Gooch injury?

Agree with Mk Sheehy that he's irreplaceable for Kerry.

I gave Kerry a right good chance to be back in AI final next September.

Think they'll struggle to get there now.

A ****** injury,I hope he makes full recovery.

JimmyCahill (Tipperary) - Posts: 11 - 18/02/2014 10:39:00    1547827

Terrible loss for the championship, it's always a pleasure to watch the Gooch play, all the best to him in his recovery.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/02/2014 10:40:13    1547831

How do the Kerry faithful rate their prospects for the championship now with Gooch out injured

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 18/02/2014 10:57:51    1547840

Pcworld when am I getting my apology? Do you still want me to have a look at your knee? Obviously I know my knee injuries when I see them.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/02/2014 11:35:20    1547855

Navy blue
I had tipped Dublin to win the allireland this year on a few threads and I'm even more sure ye'l win it now, I think we'll get to the Munster final where cork will beat us ,we don't win up there 2 often, then we'll go in to the last round of qualifiers and depending on who we draw I'd say we should get to a quarterfinal at least and then we would have to play a provincial winner which will be either mayo Dublin down, we can't play cork again till the semi , I'd fancy our chances against mayo or down but not Dublin, so depending in who we draw I'd say semifinal at best and quarterfinal at worst.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/02/2014 11:41:16    1547861

Yew tree
I'm sorry to hear that kind of nonsense going on, there is no way he meant to injure the gooch it was just a clumsy tackle he was trying to get down to his foot to block the ball, you would expect every1 of your players in an allireland semifinal to throw them self on everything , and I for 1 wish castlbar all the best for the final.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/02/2014 11:51:39    1547871

Desperate news for Gooch, Kerry & lovers of the game everywhere.

Watching the Gooch on a summer's day is a highlight of the championship summer & it's a shame we won't see him this year.

His loss added to that of Paul Galvin & Tomas O Se is a mortal blow. I would be of the school that would never write Kerry off, but it's hard to see them winning Sam now.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 18/02/2014 11:54:36    1547874

Terrible news; hope Gooch bounces back as the POTY in 2015.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 18/02/2014 11:57:09    1547876

A devastating blow to Kerry's chances and to the overall spectacle that the 2014 Championship promises to be. He had been lucky since he came on the scene in 2002 with regards to serious injuries but for this to happen when he is arguably at the peak of his powers is so disappointing.

It will be his first real break from football in 12 years and fingers crossed he can come back from this. He doesn't deserve for his football career to end this way.

Best Wishes Colm

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 18/02/2014 14:51:51    1547995

Best wishes to the lad for a good recovery.

Have to wonder what sort of set-up will he be coming back to. A year down the line you could be looking at Kerry also without Marc O'Se, Declan O'Sullivan, Aidan O'Mahony. Even more pressure on a player coming back from this injury at 30-odd years of age.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 524 - 18/02/2014 15:18:28    1548021

Gutted, really thought Kerry had an outside chance this year, but only with Gooch at the helm creating havoc in other teams defences. It's a shame that Kerry depend on one player to keep their championship hopes alive, but it also shows just how great a player he is! My whole outlook on Kerry's season has changed now. Hopefully the likes of the O'Sullivans can step up, the young lads can keep developing and they can give us something to cheer about this year! 2015, Cooper back, possibly Tommy Walsh back, younger players that bit more experienced, ya never know ;)

In regards to the cruciate injury, I read an article before by a very experienced physio. He dismissed the claims of sandy pitches and boots etc, and said that it was gym work that was more than likely causing these injuries. Too many players concentrate on building up muscle in the leg, but if it's not done perfect the leg is left imbalanced and some areas are stronger than others which can create strains on the ligaments etc. Any player I've known to suffer from the injury I've asked did they do leg work in the gym before the injury, and so far all of them have. I'm no expert (think I failed Biology in Junior Cert) but I've stayed away from gym work in my legs since I read this. Just work on uphill sprints and water jogging instead. I don't follow other sports as much as GAA, but it seems as awful lot more cruciates happen in GAA than other sports, and even more so in football than Hurling (it seems?). It really is something that needs more research.

