Its a myth that is popping up in here again and again and again
Can we get something straight here lads, there is 1.2m in Dublin, yes
OK, Of that, at least HALF are not Dubs, be they foreign nationals, culchies, nordies etc etc so cut that to say...600,000 now of that 600,000 I would say compared to other more rural counties, a tiny minority of that number could name you even 2 Dublin footballers. In most counties, the majority regardless of sex/age could name you the better footballer/hurlers in that county, not so in Dublin. Per head of population we definitely have the LEAST general interest from the general public. Most young lads in Dublin DONT grow up dreaming of playing for the Dubs.
Its a rubbish argument, used by lazy journos and fans as a way to explain Dublins eventual success in football after nearly 20 years in the doldrums.
Did ye know, there are more GAA clubs, WAY more, in Cork than in Dublin. Dublins club count is closer to Limericks than Corks.
So when ye start throwing out the ol population rubbish as a reason for Dublins success....a bit of perspective would be nice.
Its Cork have the most Clubs, not us! Not even close
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 10/06/2015 15:02:23
So why are they getting the vast majority of the funding then? I think you will find thats a bit of a help.
The argument for the funding they were getting was precisely that, the population.
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1505 - 10/06/2015 15:09:47
Yeah population isnt as they say in Dublin but still a lot more than others. Derry for example. 120k in the city. 3-4 clubs
247,132 in the county and we have the wee issue of a side of the population who wont go near a GAA ground. So take them out you are talking. 150k max. 75k men. about 20k playing age and soccer is the biggest sport by a long way. So you dubs do have it handy enough to be fair plus the fact players move to dublin for work and then football once they are there. You almost have the same pop as the 6 counties together so I can see where people are coming from.
Never bothered me personally but I can see others point of view
P.S are dublin GAA not engaging foreign nationals like other counties???
DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 10/06/2015 15:10:20
Fantastic afternoon for a spot of fishing Liam!
Lets see how many bite....
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 10/06/2015 15:10:47
Jaysis Liam.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/06/2015 15:15:36
Are Dublin playing this weekend...? Liam got bored with all the non Dublin related threads so felt left out and had to start one.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11581 - 10/06/2015 15:18:13
Ach Liam - sure you could start and whittle down every County to you have next to nobody - take ourselves for example:
Population of the County = c.620,000 The Female/Male ratio = c.52/48, so we are down to a pool of 297,000 males If you then factor in the old religious breakdown which is approx 40/60 in Co Antrim then 40% of the males brings you to 118,800
If you look at the percentage of Males who fall within the 18-35 bracket who are of a GAA persuasion then you are down to about 18% of the male total so we are talking around 20,000 catholic males in the 18-35 age group.
If you then take out the people from towns and cities and those who are obese or not sporty then this number reduces to 13 people for the County team to pick from.
Which is why we are in the situation we are in.
Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 10/06/2015 15:52:02
sure there's so many of yous ye can't even fit in your own county.
My poor old county, the lilies, drogheda all destroyed with yous.
Went through Navan main street the other day, sounded like I was in Finglas.
Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 10/06/2015 16:11:45
OK, Of that, at least HALF are not Dubs, be they foreign nationals, culchies, nordies etc etc A lot of non Dubs live in Dublin, definitely; a lot of Dubs parents are from outside Dublin, definitely; but are Dubs really the minority in Dublin?, I doubt it very much.
Did ye know, there are more GAA clubs, WAY more, in Cork than in Dublin. Dublins club count is closer to Limericks than Corks. Dublin tend to have fewer GAA clubs per capita but the membership of these clubs tends to be much greater than rural clubs. Dublin clubs tend to field multiple teams whereas a rural club can struggle to get numbers for a team, at underage level rural clubs often have to amalgamate with a neighbouring club to field a team. How does Dublins registered number of players compare to Cork ?
bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1413 - 10/06/2015 17:00:30
There are 39,000 of our Church of England friends living in Co. Donegal most whom would not indulge in our games. This logic could be applied to most counties.
TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 10/06/2015 17:16:59
Did you know Kildare actually only transferred in Seanie Johnston as we could only find 14 players in the county? True story...
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 10/06/2015 17:27:57
That's right double hop and poor seanie couldn't even get in the team.
Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 10/06/2015 18:19:54
Ah here
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13801 - 10/06/2015 18:52:00
The question though that confuses me is how popular really is gaelic games in Dublin? you would think that if it was seriously popular, they should bring 80k to Croker for every championship game, no joke. Why does soccer seem to be by far the biggest sport in Dublin?
PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 10/06/2015 19:07:38
This thread sounds like an exercise in self-pity. This might cheer you up. The vast majority of jobs are in or around the city of Dublin. The best infrastructure, road networks, rail, tram, DART are all in the Dublin area. How much easier it is then for county players, and those aspiring to reach that level, to manage training. Don't tell me that's not an advantage.
Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1066 - 10/06/2015 19:55:54
A can of worms there Liam :-)
I do recall Declan Darcy & Eamon Morrissey joining the Dubs in the 90's. Dublin has the big population but it's too easy to say that's the reason for their modest success. There is a lot of genuine hardworking people involved, loads of levels to play at (a mate of mine is playing Junior F hurling) and above all else it is relatively easy to play as there are clubs within a reasonably short distance and good transport facilities.
Contrast to down here in Limerick. Players working in differeny counties - have to get off work for games and can't train with their local clubs. At the county scene players are driving massive distances to train. I read last week that Stephen Molumphy was driving 2000KM a week at one point up & down to the Curragh each day & then 6 nights a week training with Waterford. I don't think that happens in Dublin to be honest.
So Dublin has some advantages, but they are putting in a hell of a lot of work too.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/06/2015 09:31:43
PoppinPoints
The question though that confuses me is how popular really is gaelic games in Dublin? you would think that if it was seriously popular, they should bring 80k to Croker for every championship game, no joke. Why does soccer seem to be by far the biggest sport in Dublin?
There is huge popularity of Soccer is Dublin, that is clear and it is spread throughout the whole county and it is across gender and it is growing in popularity in all schools.
GAA sports in Dublin are generally geographic and you can't use clubs as any measure of popularity. For example Starlights in Dublin are a club but how can they be a measure of popularity if held up against say Na Fianna or Ballyboden?
The pointlessness of using clubs to measure popularity is best understood when you consider there are Gaelic Football only clubs, hurling only clubs, camogie only clubs and ladies Football only clubs and mix of all. Participation is one way to measure and also attendances at games.
The AIG Sponsorship is an attempt at unifying all the strands of the GAA in Dublin, as all four codes - Mens football, Hurlin, Camogie and Ladies football have the same gear which has driven the sale of shirts through the roof. Similarly the hope is it translates into attendances. So in effect Dublin GAA and County Board has used the AIG sponsorship to unify all parts of the GAA. In other words AIG has invested in the obvious potential of Dublin participation levels transferring into attendances etc. Its clever and it will ultimately work especially on the younger generation. But maybe the dip in attendances is more to do with what is on offer on the pitch and the cost. Sport in Dublin is a crowded area and its getting harder to capture an audience.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 11/06/2015 09:54:03
Why do they need so much money then?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 11/06/2015 10:06:25
Leadránach!
seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 11/06/2015 10:06:45
I love these kinda threads :)