Sky Sports' GAA - I love it!!

Of course we have a dictatorship. Sure Duffy said last year he was jealous of the FAI because of the power Deleaney and co. has, the GAA is too democratic sometimes are what his words were I believe.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 27/05/2014 12:21:38    1594086

To be honest I'd don't buy into this argument about the poor old man living in the back **** of nowhere who won't be able to see a few games live on tv because of big bad Sky and Murdoch the bully.

Last year there were over 90 games played in the championship.

Less than half of those were shown on tv.

How come nobody was complaining on behalf of the old man in Leitrim, Carlow or Fermanagh who wasn't able to travel to games and wasn't able to watch his county play on tv after giving all his life to the game? How come the GAA wasn't accused of kicking those lads in their guts or becoming exclusive?

As far as the actual coverage and punditry goes, then it's over simplifying things to just assume it'll be the same as the TV3 coverage because a lot of the same people are going to be involved.

These guys will have much more resources available to them with Sky, probably more than anything TV3 or even RTE could ever offer.

Look at what they're doing for their first match between Kilkenny and Offaly in Nowlan Park, showing the game from a different viewpoint by broadcasting from the damaged stand "The plan is to shoot from that side rather than into that side. We'd much rather show what a great spectacle it is rather than shooting a building site." Fair play to them it's the small things that all add up to make a big difference. The only time something like this ever seems to happen on a domestic channel is when TG4 are showing the ladies / camogie finals.

Regarding punditry then yeah they probably could have done better than Canavan and Earley, maybe Whelan, Connell and Galvin. I don't see why some seem to be expecting it to be poor though.

Nobody would have described Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville as two players with big personalities, and few would have expected them to be so popular on tv. With good technology, plenty of different camera angles and a bit of media training they've become two excellent pundits. Instead of just talking about a game or what's happened, they look to break things down, analyse them and look into the managers / players thinking behind some of the decisions made. It makes for really interesting viewing and thankfully a good bit of it is then put up on Youtube too.

Those little factors, the technology and the new camera angles can go a long, long way to improving the standard of analysis there is on tv.

Just look at what's happened with Soccer Republic this season. Again I don't think many would have considered Stuey Byrne and Tony McDonnell to be better analysts than Pat Dolan or Brian Kerr, but this season with a big of technology they've been able to do something similar to what Neville and Carragher do, and it helps makes a poor show watchable.

I'd be hopeful Sky afford Canavan, Earley, O'Connor and whatever guests they have the same luxury the do their analysts on other sports, and to be honest there's no reason to suggest they wouldn't.

They might be all glitz and glamour or nothing but fancy wrapping paper to some people, but they're definitely big on production value and content. Something we've been lacking for a long time on RTE and TV3.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 27/05/2014 12:45:11    1594098

Hear, hear!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 27/05/2014 12:56:09    1594108

well said if in doubt bit of sence there

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2878 - 27/05/2014 13:23:39    1594130

Them Kerry lads fairly know how to play the poor mouth, don't they..

Free football, (hurling is optional, other than North Kerry), a bit of drink driving and sure, we'll stroke the tourists at every opportunity..

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 27/05/2014 13:26:28    1594133

Well said sir.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 27/05/2014 13:36:07    1594138

if_in_doubt

Excellent post lad but you made one mistake = you tried to talk sense......and you'll probably pay for that!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 27/05/2014 13:52:19    1594147

if they dont dictate anything then
what do you call the heiniken cup scheaduale
games are played out all over the shop to suit their cameras

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/05/2014 14:41:27    1594192

First off, I call that rugby hill...
Secondly, any changes would have been accepted or rejected by the appropriate bodies, just like would have to happen in the gaa. So it is sky who is being dictated to, not the other way around...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/05/2014 14:58:23    1594210

All ye lads with ye'r silver spoons stuck up ye'r ****** haven't a clue how the rest of the country have to live but sure if any1 tells what ye what ye don't want to hear sure we're only talking rubbish then, god forbid ye ever hit hard times boys. And rebel cork I never knew Duffy came out with that statement , it's fair brazen .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/05/2014 15:43:54    1594246

KingdomBoy1, nearly as brazen as someone being shown to be totally wrong, and then coming out with the statement you just have.

The same amount of games are on rte again this year. Your argument makes no sense.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/05/2014 16:17:30    1594279

27/05/2014 13:26:28
bricktop
County: Down

Them Kerry lads fairly know how to play the poor mouth, don't they..

