Best known player you've marked

Well lads, during the course of our football or hurling careers, surely we've marked someone who is or was a county player, national icon, so who was it? AND even more imprtantly, how did you get on when marking them??

updaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 1132 - 28/08/2008 15:27:04    87613

Tadgh Kennelly. U-16's.

Broke about even, but we won!

KingdomGael (Kerry) - Posts: 57 - 28/08/2008 15:35:58    87637

paddy reynolds!

seanieGG (Meath) - Posts: 182 - 28/08/2008 15:47:47    87667

had the honor of marking the greatest player of them all for a few mins in a sports charity match in mayo a few years back, was well honored when he asked who do you play for at the whistle? he had a funny look on his face when i said i didnt play at all, told him i was giving the gaa 'get your priorites right' talk at minor level and i said i walked and play rugby now, he said he would always loved to have had a run at full back in rugby- id say he would make the transition fairly handy something i would pay to see. ive said it before i have marked the great cora as she used to play with the lads- hardest thing i ever had to do, not on abilty terms but getting stuck into a girl was tough- and remember im talking a 12 year old girl not an athlete like she is now which would be different. in rugby played opposite ronan o gara in a tag match (both out halves) great craic, those lads would side step ya in a phone box and leave you sitting on your ass without touching ya, remarkable skill.

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 28/08/2008 15:48:48    87669

Maurice Fitzgerald but the swelling went down after a few days.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 28/08/2008 15:49:12    87670

Played against Niall Guiden once a long time ago - soccer. He was fit as a fiddle and strong but I sorted him out with a few nutmegs and dragbacks. Nice bloke though!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 28/08/2008 15:53:45    87679

David Unsworth!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/08/2008 15:54:23    87682

Paddy Reynolds, a very underrated player in my opinion, always got in for the breaking ball and was as tough as nails!!

updaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 1132 - 28/08/2008 15:54:50    87685

They we're usually marking me...but alas no one famous. I thought I saw the lad that broke my nose during a game on the bus a couple of years back..... does that count? PS..Never tackle with your face.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/08/2008 15:56:59    87691

niall quinn-honestly.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 28/08/2008 15:57:46    87692

Martin O Connell. he was playin chb. he was gettin on a bit at that stage so had the legs on him, but he still seemed to clean up all the breaks, had the knack of being in the right place at the right time. Between him and daithi regan (best left foot in the countRy at the time), you couldnt give away a free, even at our own forty!

sheepshooter (Meath) - Posts: 626 - 28/08/2008 15:58:17    87695

Never really marked any top players in the 15-a-side (junior B standard if i'm lucky) maybe in underage but i would have had a bulls notion who they were.

But played a 7-side hurling game and marked a tipp hurler from the late 80's early 90's john madden. I had the age advantage but he had the skill advantage.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 28/08/2008 16:02:02    87704

whos this greatest player of all u marked ball boy??

u didnt even say

unlucky13 (Armagh) - Posts: 87 - 28/08/2008 16:16:10    87725

conor mortimer obv

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 28/08/2008 16:24:02    87733

28/08/2008 16:16:10
unlucky13
County: Armagh

whos this greatest player of all u marked ball boy??

u didnt even say

Whiterbananas obviously.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 28/08/2008 16:33:31    87746

I think ive told the story on here before about how i was once marked by the great seamus moynihan. Or rather the great seamus moynihan tried to mark me. I was on fire that day. 2-12 from play. I felt sorry for him at the end but as i always say, he stuck with it and turned out to be a decent player himself. But its not every day he came up against somebody of my quality

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 28/08/2008 16:35:37    87756

Fair play WB - I'd say there wasn't a toilet cleaned for a month after that performance .......

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 28/08/2008 16:41:09    87773

I was a keeper so didn't ever mark anyone but have played against some great forwards in my time. Namely Vinnie Murphy , Mick Galvin , Brendan O'Brien , Niall Guiden , Charlie Redmond and Eoin Bennis ( in training with the club!! Great finisher!). When I was in Oz played against Blake Caracella (Essendon Aussie rules) & Matthew Pavlich (Freemantle Dockers) was on our team in the Australasian Gaelic football championships. When I moved to Derry I played against Enda Gormley once.

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 28/08/2008 16:42:56    87782

Seanie McMahon.

I was pretty pleased with myself considering he went on to get an All-star then in 1999.

Then again, we only breed the toughest of defenders in Lucan!....Dont do forwards in Lucan, just cant help eatin them without salt!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/08/2008 16:43:25    87785

It was Cora Staunton that Ball-boy marked above

theknow (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 28/08/2008 17:07:01    87819