Grimley: Black card 'makes a cod of our game'

redhanddefender

1528158 Soma, i presume you don't go to watch much gaelic.

Rory kavanagh came in late on tiernan mc cann after he kicked the ball, cynical, yes, as are all deliberate frees - black card

Mickey Murphy came in late punched shay mc guigan as he passed the ball, cynical, yellow card!

There will be piles of confusion

People are getting caught up in semantic's in terms of the meaning of the word cynical. The term cynical in relation to the so called cynical foul in gaelic football is defined exactly as how the GAA released it during the week, not any other way! Will it have problems...Yes. It make take a season or two to finally clean such aspects of play that have argually blighted our game in recent years. But if referees manage to achieve some sort of consistency it should pass ok. I can see teething problems with body check fouls etc, but there won't be any problems with calling rugby style fouls as they are as clear as day.

I didn't see the match that the above post related to but in any persons language if Murphy 'punched' McGuigan he should of been given a straight red card not a black. The ref made an error here if this indeed did happen.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 06/01/2014 20:20:13    1528358

2 Carlow players black carded yesterday. I think people present understood why they were carded. Both took their medicine and the game went on... Lets give it a chance.... Good to hear the vast majority of managers were happy with it yesterday.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1870 - 06/01/2014 21:29:17    1528380

happy because the games are meaningless wait for serious stuff leauges championship clubs etc.

thebadbounce (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 07/01/2014 09:21:27    1528408

royaldunne

1528229 Not one issued in dit Meath game. It will affect the negative teams most.

Ye didn't fare too well against Cavan the week before. Ye must be working on your negativity.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 07/01/2014 10:40:40    1528440

Agree wholeheartedly with some of the sentiment above re the whole thing becoming farcical when inconsistency reigns supreme. 1 black card in Donegal v Tyrone could have been 3 or 4 with another referee and this type of inconsistency I believe will be deemed unacceptable come Championship time. The biggest issue however is that the National League is probably not high enough profile to highlight the flaws and this poorly thought out, vague concept will end up having an adverse affect on the summers championship.

DLGael (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 07/01/2014 11:28:15    1528453

This rule does not make sense!!Too much pressure on the referees to decide whether it is cynical or not!They will be guessing most of the time.I guarantee the Sunday Game will be filled with half time video highlights showing tackles and the lads debating whether it is a black card or a yellow card.Absolute waste of time.I would tell the refs to be less interested in trying to please everybody and make the right decisions.Tough job-No doubt about it.

Jagerbombs (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 07/01/2014 13:38:53    1528518

The GAA top brass need to make it very clear to referees that a consistant approach must be taken on the black card. Once they do that, they need to sit all referees down and make it clear to them again!!.
The rule must be explained clearly, and re-explained over and over again. We should have a single Instance this summer of a team losing a game due to a key player getting black carded at a vital stage of the contest.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 07/01/2014 17:22:20    1528657

Grimley is correct. The black card was brought in because of a campaign of hysteria by GAA and media elements who need to justify their existence and role. The disciplinary code has now been totally set by these people and the Association has lost all sense of independence. The GAA reacts on a Monday morning to what the Sunday Game pundits and certain 'sports' journalists have said the previous day and it's become pathetic. I have lost a lot of respect and have to say interest in the game over the past year because it has become controlled by sources outside the Association. You only have to look at the grey areas over the black card and the problems it will bring. RTE Sport on Sunday evening highlighted TWO tackles by Dublin players in the Westmeath game that could have been construed as deliberate and cynical and deserving of black cards BUT the referee issued yellows instead. Refs will come under massive pressure in front of big Croke Park crowds and I believe the usual teams like Dublin and Kerry will benefit from this. I can see officials trying to make examples of Ulster sides in the National League and Championship by giving out many of them; it always seems far easier and more convenient to punish Ulster sides and players. Let's not kid ourselves; many Ulster Gaels believe this is the very reason it was brought in.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 07/01/2014 18:08:05    1528675

Ulsterman

Grimley is correct. The black card was brought in because of a campaign of hysteria by GAA and media elements who need to justify their existence and role. The disciplinary code has now been totally set by these people and the Association has lost all sense of independence. The GAA reacts on a Monday morning to what the Sunday Game pundits and certain 'sports' journalists have said the previous day and it's become pathetic. I have lost a lot of respect and have to say interest in the game over the past year because it has become controlled by sources outside the Association. You only have to look at the grey areas over the black card and the problems it will bring. RTE Sport on Sunday evening highlighted TWO tackles by Dublin players in the Westmeath game that could have been construed as deliberate and cynical and deserving of black cards BUT the referee issued yellows instead. Refs will come under massive pressure in front of big Croke Park crowds and I believe the usual teams like Dublin and Kerry will benefit from this. I can see officials trying to make examples of Ulster sides in the National League and Championship by giving out many of them; it always seems far easier and more convenient to punish Ulster sides and players. Let's not kid ourselves; many Ulster Gaels believe this is the very reason it was brought in.