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 18/02/2014 15:58:14    1548050

I can t see Kerry being any better than less say Kildare with out galvin,o shea,gooch could be a sort year for the kingdom but lets hope some new players step up

Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 18/02/2014 16:23:51    1548079

looks even worse than they said last week, also don't believe a word from that facebook, it has it's own agenda

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1251 - 19/02/2014 11:11:23    1548404

Jaysus he's been incredibly unlucky... a fractured knee on top of the ACL

Two operations... one holding up the other

He went most of his career injury free... looks very much like his luck ran out

Terrible injury.

All the best to the man

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/02/2014 11:28:30    1548413

JMK

In regards to the cruciate injury, I read an article before by a very experienced physio. He dismissed the claims of sandy pitches and boots etc, and said that it was gym work that was more than likely causing these injuries. Too many players concentrate on building up muscle in the leg, but if it's not done perfect the leg is left imbalanced and some areas are stronger than others which can create strains on the ligaments etc. Any player I've known to suffer from the injury I've asked did they do leg work in the gym before the injury, and so far all of them have. I'm no expert (think I failed Biology in Junior Cert) but I've stayed away from gym work in my legs since I read this. Just work on uphill sprints and water jogging instead. I don't follow other sports as much as GAA, but it seems as awful lot more cruciates happen in GAA than other sports, and even more so in football than Hurling (it seems?). It really is something that needs more research.

I would have to disagree with this - its too easy to throw the blame at gym work here. There isn't one intercounty player doing S+C work that isn't 100% tailored to their needs and supervised. To be fair, I wouldn't have thought Cooper would have done much anyway - that's no insult, it's just fairly obvious to look at him he wouldn't be lifting anything above 3/4 bodyweight in DL/Squat.

It's just bad luck I believe, I mean you can take the fish oil supplement and do your gym work (with perfect technique) but sometimes the body will just give way - why, most likely due to the nature of the game. A few years ago blades on boots were to blame for the problem - the human knee is simply not made to cope with some of the stresses that football brings. It's down to the luck of the draw - it's unfortunate but I really don't think you can blame the gym work for it - if anything it would strengthen the knee IMO - again, if supervised and done correct.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 19/02/2014 11:36:34    1548427

Irreplaceable loss, and last year we too were in a state of despondency when our best player Colm O'Neill did his cruciate (for a 3rd time) but Kerry could still rally. Players like Declan O'Sullivan and Killian Young haven't displayed what they are capable of in a while and this could shake them in to doing it , and if the likes of James O'Donoghue continues in the same vein as last year then Kerry are still in with a great shout for Munster ,at least, and who knows what could happen after that.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 19/02/2014 11:47:18    1548438

Navyblue: County Dublin: How do the Kerry faithful rate their prospects for the championship now with Gooch out injured.

I posted a similar post on our own page, look facts have to be faced by both us the fans, the Players and Management. I think it is an awful insult to the remaining panel members that the years is more or less a washout now, This injury is a blow, yes a massive blow, but it has happened in February not in June so at least Fitz has time on his hands, There are options for the 40, Declan was the man for the bones for a decade so he is the obvious option, Darran can go there, Sheehan or Moran are capable there are also possibilities panel wise which a few of us discussed on our own forum. The thee other thing is the expectation is not there now so a bit of the pressure is off to a degree, also all the main contenders we all know what they are about and the style of play they plan and measure are put in place to counteract this etc… we now have become dark horses, no one knows now what is in Fit'z head player or formation wise similiarly our style of play will have to be re-adapted again to suit the players… again something new that the opposition will not know about… even in the dark lean years we were never more that 7's at the bookies for the All Ireland. We jumped from 6/1 to 9/1 in one hour.. I threw on a score…why not.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 19/02/2014 12:48:15    1548488

Why not indeed Horsebox, there is definitely something to work with there. I was impressed with them in their last two games. But it can't be too comforting for the Kerry panel to be reading all the doomsday headlines, regarding a Cooperless Kerry, in the papers. Fitzmaurice has his work cut out!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 19/02/2014 15:45:32    1548636

ya your right, but he has to spin this to his favour somehow

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 19/02/2014 16:12:44    1548657

We will still give this campaign a good shout.
League will be used to see what players can be trusted in the championship, if that means we get relegated so be it.

If Declan Sullivan, Brian Sheehann , Sarren Sullivan can raise their games this year from last year we should dtill be able to give any team a good run for their money.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 19/02/2014 16:28:26    1548667