Whats wrong with that? Mickey harte had sons and nephews involved in his county teams didn't he?
Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 07/10/2014 14:38:11
realdub, I would say best of luck to him, he owes us nothing. The reality is large numbers of the mayo fans were against him this year, and blamed him for everything they could think of. The number of Donegal fans saying they would take him should open their eyes a bit.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/10/2014 14:52:24
Wouldn't disagree with you but imagine being beaten by Donegal under Horan, it would sting a little more I would think. Anyway, he's ruled himself out!
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8782 - 07/10/2014 14:57:17
I see big Neil has committed again for another year. Great news. The big man seems to get better with age and sure at the end of the day what is age only a number? If he's feeling fit and the form is good why wouldn't he continue? Hopefully a few of the others will follow suit!
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9818 - 07/10/2014 16:20:36
Lockjaw County: Donegal Posts: 3631
1661128 I see big Neil has committed again for another year. Great news. The big man seems to get better with age and sure at the end of the day what is age only a number? If he's feeling fit and the form is good why wouldn't he continue? Hopefully a few of the others will follow suit!
Id agree, also these are the lads ye need around to bring younger lads through, Donegal i feel with the right guy will still be a force next year. Kerry were written off last year without the Gooch and with retirements. They won the AllIreland . There was a kickout between ye. So next year should hold a lot of positives.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 07/10/2014 17:33:31
I am inclined towards Canavan for the DL job. I think he has the calibre & the experience to work with the team at the stage they are at & hopefully bring them on further. I'm of the opinion that it will take someone from outside the county but with a good understanding of Ulster Football & our ways to manage the team. I think that McGuinness was exceptional in his capability to lead from within but that this will not be matched by any of the other in-house contenders. While Bonner has done wonders with the Minors, he is not the one for the senior job IMO. Diver & Gallagher to me are good backroom team-members/advisors but, again, I do not think either of them will make a strong enough Manager.
What we need now is strong & decisive leadership from someone who is established. This is where Jim has brought us & we need to build on this. Perhaps, it is not what Canavan wants (I note nobody else has mentioned him so perhaps I'm missing something there) so maybe also McEntee could be a good choice. I would seriously be doubtful about McStay tho' & I think McHugh seems fairly content in an advisory/behind the scenes role while carrying on with punditry & now having taken on the Sligo IT job. Just my few thoughts & I also feel either Canavan or McEntee could be a real asset in getting us through the Ulster championship next year.
Glynners (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 07/10/2014 21:57:04
Glynners You are making a very good point. I , for one would go for either J McEntee or P Canavan. This team is at the stage now where we want to be very careful who we appoint. Not so sure about D Bonner or even D Diver. Also saw Maxi Curran close up in the betting but could not have him at all The two boys we mentioned first have plenty experience of winning at the top and I would say J McEntee will become a great manager. I also have a felling P Canavan would be a very shrew man for Donegal. However none of the two might be interested. If that's the case then it has to be Rory Gallagher. But we want to thread carefully as a bad option could spell the end of Donegal for a few years. Sinceraly hope we pick the right man.
SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 08/10/2014 21:29:12
Suas Sios County: All Posts: 1099
1661090 Whats wrong with that? Mickey harte had sons and nephews involved in his county teams didn't he?
Rightly or wrongly...
GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 09/10/2014 08:04:07
GetOverTheBar - If the team brings glory then the manager was correct to pick the squad he did, family or not. Wouldn't you agree? It's a moot point anyway as McHugh has ruled himself out of the running for the post.
Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 09/10/2014 13:11:17
A watershed for Donegal. McGuiness will be extremely difficult to replace and he had a Svengali like presence. Given where he took them from, I feel they should appoint someone who was real close to this massive change process they transformed from and perhaps Rory Gallagher is that man.
lethaldrill (Down) - Posts: 18 - 09/10/2014 13:21:39
i think you wont see Donegal in an Ai final over the next ten years they will loose alot of players to retirement and what Jim Mcguinness did with this team was very special he will be very hard to replace
wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 09/10/2014 14:28:58
wfkerry County: USA Posts: 711
1661834 i think you wont see Donegal in an Ai final over the next ten years they will loose alot of players to retirement and what Jim Mcguinness did with this team was very special he will be very hard to replace
How would this be reflected in terms of odds wfkerry? When you come up with a price, I might take you up on a small wager.
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3851 - 09/10/2014 15:38:32
wfkerry Some of your own county men said the same about Kerry's chances earlier this year. It's very hard to predict. Kerry and Cork will make the quarters every year and therefore always have a good chance of making a final if they have a decent side. Donegal don't have that luxury even if their team was comparitive so you could be right and we might not make it back to a final BUT we have contested the last 2 Ulster U21 finals, won the minor this year and got to the final and our U17 team easily won the Ulster competition this year so we have potential coming through to be competitive.
It also has to be noted that this time last year everyone was telling us we had nothing coming through yet Odhran Mac Nialais and Ryan Mc Hugh both had terrific seasons. If we can bring 1 or 2 through next year then we can start replacing the retirements and hopefully with the right man at the helm we can remain a force.
Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 09/10/2014 16:29:38
Tir Conaill Abu County: Donegal Posts: 940
Donegal are very strong at all age levels at the moment, which has likely been helped by the level of success the senior team has enjoyed in the past 4 or 5 years. It has clearly sparked a massive surge in popularity of Gaelic football amongst youngsters.
With an average age of 25/26 years of age, It will be a very attractive management job.
GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 09/10/2014 17:45:53
bonner seems the obvious choice
elguapo (Meath) - Posts: 51 - 09/10/2014 17:59:32
Where next for donegal, it is tyrone at home in the first round of the championship.
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3851 - 09/10/2014 19:43:12
West kerry Don't worry about Donegal We have plenty of young players coming through and if you saw the minor final we were as good as KERRY We had a very good team in 2002/2003 and were very unlucky against Armagh in the AI semi in 2003. None of those players won anything at underage yet we produced a good senior team. If the attitude we have now had been there then who knows what could have happened. If you saw the draw tonight you can see how tough Ulster is. If Donegal or for that matter TYRONE win in Ballybofey they have to play Armagh to see who goes to the Ulster semi final Yet after two games in MUNSTER Kerry will probably be MUNSTER champions plus a last 8 place. What I can tell you is ::: I would not mind being in Kerry's place every year as I'm sure we would reach a lot more AI than we have been doing. Same old story in MUNSTER every year::: when did Limerick, Tipperary or Waterford beat Kerry in the championship?? 22 years since Clare did. Kerry has it so easy down there For Donegal to win next year's Ulster title we will probably have to play four games similar to this year's all Ireland, hard dogged physical games This is not sour grapes or an attack on Kerry but as it stands now who has the easiest rout to the quarterfinals::: Donegal/ TYRONE/Armagh or Kerry ???
SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 09/10/2014 19:44:46
Horan said he's not interested, McHugh said he's not interested, and now Bonnar's not interested.
Seems like a lot of people have no interest in following Jim.
The draw last night probably hasn't helped matters either.
besidetheditch (Dublin) - Posts: 81 - 10/10/2014 15:44:32
Looks more and more likely that it is going to be Gallagher.
i would hope that if it is him that he decides to play a bit more expansively than he is doing with kilcar. They are scoring very low scores.
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3851 - 10/10/2014 15:58:45
Between Limerick, Tipperary and Clare they would take plenty of scalps in Ulster. The football in Ulster is the sporting equivalent of the hunger games, it is putrid to watch. Add to the fact Limerick do not play the game in any great numbers, it is the fourth sport in the county. I would fancy Limerick against 3/4 of the Northern teams on their day and Tipp and Clare would have a chance against all but two of the Ulster teams for my money.
Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 10/10/2014 16:12:43