Rugby players with a gaa background

Ciaran Fitzgerald played minor hurling for Galway and was a member of the team in the minor final against Cork in 1970. He also won two All-Ireland boxing championships.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 17/05/2014 21:39:06    1589097

Gael85

did Eric Elwood play football for Galway minors?

Don't know about minor bit he certainly played senior Connacht championship for Galway for at least one season of not more.

Sean O'Brien played minor for Carlow.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1615 - 18/05/2014 11:33:37    1589181

Lads it is Xabi not Xavi Alonso

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 18/05/2014 12:54:18    1589209

Xabi Alonso played GAA but didn't play for a club. I read an interview around 2005 where he said he used to play soccer and Gaelic Football on a green with and against the local boys. He said the Irish boys were very physical in both sports and it helped him toughen up as fouls were allowed. I tried find the article in vain before posting here.

I'd say there are a few other Spanish players with a similar story. I remember fondly playing the Spanish kids in my local park. They used to pass the ball around for fun but we would win as we were aggressive and direct.

I'd say this was repeated around the country!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 18/05/2014 14:23:32    1589244

Mick Fizgibbon of Shannon and Ireland played with Ballysteen. Pat Murray of Shannon and Munster played with Na Piarsaigh. Eddie Halvey of Shannon, Munster and Ireland played with Treaty Sarsfields as did Ger Earls of Young Munster and Munster.

record (Limerick) - Posts: 129 - 18/05/2014 16:15:05    1589284

Tomas O'Leary played minor hurling for Cork.

The Rigney's of Laois played rugby for Portlaoise/Buccaneers/Connacht.

Wood and Foley played under age hurling for Smith O'Briens and Clare.

Michael Duignan played rugby.

David Beggy played AIL

Diarmuid O'Sullivan played rugby for Highfield or some other Cork rugby club.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 18/05/2014 17:47:17    1589376

Graham Geraghty played for Bucaneers.

Former Mayo midfielder and 2004 All Ireland finalist played and, I think, still plays centre for Ballyhaunis RFC. He won a Connacht Division 3 medal a couple of years ago. Some block of a man to be playing centre in junior rugby !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8193 - 18/05/2014 18:19:50    1589409

Rob Henshaw - Westmeath minors

http://www.hoganstand.com/westmeath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=178572

Toney (Meath) - Posts: 298 - 07/11/2014 14:58:17    1670475

David Humphreys played hurling for Antrim before trying his hand at rugby.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 07/11/2014 15:18:24    1670478

Might as well get on the bandwagon, Ciaran Mc Manus, Offaly and Tubber, played rugby towards the end of his county football career.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 07/11/2014 16:48:40    1670517

GreenandRed

Graham Geraghty played for Bucaneers.

Former Mayo midfielder and 2004 All Ireland finalist played and, I think, still plays centre for Ballyhaunis RFC. He won a Connacht Division 3 medal a couple of years ago. Some block of a man to be playing centre in junior rugby !

Are you referring to Fergal Kelly? As I recall, he was a goalkeeper for his club, who started at midfield for Mayo against Kerry in the 2004 All-Ireland final. You might say that one backfired ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 07/11/2014 16:50:13    1670519

Not directed related but true.

Mike Flanagan professional soccer player, ex Charlton Athletic, QPR, England 'B' played gaelic football for the Brian Boru club, now defunct, in London. He also trained their hurling team. I believe his parents were Irish.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 321 - 07/11/2014 16:52:08    1670521

Aidan O'Mahoney played a bit of Rugby for Kerry there in September .

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 07/11/2014 17:03:32    1670528

Glensboy

Not directed related but true.

Mike Flanagan professional soccer player, ex Charlton Athletic, QPR, England 'B' played gaelic football for the Brian Boru club, now defunct, in London. He also trained their hurling team. I believe his parents were Irish.

was that the same guy who fought with his own team-mate (derk hales..I think) on the pitch and both were sent off.

also why did he never get a call up for ireland. I actually never knew he was irish.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 07/11/2014 18:51:36    1670555

actually I just seen that Mike Flanagan had a few england B caps so that would have precluded him for playing for the republic.maybe he actually was irish at heart.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 07/11/2014 18:59:28    1670557

Gaelic football / rugby.....not much difference nowadays, only in the shape of the ball.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2062 - 07/11/2014 20:15:44    1670583

Gleebo, I wouldn't say 2004 final result was down to Fergal but maybe DB should have got a run early. Fergal played in goal for Mayo too, I think in a challenge game but he did nonetheless.

A sound man. David Brady himself played AIL for Ballina. His brother Ger played Ireland U19s.

Michael Duignan played AIL for Bucaneers. I saw him playing Freshers football for Waterford RTC against Jordanstown in the freshers final back in the 80s, man! On top of being a class hurler I heard he was a great handballer too. One of them lads that's just good at all sports. Not a bad analyst either. Fair play to him.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8193 - 07/11/2014 20:55:18    1670589

Janesboro
Dan Larkin did not play in the 91 Munster final, he was a late withdrawal and was replaced by the 19 year old P.J. Garvey. He did indeed play in the 1992 Semi Final in which Kerry had another very close call

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4519 - 07/11/2014 21:18:16    1670596

Donnacha Ryan of Munster and Ireland used to hurl for Eire Óg Nenagh at underage. Think Denis Leamy played a bit for Boherlahan-Dualla as well. Somebody mentioned Conor Sweeney played for Cork Con. Not sure about that, must check it out!

There was a story on here at one point about Cora Staunton trying her hand at rugby at one point and scoring a load of tries in her first match.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 08/11/2014 14:24:59    1670671

In Limerick we had as well the 1's already mentioned:

Sean Cronin Ireland hooker won a county medal with Moonaleen in 2005.
Stephen Kelly played a few seasons with Shannon RFC.
Paul O'Connell played underage hurling with South liberties.
Cormac Joyce Power won a Munster senior cup with Castletroy College against a PBC side that had Peter O'Mahoney and Simon Zebo.
Jim O'Donavan Played with Landsdowne and played with St Kierans and Limerick.
At the present Derry O'Connor Plays rugby with Young munster and football with Fr Caseys and Limerick

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 08/11/2014 14:39:00    1670672