The Nash free , should it stay or go ?

Ha ha! Your dead right hill, who thinks of this *****?! Even the lads who do be giving the courses do be sheepish about it. A whole morning on how to lift a box! If we were that thick we would've stArved to death years ago

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 17/12/2013 17:47:28    1524644

17/12/2013 17:07:52
Dubfan Abroad

In football I believe you can back up and take 3-4 steps to the point the free was given from but you cannot pass that point and kick it. Why should Nash's free taking be any different? He is striking the ball 10 yards past the infraction point where the free was intended to be taken. It is utilizing a loophole in the rules which can be resolved by simply saying the ball must be struck no closer to the goal than where the infraction took place. I don't think it is a skill, I think it is a trick shot designed to cheat.
Plain and simple. By that contention if a footballer was able to chip the ball into the air ten yards closer to the goal and run in and strike it and score a goal before anyone else got to it, the goal should stand. Highly unlikely to happen but is there a rule that specifically prohibits that?
What other field sport in the world where a ball is used and frees given allows someone to strike that free either with foot or stick 10 yards closer than where the free happened? Answer: None!

Back up Tonto , firstly your bang out of order by saying designed to cheat , the reason discussion is taking place on this forum in the first place is that there are plans to have his type of free outlawed, it currently most definetly is not as he lifts and strikes as per laws , not for the first time in sport someone has brought something new to the game that original law makers perhaps did not concieve , there are those if youd read other posters saying the great Christy Ring was capabale of same feat and did on occasion , regarding comparing it to a footballer and volley you might as well have compared it to a golfer doing a happy gilmore , pointless , and no relevance .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/12/2013 19:09:31    1524686

Allright Damo or should I say Kemosabi,
This is a forum where we are "supposedly" allowed our opinion. It is my opinion that it is to cheat. Plain and simple in "my opinion" the ball should be struck from the point where the infraction took place. Nash knows this but choses to dress it up, in "my opinion" just because it didn't occur to the writers of the rule book doesn't make if right.
By the way, Happy Gilmore ran at the ball from behind where it was teed up, not moving the ball forward before hitting it! If Nash wants to start 10 yards back place the sliothar on the ground and strike it at a point no closer to the goal than where the infraction happened, then I am good with that in "my HUMBLE opinion"
Quit dressing it up as skill and call it what it really is.

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 17/12/2013 20:08:52    1524717

othedub

17/12/2013 15:20:55
hill16no1man

damothedub

injurys as you say its not clear at all I agree with you
but fairness is the problem most would have with it.
if the free or penalty is supposed to be awarded from the 21 yard line then once he moves the ball forward moving in with it the defending players should be allowed move out towards him too thats the only fair way of keeping it allowed

Hill if people are against out of an idea that its an unfair advantage , that ok with me. , while Id be more inclined to go with giving the advantage to Nash , but its those posting from a health issue I have issue with as they have no evidence to back it up .also might add that Ive heard nothing from current players, opponents , coaches giving out about this , and as we know hurling players aint short of an opinion .

well from a health issue I dont actualy see any differance if anything it could be worse from 21 yards then 14 or 15 yards as at 21 yards the sliotar has more time to gather speed after being hit

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/12/2013 20:31:04    1524726

Dubfan Abroad - If it's within the rules, how can it be cheating?

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 644 - 17/12/2013 21:28:26    1524749

OK then, below is the rules regarding free taking. I think most right thinking people would interpid "the penalty puck shall be taken" as meaning that is where the ball shall be struck from. It does not say "the penalty LIFT" then puck it from where you want. Again, stop dressing it up as "cute hoorism" and call it what it is. If he was from Dublin I would say the same thing.

In the case of fouls by defending players
within the rectangles, the following shall apply:
A penalty puck shall be awarded for an
Aggressive Foul within the large rectangle.
The penalty puck shall be taken from the
centre point of the 20m line. A free puck
from the centre of the 20m line shall be
awarded for a Technical Foul within the
large rectangle.
(ii) A free puck, awarded for a foul by a
defending player inside his own 20m line
but outside the large rectangle, shall be
taken from the 20m line opposite where the
foul occurred.
(iii) When a player is fouled immediately after
he plays the ball away, and a score results,
it shall stand. Otherwise, the referee shall
award a free-puck from where the foul
occurred or, if more advantageous, from
where the ball lands or crosses the sideline

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 17/12/2013 21:50:02    1524756

Dubfan Abroad

I dont like to see the word cheating included - exploitation of the rules is something all GAA players will do if there's a gain for their team

.. but I do think you're hitting the nail on the head with this one regarding the free-taking and thats more than enough to implement change.

The person I feel most sorry for when reading posts on a forum like this is the referee. People see the game in such different ways, the rules can be so gray - how can the man in the middle ever please everyone?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1468 - 18/12/2013 10:27:36    1524800

A free puck includes the lift, doesn't say anything about lift and strike being seperate components of the free. Everyone lifts it forward a bit when they rise it for a poc saor, so they can step into it and give it a good belt.

So do we agree that Nash isn't actually breaking any existing rule?

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 18/12/2013 11:02:55    1524813

18/12/2013 11:02:55
Suas Sios

A free puck includes the lift, doesn't say anything about lift and strike being seperate components of the free. Everyone lifts it forward a bit when they rise it for a poc saor, so they can step into it and give it a good belt.

So do we agree that Nash isn't actually breaking any existing rule?

No he's not , he's taken advantage of current rules and FairPlay to him , if he was breaking the rules there would be no need for a motion to be raised , as all you would need to do is instruct ref,s to enforce rule he's breaking , obviously if you've read thread theres those that don't Like what he does , but thats another matter

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/12/2013 14:50:22    1524933

suas sios

well hes not lifting and striking in one motion like the rule is ment as if your being honest
he is lifting and pushing it a couple of yards forward then striking .
so its a double movement unlike a lift and strike.
no rule against as it stands I agree with you there though.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/12/2013 14:57:19    1524937

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4Fwq2l1Gvc

Well as I said before I hope they don't change the rules just to prohibit a unique bit of skill. How is the decision made in the end? Does each county put it to a vote or something?

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 18/12/2013 19:39:33    1525086

Its a great skill and seriously hard to execute and fair play to Nash for having the foresight to take advantage. But unfortunately that isn't really the point! The point is whether he is gaining an unfair advantage in executing a play in a way that was not foreseen by the rule in question. I believe it is unfair and it warrants a change. If the rule states players must hold their position then its reasonable to expect the striker hits the free from the intended area.

Perhaps defenders could move once the ball is lifted but it would be easier just to eliminate Nash style frees and penalties!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 18/12/2013 20:07:47    1525095

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FAlMNg2JN7c

I have to say I love it. Beating 11 men on the line! I can see both sides of the argument of course, he really gets close before the strike. Time will tell I suppose, if hurling people make their voices heard on the matter and it can be settled before the 2014 Championship begins.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 18/12/2013 21:00:26    1525121