Best known player you've marked

Forgot to mention James Masters , Aidan O'Mahoney & Kieran Cremin. I played in an all Ireland emergency services 7 a side tournament out at Westmanstown (Garda sports club ) last year. The 3 mentioned were playing on the Garda team. They gave us an absolute hammering but they lost to the Prison service team in the final! Same tournament is on again this october so I'm looking forward to seeing who they bring along this year!

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 29/08/2008 12:30:31    88354

johnny doyle,tadgh fenin and beano mcdonald.

flourman (None) - Posts: 104 - 29/08/2008 12:34:17    88360

give o'mahony a good schelping!!!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/08/2008 12:34:43    88361

Jack O'Shea.....he struggled against me

footiemad (Westmeath) - Posts: 733 - 29/08/2008 12:43:08    88378

I've marked almost every top player in Ireland thanks to the PlayStation! Cleaned them all out too!!!

horseman (Tyrone) - Posts: 292 - 29/08/2008 12:49:25    88394

Fire ahead there Willie ? Who do you think i am?

Nineholebar (Offaly) - Posts: 39 - 29/08/2008 12:50:46    88397

nineholebar: are you from the shamrocks club?

burgandy1 (Offaly) - Posts: 213 - 29/08/2008 12:54:48    88401

dubupnorth - I was a St Finbarrs man myself, some great memories of playing at Como & some not so good memories of Perth General!! Some of the teams out there would take your life!!! They are playing at a new ground now from what i hear, dunno where though.

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 29/08/2008 12:57:30    88408

in my last year as a minor we played mayobridge in the all county league and my claim to fame was being shrugged off by an athletic red-head lad who banged in goal after goal past us from midfield.he was only 17 at the time and turned out to be Benny Coulter. we were all talking about him after that game and its probably fair to say he's a household name now

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 29/08/2008 13:18:56    88438

Had u a brother playing too??

Willie Nelson (None) - Posts: 972 - 29/08/2008 13:46:20    88465

Bald Eagle-played against the bould Finbars a few times. Remember those 1980's Offaly jersies they wore! Duane Wilson was sub keeper to myself on the state team! An absolute top bloke! And mad Barney from Belfast was another man I remember well. Things did get rough a few times alright. One team (think they were called Mazenod college or something like that) liked to try throw they're weight around a bit!! Great memories and the bruises to go with it!!

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 29/08/2008 14:16:25    88484

Gerald Cavlan, many times in training. Exceptional talent (him, not me).

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 29/08/2008 14:17:10    88487

Yes Cavlan was a real terrier alright, always snapping at your heels.

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 29/08/2008 14:27:22    88497

Dubupnorth - That's the team that done the most damage to me, Mazanod(?). Was hospitalised a couple of times against them, one left me concussed and in hospital for a week, and one of the Mazza players with a broken hip. Like a Royal Rumble against them!!! Districts had quite a lot of good aussie lads playing when i was there, good to see it too.

Played state too and captained them, brilliant week away altogether, and Willo was a brilliant 'keeper too. Mad Barneys still out there, he's got the hurling up and running again and fair play to him......still a looper though!!!!

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 29/08/2008 14:30:59    88499

I'm sure if he played for Kerry they'd be able to hold onto a lead.

Tomás Tralee (Kerry) - Posts: 391 - 29/08/2008 14:31:37    88501

willie nelson and burgandy1- two of youse are thinking along the same lines of myself. could be a tubber man either.

nineholebar- have you a leinster senior medal?

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 29/08/2008 14:33:32    88505

Tipp manager Liam Sheedy I suppose would be the best known

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 29/08/2008 14:33:39    88506

Willie i know who you think it is.J.G OR s.g?but i think it could be C.M OR R.M

burgandy1 (Offaly) - Posts: 213 - 29/08/2008 14:38:10    88514

Was hospitalised a couple of times against them, one left me concussed and in hospital for a week, and one of the Mazza players with a broken hip.

Jeeze Bald Eagle thats some hard bonce you have! A bit of concussion for you but a broken hip for the other guy!!!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 29/08/2008 14:41:41    88523

Sorry lads, ye`re all wrong. Have a leinster medal alright but not a senior one ! Not Shamrocks or not Ciaran McManus either !!

Nineholebar (Offaly) - Posts: 39 - 29/08/2008 14:50:38    88539