket of the local chipper, pub, taxi. Do the GAA at national level even have a fulltime professional marketing department to spread the word, home and abroad and spin doctors to give it a more positive image?

Top brass GAA are out if touch with grassroots GAA. They want to keep the rich richer and kick the so-called lesser counties down into a B championship. Grassroots officials and volunteers are what is keeping the game going. Many of them in their 60s and 70s and older probably updating their club's Facebook and Twitter pages, updating players on games and training sessions via text or Watsapp because they know that's how the youth of today keep in touch. They'll make newcomers to the area welcome, encourage their kids including non-nationals, to try GAA. They get out and about for fundraising initiatives and they'll get out there in all weather finding sponsors to donate prizes for free, a celeb to be MC. They'll get a fullhouse too for an event in the knowledge that the more there the more money they'll raise for their club. Compare that to a GAA statement after the bank holiday weekend telling you that 58,000 over two games is a great attendance considering so many people are on holidays? In an 82,000 capacity stadium part-paid for with yours and my tax. Why is it never questioned that they don't at least reduce ticket prices to allow more people see the games? I think if you a TV-style takeover replacing top brass with club volunteers/officials showing the iniatives they use to organise and raise funds at club level they'd bring a much better return which could filter back down to grassroots.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8167 - 15/06/2016 19:34:21    1867370