Sky Pundits

Snuffaprocrastinous would you ever disappear and stop boring us with profound insights from your various orifices. Your like De Valera reincarnated there.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 03/04/2014 10:17:43    1569785

If they want to attract an English audience they might use people they actually know and recognise,hench the likes of Shane long been mentioned,there's 4 million people in Ireland and over 60 milion in the uk,it doesn't take a genius to know which market is more important to sky

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 03/04/2014 10:23:52    1569790

All I can say is in my opinion, keep Paul Galvin away from analysis.
he was a great player and warrior for kerry but by god his radio show bored the tears off me

hard to say about getting some of the tv3 lads. There is just something WRONG with tv3's sports package in general, from GAA to soccer. Possibly not the pundit problem per se but i would not like to see all of them sheppered from 1 studio to another!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 03/04/2014 10:35:48    1569799

There are surely plenty of media savvy lads for Sky to bring in they don't all have to be "legends" of the game, which sometimes doesn't quite work out either. You'd expect a decent mix of personailities and knowledge.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 03/04/2014 10:40:31    1569804

Has to be the gorgeous Racel Wyse in studio, and the one and only Chris Kamara in the Marty Morrisey sideline role. This is hilarious and Chris Kamara at his best http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H8gKmQ6Hrro

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 03/04/2014 12:04:12    1569862

hilarious. Kamara is great. but listen guys. you wouldn't have tennis correspondents commentating on Golf, would you. so why would you have soccer pundits talking about GAA.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 03/04/2014 13:06:00    1569909

wexico15, in reality, they will want to engage the english who already have a connection to ireland first. Plus, it s all new to the english, so it doestn really matter to them who is on the show. They will look for people in the know on the game, with possible guest spots for the kevin morans, the shane longs etc but not regulars. I mean, do they have rugby union lads on talking about rugby league? No they dont. Id say they will go for people like canavan, padraic joyce etc.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/04/2014 13:17:14    1569924

peter_venkman
County: Down

hill16no1man Kevin Moran has three senior Leinster and two All-Ireland medals for Dublin. I think that qualifies him to talk about the game. As for Shane Long, well he played minor hurling for Tipperary and I think he has a provincial medal at that level so again, not without pedigree in his own code.

hardly glowing adverts for the gaa considering they both ditched it to make money playing soccer!
plus moran is long gone from the gaa its a totaly new game since he was involved
long come on loads a people have won minor medals hardly means your a gaa pundit

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/04/2014 14:20:28    1569963

wexico15
County: Wexford

If they want to attract an English audience they might use people they actually know and recognise,hench the likes of Shane long been mentioned,there's 4 million people in Ireland and over 60 milion in the uk,it doesn't take a genius to know which market is more important to sky

are you for real
the whole point for sky of doing the gaa is to keep the subscribers in ireland during the summer
they would have a far greater success with the 4milllion irish who know the sport and already love it
then 60 million brits who havent a clue about the sport
plus this is the championship afterall why are people so happy that we should have people from other sports
as presenters and analysts on our biggest competition
you would hardly see gaa guys analysing rugby or soccer on tg4 or rte would you?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/04/2014 14:26:53    1569968

I hope they don't take TV3's commentator and presenter. Brutal!!!

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 03/04/2014 21:55:48    1570197

I propose a panel of
Host/Michael Lyster Role - Muckross Head - the wee accent will woo the british viewer!
Commentator - Cute Kerry Hoor - for the Weeshie effect. Colour Commentator - Snuff - the "interaction" between these two twains meeting....Gold!
Studio Panel - Myself of course for unbiased quality analysis, The Master to add a bit of drama!!! And Rachel Wyse.................cough...
Evening Programme host - Htaem - Balance, style, eyebrows....this guy has the lot! Evening Programme Guests/Analyst - Footballfirst for his forthright views on the "foreign game", Horse - for the craic, and ......rachel wyse.....

Pitchline reporters - Wayno - so he can give us the "view from the Hill" and Ulsterman so he can tell us whats REALLY going on that somehow, we all missed....bar him......ya know....

And Rachel Wyse..........

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/04/2014 09:06:41    1570213

Will actually refuse to watch anything with Parkinson involved, who is he or what has he won? He is just controversial in everything he says just so he can increase his profile.

IMO Darragh Maloney is the best commentator RTE have but doubt he will be moving to Sky. Dave McIntyre on newstalk isn't bad....

As someone said earlier the lads from Second Captain's would be a great call but more suited for a soccer AM type of show rather than serious analyst.

btkc (Mayo) - Posts: 14 - 04/04/2014 11:21:11    1570266

Parkinson is not bad, can be funny!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8775 - 04/04/2014 12:20:25    1570300

Theyll trail out oul Jimmy Magee again, sure didnt he do their highlights program in the nineties!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 04/04/2014 12:25:23    1570305

I think Liam Neeson and Saoirse Ronan, sure didnt Liam play for All Saints Ballymena when he was u14/u16 and Saoirse... well firstly because of her name and secondly she might be a distant relative of Adrian!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 04/04/2014 12:31:29    1570308

Parkinson is Irelands answer to Robbie Savage, that's all.

Fiveways (Mayo) - Posts: 19 - 04/04/2014 12:38:00    1570311

Most of the northern guys are useless, they are so pro Ulster it would give you an ulcer!!!!

Lol - in fairness though there would probably be a better chance of them being understood than the like of Pat Spillane or the like.

Also hard not to sound pro Ulster given how strong the province is when it comes to football - much less so hurling.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 04/04/2014 12:49:41    1570315

To make an impact on RTE they may target one of their regulars - high profile and damaging to RTE to lose one of their own

Sky are already talking down RTE

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/04/2014 12:55:31    1570321

On a more serious note I would rather see people who are still GAA people presenting and in the studio rather than the like of Quinn, Long etc as this is where real insight will come from and on top of that if people do latch onto the games (not that I am sure this will be the case) then our own GAA folk can become household names in the process but critically are there on merit rather than fanfare.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 04/04/2014 12:57:50    1570323

There used to be an Irish anchor man on Sky's Spanish football and Boxing. I think his surname was Finnegan. Sure he used to anchor all the Ireland soccer matches.

CocknyTribesman (UK) - Posts: 194 - 04/04/2014 13:17:28    1570339