This topic has been closed. No further posting is allowed.
Jackeen County: Dublin Posts: 2422
1531751 He felt intimidated??? He's a grown man who was big enough to make the accusation. The least he could do was follow through on the accusation and maybe then both teams would have closure instead of both sides thinking they know what really went on!
The person that allegedly bit him was supposedly a grown man too. Why wasn't he man enough to come forward and admit he was wrong?
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 14/01/2014 16:28:24
Maybe he wasn't wrong Sedico! But at least he showed up to clear his name. See where I'm going with this!!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/01/2014 16:51:32
Sedico Cant admit you are wrong if you didnt do anything in the 1st place... ;o)
Time to move on lads and lassies.... Worse things have happened on the field on play eg Spitting at an oponent. But this doesnt get anywhere near as much coverage...
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4448 - 14/01/2014 16:52:07
Because unfortunately it is the same in the course of law also, so many times it is widely known who committed the crime but sadly there is no evidence so it is better to let these things go. A general sad reflection on our society! I know of a Kildare Club who suspended a player for 3 months for biting an opponent, they should be commended for their quick response to such an incident. A rare occurence indeed.
Salmanneile (Longford) - Posts: 113 - 14/01/2014 17:04:33
We don't even know which player from which team is accused... To be honest,if you were playing and someone bit you,a good dig in the kidneys would be coming his way...
ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 14/01/2014 17:13:22
It seems thats not the done thing anymore ziggy. Go figure!!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/01/2014 17:23:05
@ Fionn
How is spitting worse than a bite? I think Evander Holyfield would have much preferred if his ear was spat at than bitten off!!
@ Ulsterman et al
Do Dublin really get that special treatment in terms of discipline?? Apart from these two biting cases where there seems to be no video or even picture evidence what else? (And for the record I don't know much about the McBrearty case) I remember Connolly got a red card rescinded before but how red cards haven't been rescinded?? I honestly think the whole the disciplinary system is inconsistent. I don't necessarily think they have favorite counties etc.
JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 14/01/2014 17:44:02
14/01/2014 16:28:24 sedico County: Kildare Posts: 1679
Jackeen County: Dublin Posts: 2422
1531751 He felt intimidated??? He's a grown man who was big enough to make the accusation. The least he could do was follow through on the accusation and maybe then both teams would have closure instead of both sides thinking they know what really went on!
The person that allegedly bit him was supposedly a grown man too. Why wasn't he man enough to come forward and admit he was wrong? 14/01/2014 16:51:32 Jackeen County: Dublin Posts: 2427
1531782 Maybe he wasn't wrong Sedico! But at least he showed up to clear his name. See where I'm going with this!! 14/01/2014 16:52:07 Fionn County: Dublin Posts: 624
1531785 Sedico Cant admit you are wrong if you didnt do anything in the 1st place... ;o)
Time to move on lads and lassies.... Worse things have happened on the field on play eg Spitting at an oponent. But this doesnt get anywhere near as much coverage... 14/01/2014 17:04:33 Salmanneile County: Longford Posts: 100
1531794 Because unfortunately it is the same in the course of law also, so many times it is widely known who committed the crime but sadly there is no evidence so it is better to let these things go. A general sad reflection on our society! I know of a Kildare Club who suspended a player for 3 months for biting an opponent, they should be commended for their quick response to such an incident. A rare occurence indeed. 14/01/2014 17:13:22 ziggy320001 County: Meath Posts: 23
1531804 We don't even know which player from which team is accused... To be honest,if you were playing and someone bit you,a good dig in the kidneys would be coming his way... 14/01/2014 17:23:05 Jackeen County: Dublin Posts: 2427
1531815 It seems thats not the done thing anymore ziggy. Go figure!! 14/01/2014 17:44:02 JMK County: Kerry Posts: 140
1531832 @ Fionn
How is spitting worse than a bite? I think Evander Holyfield would have much preferred if his ear was spat at than bitten off!!
@ Ulsterman et al
Do Dublin really get that special treatment in terms of discipline?? Apart from these two biting cases where there seems to be no video or even picture evidence what else? (And for the record I don't know much about the McBrearty case) I remember Connolly got a red card rescinded before but how red cards haven't been rescinded?? I honestly think the whole the disciplinary system is inconsistent. I don't necessarily think they have favorite counties etc.
-----
Correct JMK. In fact the opposite could be argued in the case of Dublin - Connolly's dismissal in an AI semi could have cost us an AI, James McCarthy's dismissal in Ballina in the league in 2012, Ger Brennan's sending off against Mayo last year for trying to kick the ball from underneath a player and so on. We have also seen unsavoury incidents in the past caught on camera but going unpunished, eye gouging on Gooch for example. It's swings and roundabouts but I do think that these things must be brought to the attention of the referee on the field of play to at least give him time to consult with other officials and deal with it there and then. No point in running to him afterwards when there were no cameras present.
Incidentally there were about 10-12 players involved in the handbags on Sunday and anything could have happened in that pack, and probably did.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 14/01/2014 18:50:39
I think it would be better to lock these threads, we are not talking about the game and go round and round in circles (spitting and biting threads that is). As topical as it is, unless there is anything constructive that we can post about incidents, or alleged incidents, it does nothing to favor the situation and gives our game a very bad press.
