Sky Pundits

where is all the new brilliant analysts we have been told sky would have for the last couple of months by people
trumping the idea of them having the games
so far all I see are names of ex soccer players who lets be honest are not qualified to talk about gaa based on they played 7
a few games growing up,also people stated the gaa analysts were poor already yet I see a suggestion here that they will use tv3 guys
shane long is fav for the hurling analyst job seriously thats cringeworthy
along with kevin moran fav for the football analyst these guys are not qualified

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/04/2014 15:16:30    1569346

MuckrossHead
Actually that is a very good program Sky have on during the games on Sat with the panel of Merson, Phil Thompson, Charlie Nicholas & MattT LeTissier all commenting on different games. Hugely entertaining & as a format would work well during the summer for TV3 if they can't show live games

Very good program alright but not sure it would work for the GAA games as you would need at least 4-5 games all starting together, that does not happen in championship.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11637 - 02/04/2014 15:29:28    1569361

I have never been a huge fan of sky pundits but there is one thing they do, they all accentuate the positives and in general they are positive in there analysis.

I for one am sick off the negative analysis that comes from RTE. I hope this is the kick up the backside rte need to get there act together.

RTE have played lip service to the NFL in particular for years. There current highlights show of the Allianz leagues is nothing short of a disgrace.

I for one am looking forward to what SKY bring to the table.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 02/04/2014 15:48:23    1569377

I always enjoy the dulcet tone of Mayo legend Kevin O'Neill

thehoops (Kildare) - Posts: 69 - 02/04/2014 16:01:09    1569391

Who is going to do the Chris Kamara role of updates on the sideline? May I suggest Hazel O'Sullivan or Nadia Forde? Give Marty or Willie Joe a run for their money.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/04/2014 16:05:03    1569392

Marty Morrissey

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8775 - 02/04/2014 16:05:10    1569393

02/04/2014 15:16:30
hill16no1man
where is all the new brilliant analysts we have been told sky would have for the last couple of months by people
trumping the idea of them having the games
so far all I see are names of ex soccer players who lets be honest are not qualified to talk about gaa based on they played 7
a few games growing up,also people stated the gaa analysts were poor already yet I see a suggestion here that they will use tv3 guys
shane long is fav for the hurling analyst job seriously thats cringeworthy
along with kevin moran fav for the football analyst these guys are not qualified
Why so serious??
Didnt stop to think all the soccer names listed are people taking the piss so others can get outraged and whinge...
Nothing wrong if they had Shane Long in for some games so as to help try bring in some english viewers as well.
How are they not qualified to be analysts?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/04/2014 16:06:06    1569395

Dara o Cinneide is fantastic on Seo Spoirt on TG4 , has the experience of the camera , blessed with acute analysis , whats more important is not who gets the gig but what they will bring to the gig , are we to brace ourselves for hype n dull analysis filled with backslapping jargon , or do we get honest opinion ? Time will tell .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 02/04/2014 16:17:30    1569401

Really looking forward to the Sky cameras and 'eye in the sky' getting a handle on off the ball incidents. If SKY get their hands on some GAA archive footage in years to come, they might even be able to discover who broke John Finn's jaw, and stuff like that. A sort of GAA Gold meets Cold Case.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4217 - 02/04/2014 16:23:02    1569406

jacktheDub

I have never been a huge fan of sky pundits but there is one thing they do, they all accentuate the positives and in general they are positive in there analysis.
I for one am sick off the negative analysis that comes from RTE. I hope this is the kick up the backside rte need to get there act together.
RTE have played lip service to the NFL in particular for years. There current highlights show of the Allianz leagues is nothing short of a disgrace.
I for one am looking forward to what SKY bring to the table

do you honestly think sky will bother with the league either
remeber the league runs when the soccer season is coming to a climax over there

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/04/2014 16:52:35    1569433

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

Why so serious??
Didnt stop to think all the soccer names listed are people taking the piss so others can get outraged and whinge...
Nothing wrong if they had Shane Long in for some games so as to help try bring in some english viewers as well.
How are they not qualified to be analysts?

because I for one care a lot about gaa
for you rugby is your area and you get ten times more protective of anything said about rugby so dont try have a go at me
everything wrong with shane long covering it
so now we have to not only settle for pleasing the irish abroad ahead of ourselves
but you want us to now please the english public ahead of ourselves by using a guy who choose to play soccer over gaa
hardly promotes the image of gaa as the biggest sport in ireland now does it?
there soccer people they left gaa before they were of age nearly
I for one would not want to listen to these guys be called so called experts on gaa when they havent been there and done it at that level

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/04/2014 16:57:57    1569438

I would like to see Kris Kamara play himself as sideline reporter.Couldnt be any worse than Billy Joe Padden.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/04/2014 17:17:54    1569458

Darragh O Se and Darragh Cinneide excellent analysts.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/04/2014 17:23:32    1569464

Ah lads, Shane Long like? People really have been milking him being a Tipp minor for way too long at this stage.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 02/04/2014 17:30:30    1569470

Agreed rebel,he doesnt seem comfortable in front of a camera anyway.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/04/2014 17:47:22    1569489

Brennan, Cusack, Duignan, O'Connor are the pick of the hurling pundits imo, and still have youth on their side. Our northern friends (McStay excepted) seem to have a monopoly when it comes to the most incisive football punditry, Tohill, Canavan, McGeeney, Clerkin, McHugh, Burns, the list goes on. Even Brolly was good, until he started to go overboard for dramatic effect in recent seasons.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4217 - 02/04/2014 18:03:36    1569504

Pope_Benedict

Brennan, Cusack, Duignan, O'Connor are the pick of the hurling pundits imo, and still have youth on their side. Our northern friends (McStay excepted) seem to have a monopoly when it comes to the most incisive football punditry, Tohill, Canavan, McGeeney, Clerkin, McHugh, Burns, the list goes on. Even Brolly was good, until he started to go overboard for dramatic effect in recent seasons.

oh dear god mcgeeney,clerkin,burns,mcstay and mchugh have to be among the worst
if I was to choose would go with
darragh o cinneide as presenter
senan connell,anthony tohill and graheme geragthy as the analysts

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/04/2014 18:20:58    1569519

Paul Galvin would be a near cert I would say, but you would want a few boys to frighten the shite out of the British and make them think were mad untamed warriors, Noel O'Leary, Liam Harnan, Brian Mullins, Kevin Foley and whoever that mad Louth substitute was that ran onto the field against Laois in '91 to beat all round him, there the boys who would rise a bit of craic

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 02/04/2014 18:36:33    1569529

My favourite hurling analysts are Eddie Brennan,Cyril Farrel,Michael Duignan and Ger Loughnane.Tom Dempsey is good on RTE Radio also.For the football i like Kevin Mcstay,Pat Spillane,Colm O Rourke and Brolly.Basically i rate all the senior RTE GAA analysts.Not a fan of Eamonn O Hara,Tomas Mulcahy,Daithi Regan,Jarlath Burns,Donol O Grady,Martin Carney or Marty Morrissey.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/04/2014 18:36:45    1569530

mick mc carthy and roy keane would be a good double act especially when cork meet waterford

hi_sir (Donegal) - Posts: 8 - 02/04/2014 18:55:33    1569539