Great final in prospect. There won't be any more oul guff about Dublin playing frendlies on St Patrick's Day now!!! MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 15/02/2014 21:56:20 1546660 Link 0 |
Well done St Vincent's better team won but Ballinderry can count themselves unlucky that Duffy got the gig, fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 16/02/2014 14:59:32 1546846 Link 0 |
Indeed fortyfive Ballinderry were on the end of some baffling decisions but Ulster teams have got used to that by now. That isn't to say Vincent's didn't deserve their victory; they were a wee bit slicker and cut loose through the middle at times and they merited their win. When you look at the two clubs it's amazing a side like Ballinderry can compete at all with a team like St. Vincents. A very small rural club from about 200/300 families against a large metropolitan club with resources like Vincents. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9838 - 16/02/2014 20:09:03 1547040 Link 0 |
I agree about Ballinderry, the other clubs around the area are nowhere near them in terms of success even though they have the same size of area 4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 16/02/2014 20:22:28 1547054 Link 0 |
Clutching straws in fairness lads. MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13839 - 16/02/2014 20:23:51 1547057 Link 0 |
Best of luck to St Vincent's in today all Ireland club final. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/03/2014 12:45:26 1560801 Link 0 |
Ah get lost ref giving him a black card for that, no way and I'm up for Vincent's. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/03/2014 15:52:05 1560894 Link 0 |
It was a black card there is no doubt about that. It is very hard for Feeney after the way he has played this year but we give out about refs not doing there job and when he does it right we are critical. Can they ever win dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 17/03/2014 15:57:49 1560899 Link 0 |
clondalkindub Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 17/03/2014 16:07:20 1560903 Link 0 |
You dont know the rule so. Blatant black card. batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 17/03/2014 16:08:05 1560905 Link 0 |
I know the rules but give him a yellow for gods sake it just seemed very harsh so early in such a big game for him. If Vincent's took there goal chances they'd be out of sight. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/03/2014 16:18:37 1560912 Link 0 |
It's as clear a black card as you'll see, exactly what it was brought in for. I feel bad that hes missing out but he only has himself to blame. CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 17/03/2014 16:21:00 1560914 Link 0 |
It isn't really harsh as he knew what he was doing it was pure stupidity from an experienced player. I feel sorry for him but he was miles late and has nobody to blame. Midfield for Castlebar has destroyed Vincent's and the long ball into Moran is working but i think Vincent's have the better forwards and should win dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 17/03/2014 16:31:39 1560926 Link 0 |
Probably the best individual performance I've ever seen today from Diarmuid Connolly, about 2-5 himself and several other assists. Flawless performance. CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 17/03/2014 17:07:05 1560946 Link 0 |
Master class from Diarmuid Connolly, brilliant 2nd half from Vincent's, deserved AI champions, hard luck Castlebar! realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8818 - 17/03/2014 17:07:11 1560948 Link 0 |
Best footballer in the country, what a display. Vincents are a great team warrior (Mayo) - Posts: 98 - 17/03/2014 17:10:29 1560953 Link 0 |
Connolly is a superb footballer and was immense today, paricularly in the second half. The man gets alot of criticism at times, wrongly in my opinion. He plays on the edge but has the ability to go with it. Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 17/03/2014 17:10:37 1560954 Link 0 |
Dermot Connolly what a player awesome. Well done Vincent's on a well deserved victory and hard luck to Castlebar. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/03/2014 17:11:28 1560956 Link 0 |
Well done Vincents jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 17/03/2014 17:14:33 1560962 Link 0 |
Great game overall, and a superb display by Connolly. Interesting that there were 6 goals and 4 or 5 great saves in the football final, but no clear goal chance at all in the hurling final. Second year in a row that the club football final has overshadowed the hurling game in terms of skill and excitement. football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 17/03/2014 17:17:49 1560970 Link 0 |