Donegal from here

I think Donegal need to get a top class replacement for Mc Guinness or they could be in trouble.Not sure who would be best.
Whoever takes over will have a tough act to follow and if the players get a sense that standards are dropping then that will spell disaster.

911 (USA) - Posts: 41 - 05/10/2014 17:44:00    1660407

I dont think Donegal have anyone capable of replacing Mcguinness he took an average
group of players and turned them into AIwinners. Alot of the current crop are at the
wrong side of thirty they will be in transition for a while

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 05/10/2014 18:30:39    1660424

mcentee didnt do his chances any favours today
as his star laden st brigids side were hammered by the one man machine kev mac

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/10/2014 18:50:52    1660437

There will be a transition period now for Donegal and I think the majority of supporters are looking at next year and hoping we can see the start of a new era evolving. Jim has brought a few shining new starts through in the last few years and we will need a few more to come through but when you have players like Michael Murphy still in the ranks you can always build around that.
Next year I'd be hopeful of staying in division 1 and giving a good account of ourselves in the championship with a few new players to make their mark. We won't be serious contenders next year.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 05/10/2014 19:09:38    1660448

Legend give it up lad will ya, it's bad enough listening to some of the other wind up merchants on here.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 05/10/2014 19:16:19    1660455

I think the new manager has a massive advantage.
McGuinness had to turn the whole philosophy in Donegal around.
Party boys to professional preparation.
The new manager will have a high bar to achieve but atleast he will know that the players know what's required.
Personally I hope he utilizes Murphy more in an attacking role.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 05/10/2014 19:27:21    1660460

westkerry

Legend give it up lad will ya, it's bad enough listening to some of the other wind up merchants on here.

Fair play to you westkerry,and congratulations on yer AI win by the way.I know this guy doesn't represent Kerry folk in general so nothing against Kerry at all.

911 (USA) - Posts: 41 - 05/10/2014 19:28:35    1660462

Tir Conaill Abu

There will be a transition period now for Donegal and I think the majority of supporters are looking at next year and hoping we can see the start of a new era evolving. Jim has brought a few shining new starts through in the last few years and we will need a few more to come through but when you have players like Michael Murphy still in the ranks you can always build around that.
Next year I'd be hopeful of staying in division 1 and giving a good account of ourselves in the championship with a few new players to make their mark. We won't be serious contenders next year.

A jesus, never mind this transition word. Leave that to the bomber liston and co. We will call it as it is, a changing of the guard, and the transition could happen more seamlessly than some expect.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3851 - 05/10/2014 20:28:32    1660502

wfkerry
County: USA

I dont think Donegal have anyone capable of replacing Mcguinness he took an average
group of players and turned them into AIwinners. Alot of the current crop are at the
wrong side of thirty they will be in transition for a while

Most of the current Donegal panel are actually in the 25-28 age bracket, with McFadden and Rory Kavanagh the only two really tipped to move on next season. And they have a lot of talent in the County at all age groups, so I expect they won't drift far.

Belief is 90% of winning, and that has to be the single biggest thing Jim McGuinness gave the Donegal panel. He did bring other things to the table also, but making them believe in themselves was the biggest achievement.

While I think Rory Gallagher can come in and keep the ship sailing in Jim's direction, I think Martin McHugh would be the man to shake the Donegal attack up. A Gallagher/McHugh double would be Interesting, probably very successful.
I know some folk down the Country would dismiss McHugh because of his pundit remarks, but behind it all he is a very shrewd football brain.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 06/10/2014 08:18:42    1660559

GaryMc82
County: Derry

While I think Rory Gallagher can come in and keep the ship sailing in Jim's direction, I think Martin McHugh would be the man to shake the Donegal attack up. A Gallagher/McHugh double would be Interesting, probably very successful.
I know some folk down the Country would dismiss McHugh because of his pundit remarks, but behind it all he is a very shrewd football brain.

He hides it well in fairness.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13819 - 06/10/2014 08:42:04    1660562

To be honest, any man that takes this job is going to feel like David Moyes trying to succeed Fergie. The impact that Jim had on this group of Donegal players cannot be underestimated. Anything the new manager does will be compared to Jim's methods and if some players were finding it hard to return to the fold this year its hard to imagine there wont be several more next year. I cant see this Donegal team reaching the heights of recent years without the visionary in place to guide them there.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2582 - 06/10/2014 09:38:40    1660580

I think there is 6 genuine contenders to take over from Jim, some may agree or disagree but i reckon in no particular order we have:
1. Rory Gallagher
2. Martin McHugh
3. Eamonn O'Boyle
4. Gary McDaid
5. Declan Bonner
6. McEntee, i believe McEntee would be a great appointment but would he be interested is the one! and what an act to try and follow as an outsider!!

One thing i do believe is that no matter what the appointment should be made this side of December!!

beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 06/10/2014 09:59:14    1660594

8 counties in Ulster are sighing in relief right now and Im sure alot more around Ireland are also.

No matter who they bring in Donegal will not be the same team as the McGuinness fear factor is gone. Massive loss for Donegal.

jamesjoyce (Derry) - Posts: 126 - 06/10/2014 11:11:09    1660623

I dont think there ever was a fear factor. Other ulster counties did give us their fill of it, re tyrone x2, down x1, armagh this year. They certainly wernt afraid when I saw them on those dates, and i think we got out of jail the first match against tyrone and the game against armagh this year.

The thing that donegal will have to contend with is the improving field as well as the relative disadavantaged position we find ourselves in now with the management issue. I feel that even if McGuinness were still in charge next year, the likes of tyrone and armagh would certainly give us massive games, potentially beating us. Every dog has his day, it is always a mater of when rather than if. It just is such a pity we couldnt have won the all ireland this year, but McGuinness and his legacy is still massive.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3851 - 06/10/2014 11:25:56    1660638

James Horan has jumped into 2nd fav spot, now that would send shockwave's around the country if he took the job. Top class manager, maybe he might prefer Derry though.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 06/10/2014 16:53:25    1660780

Jaysus the Mayo lads wouldn't be too impressed if that happened I'd imagine!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8782 - 06/10/2014 16:56:00    1660782

Horan is a good guy, and he has worked flat out with mayo over the last 4 years. The only difference between ourselves and him is one trophy. He would be an ideal man for the job. He got mayo to 2 finals, and arguably should have been in this years final too. If the county board get him, I would be delighted.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3851 - 06/10/2014 17:44:25    1660799

This has to be a red herring
No way would he leave mayo and take over Donegal
I'd say powers trying to make few Bob off it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/10/2014 19:55:44    1660852

Hill16 no1 man
J Horan is no longer with Mayo and would indeed make a good manager. Imagine if he is in charge and us to beat Mayo in next year's All Ireland final
My take of it all is ::::: if either are interested ( j Horan or McEntee ) if the county board gave one of them the job I'd be happy. Horan knows how to get to an All Ireland final and McEntee also knows what it takes to win at the top. Either would do for me

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 06/10/2014 20:59:41    1660884

it wouldn't be right for Martin McHugh to be managing with 2 sons and a nephew vying for a place on the team.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 07/10/2014 14:20:25    1661080