Incorrect, the FRC recommendations were directed by public consultation. So called cynical fouling was high up on the list that the public felt needed addressed and it was taken from there. It was not directed by the sinister southern biased media as you like to proclaim.

The measures will need time to bed in, the pre-season cups are a good testing ground. We we only know if measures are a success when some individual who has time on their hands compiles the stats from last year and beyond and compares them to this year.

Its not surprising that people who are against the law sought to pick the most contentious of the proposals as the means of their argument!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 07/01/2014 19:00:33    1528699

07/01/2014 18:08:05 Ulsterman
HaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHa
No hysteria by media. Changes were needed. Who else would set disciplinary code other than those delegated to?
GAA reacts to what occurs on a Sunday regardless of what the pundits or journalists have said.
Nothing is being controlled by sources outside the Association unless you think you are paranoid.
This is not an Anti Ulster move and to think so is rediculous

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 07/01/2014 19:07:08    1528706

felt last night match was not reffed great or the rules where a bit weird to be honest.
paddy keenan for louth threw out a punch and landed it and was only given a yellow,have they change that rule where as darren nelson committed simple enough late tackle and recieved black card and had to go off.
seems strange that you stay on for lashing out ahead of a late tackle.
plus the ref was still showing the book as in a ticking so found it very hard to know if he was showing black card or what as just had to keep looking to see if the player was heading for the side line.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/01/2014 13:12:13    1529425

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

bluedub0
Dublin
09/01/2014
14:30

Black Card

Attended the Dublin V Louth match last night and came away very confused although probably not as much as the match officals.

This is not a post about the teams so no banter on this issue. At the end of the first half there was a tussle in the middle of the pitch involving a player of both teams. A louth player raised his hand into a Dublin players face. The ref decided to blow for halftime. In the second half a Dublin player shoved a Louth player and the lineman called the ref and it resulted in a black card.

I have to admit that after this both myself and most of the two sets of supporters were shouting for cards for almost every tackle and contact, and it is safe to say the players did look slightly confused and did ere on the side of caution, Confusion then occurred on the line.

Play started again while the Dublin player stayed on the pitch until his replacement got ready. At no point did the linesman come to the Dublin line or call the ref to allow a change, Dublin then made the change and only then did the linesman run up to Dublin line, I don't think the ref was made aware of the change. It makes me wonder how at juvenile and club level how will these new rules be applied. Confusion for both refs and supporters. Thankyou.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 09/01/2014 14:36:52    1529494

agreed you also forgot to mention paddy keenan throwing a dig and only recieving yellow does that not count as black or red?
seems yellow is now the punishment line runs as yellow least then black then red.
the confusion for me was the fact that a tick still occurs before you get a yellow.
and the refs way of showing this tick(or player being noted) is the exact same way as showing the player a black card.
both instances he brandishes the book towards the player so how are you ment to know if its a black card or just a ticking?
I pressume this is why darren nelson stayed on for a minute or so.
but surely the ref should make sure he is off the pitch before restarting the play.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/01/2014 16:47:15    1529598

I will predict now that we are in for a season of anger, frustration and confusion amongst players, managers and fans alike. The only winners will be the loud mouth media pundits and journalists who love controversy and thrive on dissention within the GAA. They will stand on the sidelines chortling their heads off and filling their columns and airtime on the fall out. The GAA has shamefully capitulated to these elements and lost credibility as an independent organisation. They have allowed the Association, especially the disciplinary code, to be formulated by outside opinion and hysteria and the GAA has basically surrendered to this element. The game will become a non contact basketball hybrid with players afraid to physically challenge anyone. The game will suffer and eventually people will get bored and disinterested.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 09/01/2014 19:56:31    1529771

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/orourke-slams-bear-hugging-dubs-254911.html

haha I must have been at a differant match to him.
I notice while whinging he never mentioned paddy keenan throwing a punch,must have slipped his mind haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/01/2014 12:03:37    1529939

I've tried starting a thread on AOR's comments but wet again it seems when I'm anyway crticial of Dublin the moderator refuses to allow it through.

So I take it that the Dublin player did not bear hug one of the louth players?

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 10/01/2014 12:11:07    1529944

Hill you never mentioned the bear-hugging either so I'd hop off the high horse if I was you.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 10/01/2014 12:14:39    1529948

At least I hope I never witness the cynical fouling I seen towards the end of the Mayo v dublin game of 2012 , the London v Leitrim replay last year and the last few minutes of the all-ireland final 2013. it was nothing short of disgraceful. compared to Sean cavanagh's tackle these were all part of a game-plan as opposed to a spur-of-the-moment act of desperation.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 10/01/2014 12:20:47    1529955

Breffni39

Hill you never mentioned the bear-hugging either so I'd hop off the high horse if I was you.

because there was none !!!
jence why I said I must have been at a differant match to him
read my post again before having a go

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/01/2014 16:42:39    1530139