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 14/01/2014 19:00:04
Donegalman County: All Posts: 1056
1531890 I think it would be better to lock these threads, we are not talking about the game and go round and round in circles (spitting and biting threads that is). As topical as it is, unless there is anything constructive that we can post about incidents, or alleged incidents, it does nothing to favor the situation and gives our game a very bad press.
-----
Look up the definition of forum for starters.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 14/01/2014 19:29:53
Muckrosshead.....
Don't get you!? As I said about last years incident, if someone had bitten me I wouldn't be waiting until later on in the game to tell the ref. Ivanovic for Chelsea last year......straight away went to the ref. Both bite accusations the players waited until later in both games. Does that seem like natural behaviour!? So to be honest until we see hard evidence we better start jumping the gun.
As Jackeen was saying, last year McBrearty chose not to attend the hearing. The Dublin player turned up to defend his good name. The Dublin side kept quiet, said nothing and waited for a hearing.
This accusation in the DCU game is no more than an accusation. Dublin will keep quiet and wait until there are charges brought, and then deal with it. And if they have a case to answer,they will be dealt with. But so far, there is a distinct lack of evidence. So we will have to wait and see.
But trial by hoganstand!? Have you learned nothing from last year? Dublin player was cleared. And has his name dragged through the mud. Saying it must have happened because a player said so? Imagine a discipline procedure based on that concept....... "Ref he punched me........WHO, WAS IT HIM, NUMBER 18........ Yeah ref........YOU ARE OFF PAL, NO PUNCHING!!!!"
So just let the GAA discipline procedure take it's course, that's all that can happen.
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 14/01/2014 19:45:36
So in that case you are saying that the person bitten is lying just because he dropped the case? Did he get injections last year, a doctor willing to state it was a bite and photo's to prove it for nothing? He decided to drop it because he didnt want the hassle and his close connections to Dublin. This year the player's Uni will not take it further either because of the close connections with Dublin , dublin train on DCU'S grounds and some of the coaches are involved with the Uni and the Dublin senior panel presently so before it goes to trial it's over. Nothing will happen so best for all to forget it!
End of story no need for replies!
letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 15/01/2014 10:39:15
letterkennyGuy County: Donegal Posts: 22
1532035 So in that case you are saying that the person bitten is lying just because he dropped the case? Did he get injections last year, a doctor willing to state it was a bite and photo's to prove it for nothing? He decided to drop it because he didnt want the hassle and his close connections to Dublin. This year the player's Uni will not take it further either because of the close connections with Dublin , dublin train on DCU'S grounds and some of the coaches are involved with the Uni and the Dublin senior panel presently so before it goes to trial it's over. Nothing will happen so best for all to forget it!
End of story no need for replies!
-------- Why raise it in the first place then and have a player, who is potentially innocent, have his named smeared? Makes no sense to me. Deal with it on the pitch.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 15/01/2014 16:21:15
this thread is going to go nowhere
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 15/01/2014 17:22:33
15/01/2014 17:22:33 Donegalman County: All Posts: 1057
1532311 this thread is going to go nowhere
Ageed , Knew exactly what was going to happen moment I saw the Monday headline , most posters could have pasted and copied there opinions from last summer , as I doubt many have changed since last allegation , unless some have had a road to Damascus moment .
Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/01/2014 19:00:06
The DCU player who was allegedly bit was right to report it. However, the powers that be at DCU will make sure that he does not go any further with it due to their close connections with the Dubs. Therefore all Liam O Neill's statements about not making allegations if you are not prepared to follow them through are only political. He knows there will be no follow through in this particular instance.........case closed.
kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 350 - 16/01/2014 17:17:00
kingofclubs County: Meath Posts: 165
Don't be biting those students next w'end :D
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 16/01/2014 17:43:30
I hope this clears it up if McBrearty was Bitten or not last year!
From the horses mouth here lads who said he wasnt bitten...
http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/sport/gaelic-games/duffy-donegal-and-dublin-damaged-the-association-s-reputation-1-5822962
letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 21/01/2014 15:45:34
I dont think hewas bitten i think he fell and landed on Jack O'Sheas false teeth Remember them from the ad vicious looking yokes....
Thats why Jacko was so dismissive of Ciaran Kilkenny you see....he was all over the place after losing his teeth and mixed young Kilkenny up with Mark McHugh .....which explains his bizarre comments really....
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/01/2014 16:09:53
I think Duffy's revelation now leaves the GAA far more damaged and many within the GAA and Dublin with egg on their faces. Duffy has confirmed that there was a bite on the Donegal palyer, the mark was severe but because no one owned up to it the guilty party got off!! Why did the GAA not clear the doubts up last year when many, particularly in the Dublin camp and fanbase, buried their heads and denied a bite ever happened? I think this is shocking. Young McBrearty and Donegal have had to unfairly carry a lot of this about over the past year when in effect they NEVER did anything wrong. It just adds fuel to the theory that Dublin are a special case and can get way with anything.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9823 - 21/01/2014 16:23:08