Free football, (hurling is optional, other than North Kerry), a bit of drink driving and sure, we'll stroke the tourists at every opportunity..

27/05/2014 13:36:07
brendtheredhand

Well said sir.

Maith na fir

What rational debate was ever good without throwing in a bit of casual bigotry? Get your boyfriend to back it up- wow, an independent confirming source!

Of course, we've stroked manys the female tourist from your part of the world...all your relatives foremost...men too, if we were too drunk even to drive (which is never, obviously!)

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 27/05/2014 16:29:09    1594287

First off, I call that rugby hill...
Secondly, any changes would have been accepted or rejected by the appropriate bodies, just like would have to happen in the gaa. So it is sky who is being dictated to, not the other way around...

no need to be smart it doesnt suit you!
secondly money talks and the fixtures walk to its beat
if sky sports up their bids in 3 years time they will certainly hold a lot more sway at the table when it comes to it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/05/2014 16:45:21    1594311

That's a big "if", Hill.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 27/05/2014 17:13:50    1594340

hill16no1man
no need to be smart it doesnt suit you!
secondly money talks and the fixtures walk to its beat
if sky sports up their bids in 3 years time they will certainly hold a lot more sway at the table when it comes to it

No money doesn't talk. The gaa talks. If they CHOOSE to accept any potential offer from sky to move game times, (which frankly would be fine by me anyway, what difference would it make?) then they would have decided themselves what to do. SKY wouldn't have dictated anything, they would have made an offer which would have been either accepted or rejected - again the GAA would have dictated proceedings to sky, not the other way around. What you are saying is the exact opposite of the truth.

Less of the scaremongering please.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/05/2014 17:26:20    1594354

keeper

i fail to see what option the gaa will now have
sky are their to stay
tv3 wont go near the gaa again after the way they were treated
and tg4 havent got the funds

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/05/2014 18:37:26    1594395

Hill the main difference between the relationship Sky have with the Heineken Cup and the GAA is the fact that they are the sole rights holders for the rugby.

They have a massive involvement in scheduling and kick off times of matches.

Anyways, rugby has always been about maximising tv audiences. Look at the Top 14 in France, a variety of different kick off times and it's nothing to do with Sky, the Rabo has to schedule around five tv channels and look at what happened the France - Ireland 6 Nations match in Paris a few years ago, meant to kick off at 9pm local time in the middle of February. No Sky cameras to be seen that night either.

In GAA the fixture schedule is already a massive shambles, I fail to see how they could assert any power over the GAA as they're in the same position as RTE, TG4 and Channel 7. If they somehow manage to start deciding fixtures themselves then maybe they'll actually improve things...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 27/05/2014 19:03:16    1594404

KingdomBoy1

All ye lads with ye'r silver spoons stuck up ye'r ****** haven't a clue how the rest of the country have to live but sure if any1 tells what ye what ye don't want to hear sure we're only talking rubbish then, god forbid ye ever hit hard times boys. And rebel cork I never knew Duffy came out with that statement , it's fair brazen .

Good lad.

When faced with reasoned opinions and conjecture just respond with insults and avoid any of the main issues at hand.

There's people in every county who will be against this deal, likewise there'll be people in every county who support it. Claiming that people "haven't a clue how the rest of the country have to live" is just ridiculous.

I assume the silver spoon reference was an attempt at humour. If not then I'm starting to feel sorry for you.

Out of curiosity where was your concern for the thousands of people around the country last year who weren't able to watch their counties play on tv? Where was your anger when Setanta were showing matches that weren't free to air? How many grievances did you air last year when over half the championship wasn't shown live on tv?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 27/05/2014 19:09:35    1594412

If in doubt
How did I insult you kid? You reckon there are no poor people in Ireland that's what makes me think you and the other pro sky boys haven't a clue, If there isn't poor people in Ireland why did Sinn Fein get such of a high percentage of the peoples votes in the European and local elections ? If there isn't poor people surely people would be still voting fine geal and labour ! And I didn't even know setanta had games till this February , had I known I would have been on here to air my disgust, you say I don't answer ye'r questions but none of ye still have answered my question why wasn't something as important as this brought before congress ???

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/05/2014 21:55:33    1594508

keeper 7 longford has tried to answer that question, albeit unsuccessfully

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2982 - 28/05/2014 09:13:52    1594539