Sky Pundits

Lads I can't wait for the sky coverage. Think about the slow motion replay of Anthony Nash burying 21, The grace and poise of Diarmuid Connolly Swinging the ball over the bar off his right and left and the Physicality of an MDMA crunching hit

WulieCarmichael (Limerick) - Posts: 11 - 12/05/2014 18:29:08    1586767

I wonder will they get MArk Robson to commentate on the games. He's the Nordie that often does the rugby. Anyone know what county hes from? Would be surprised not to see him there.

glantine.guard (Limerick) - Posts: 33 - 13/05/2014 11:48:18    1586918

09/05/2014 13:37:40
PatOLogical
County: Limerick

...I suggest that voices to be heard should all come across as preferably Irish but distinctly neutral so they can be clearly understood by an international audience. This would rule out the likes Galvin, Canavan, Pat Spillane, Donal O'Grady (too "Cork" and too serious), Tomas Mulcahy ,again too local of an accent and speaks too fast for TV. Same goes for anything too Mayo, Galway or Dublin, Donegal or Meath as with Colm ARourke" (writing it the way Colm says it)...

Craven. Tug that forelock!! Let's get Terry Wogan and Norton.

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 13/05/2014 13:52:54    1587005

Will Sky approach the ex TV 3 lads Nicky and Jamesie O Connor ???

Would be great if there was a guest speaker some of the names already mentioned in previous posts...

Shane Long
David Myler
John O'Shea
Noel Hunt
Seamus Coleman
Niall Quinn
Kevin Moran

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 13/05/2014 17:24:10    1587153

You'll see a few TV3 faces

Right again jimbo... god you're great

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/05/2014 12:51:34    1589935

Ah but the jimbo lad has sources.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/05/2014 12:54:06    1589942

Htaem

Ah but the jimbo lad has sources.

______

;)

Sssshhhh...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/05/2014 12:56:05    1589945

Boring pundits.

Rachel Wyse though... offft....

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 19/05/2014 13:18:01    1589967

So after all the talk and hype on how sky sports will do wonders for Gaa analysis what do we end up with
Yes exactly what I said from the start the tv3 line up
But the only difference is its a cheaper recession busting tv3 line up as they have the same guys but less of them Haha
The same people whinged and slated tv3 analyst panel will probably now say it looks like a very good line up simply because they are on the multinational station
By the sounds of it it will be 5 mins before the match and 5 mins after the match analysis as they will only have one analyst in the studio for every match
This is a step backwards

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/05/2014 13:40:02    1589999

Fairly unimpressive alright.

Everyone thought that TV3 was terrible and were trumpeting the Sky deal.

In turns out the Sky deal is essentially going to be TV3!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13816 - 19/05/2014 13:44:17    1590004

Sky team not very inspiring, Brian carney as a host, rugby league presenter...ah sure he's irish throw him in!!!!

RTE have nothing to worry about. Always felt McStay was the best analysist on the sunday game

Thought the Gooch was very good last night on the Sunday game.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 19/05/2014 13:45:23    1590008

Can't believe they have Mike finnerty commentating. Shocking. Enough to make me cancel my subscription. We ll have to endure the " o gara mixing business with pleasure " catchphrase every game.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 817 - 19/05/2014 13:47:57    1590015

Lads did ye really think Sky would make a massive thing out of this...???

They bought the GAA rights for ONE reason

To stop subscriber drop off once the Soccer finished in May...

Every year they saw massive drop off when Irish subscribers dropped from Sky once the Premier League finished up

Sky now have their stop gap content until it returns where they stand a better chance of maintaining subscriptions during the soccer off season

That's all GAA is to them...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/05/2014 13:51:19    1590026

Scaremongers out en force again. I don't think anyone actually criticised TV3's analysts, just the overall cheap feel to their coverage. Are TV3 in HD? Do they have "red button" options? Do they broadcast in the UK? Have they any online or mobile/tablet/iPad facilities comparable to Sky Go, Sky Sports News and skysports.com?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 19/05/2014 13:56:06    1590033

Ok lads, ok, extra exposure is a bad thing, there there.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/05/2014 13:56:21    1590035

Htaem

Ok lads, ok, extra exposure is a bad thing, there there.

More exposure for the games is a great thing.

People probably shouldn't have gone overboard though with their talk of brilliant Sky coverage in comparison to what we've been used to. Sky were talked up on here as regards the presentation. etc when in reality it'll be the exact same as we've been used to.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13816 - 19/05/2014 14:06:12    1590060

As someone has said, the ability to watch sky on phone and tablet etc is great and for me that puts it above tv3 alone. People really care too much about analysts etc though. I watch sport to watch the sport, not the chatting

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1429 - 19/05/2014 14:16:57    1590077

MesAmis
Fairly unimpressive alright.
Everyone thought that TV3 was terrible and were trumpeting the Sky deal.
In turns out the Sky deal is essentially going to be TV3!

What would have been impressive for you?

Canavan is very sharp on the tactical side, he is also never biased towards his own team, he is basically what Gary Neville is to soccer. He is also well spoken and expresses his points well but also in simple and straightforward terms, and he never makes it about himself. RTE should have gotten him years ago. The anchor is the only guy Im not sure about, but sky are very good at this stuff, therefore I will trust their judgement and give him a chance. In reality a good honest effort where they talk about the game and keep it between the ditches is perfect. We don't need to create controversy for the sake of it. I hope they blow rte out of the water.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/05/2014 14:17:58    1590078

benjyyy

As someone has said, the ability to watch sky on phone and tablet etc is great and for me that puts it above tv3 alone. People really care too much about analysts etc though. I watch sport to watch the sport, not the chatting

Well TV3 was free... you'd want to be getting something different / extra from Sky seeing that you'll be paying for that privilege

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/05/2014 14:22:49    1590086

MesAmis

More exposure for the games is a great thing.

People probably shouldn't have gone overboard though with their talk of brilliant Sky coverage in comparison to what we've been used to. Sky were talked up on here as regards the presentation. etc when in reality it'll be the exact same as we've been used to.

Hey I agree with you, Sky for the time being probably won't do things much differently than TV3 and will only up their game in terms of coverage if this turns out to be a success. I'm just happy genuinely happy that our games are getting more international exposure, they are 2 great games to watch no matter where you're from and Sky provides a better platform for growth. However I'm not naive enough to think that Gaelic Games are going to take any other country by storm, I just want to clarify that.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/05/2014 14:39:10    1590108