Again...
Leinster winning things = good.
Dublin winning things = Very good
Dublin GAA will never be under threat from rugby
As Bad Monkey pointed out
Why would you send your kids to play that sport... he's spot on.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 17/12/2013 17:27:29
Hmmmm, just as I suspected.....
flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1055 - 17/12/2013 17:42:53
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 11572
Again...
Leinster winning things = good.
Dublin winning things = Very good
Dublin GAA will never be under threat from rugby
As Bad Monkey pointed out
Why would you send your kids to play that sport... he's spot on.
I never had you pegged as a middle class mummy Jimbo! Worried your precious little bundle might get hurt.. Physical sports are good for young lads, a good outlet for them.
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 17/12/2013 18:39:16
ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 6444
The GAA division i live in has 3 rugby clubs that i know of (one senior) and must have four or five times amount of GAA clubs. The point i was making was that the city is where all young lads play(the good ones go to private colleges) . There is no schools rugby at all and the youth teams are by far the worst in Cork.
RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 17/12/2013 18:42:39
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 5049
1524459 tell you what Tinyman, go stand on the Hill in June and tell me again how its mainly middle class areas :)
But what about the other 75,000 people in the ground :)
The two Dublin midfielders - Cian O'Sullivan and Michael Darragh McCauley are both former Blackrock College boys , salt of the earth right..
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 17/12/2013 18:48:38
Great debate here lads, really enjoy reading it as these kinds of things are of real interest to be. Love sports and statistics! Unfortunately work is now out of bounds for posting on here so I have to wait until I get home and by then it's too late too contribute :(
Just on a side note, Ormo can we just stick to the topic please or else don't post at all. Ormo is your nickname on here. I'd be grand with it if I'd your name and feel free to come up with one for me and the rest of the lads/lassies. If it's half decent it might even catch on, you never know :)
Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 17/12/2013 19:50:20
17/12/2013 16:02:45 if_in_doubt County: Kildare Posts: 2510
Sure only the upper and middle classes use hair gel. And I suppose being clean shaven might make them more aerodynamic or something, another unfair advantage the Dubs have. Surely all the grooming products should be put in one big pot and shared out with the rest of the country.
hahaha love it
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/12/2013 20:35:16
If in doubt
You got me thinking about Dublin footballers hair now. I'm wondering do they have to audition for places on the squad. Best coiffured (not sure if that's a word) team in the country I bet. Not one of them folically challenged unless self inflicted. Should have an award at end of year for each position. Plenty of gel in Kildare as well. Young Bolton has enough for whole team. Saw him other day in Naas. Fine head of hair on him. Anyways beats waffling about class structures in Dublin and rugger, roight!
A69
Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 17/12/2013 21:12:48
ad.monkey County: USA Posts: 3643
1524677 Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 5049
1524459 tell you what Tinyman, go stand on the Hill in June and tell me again how its mainly middle class areas :)
But what about the other 75,000 people in the ground :)
The two Dublin midfielders - Cian O'Sullivan and Michael Darragh McCauley are both former Blackrock College boys , salt of the earth right..
All that matters is they are playing for the Dubs, everything else is irrelevant. So a school you attend defines you as salt of the earth or not, interesting.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 17/12/2013 21:27:23
Aido there's a reason Sean Murray of Brigid's hasn't earned a starting spot for the seniors alright.
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 17/12/2013 21:38:05
Agreed
Not a good look on a lad at all.
Jaysus, roll on January. Reduced to this, or rugger
Have to leave the plonk alone now. Work tmw.
A6+9
Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 17/12/2013 21:52:18
First of all "Leinster" is just another sports brand, like "Man U", Coca Cola etc. It attracts "sports" fans who have never participated in the sport, I am sure the Dublin Football team has t fair share of these types as well. Rugby tends to still be clustered around certain schools be they on the Northside or the southside. More people might be watching say Leinster on TV, even sporting a jersey. But it would be an almighty stretch of the imagination to say there was now a big take up of the sport on the Northside of Dublin. There isn't, for as long as the game remains associated with certain schools it will never ever catch on. There are too few clubs who are not terribly interested in kids who don't play it in school. Its a catch 22, if ordinary schools start to play it the game might have a hope and Tag Rugby (like Rounders) doesn't count. I'm sure the existing clubs have swollen numbers but thats not the same as a broad geographic spread. So Leinster and Rugby might have a brand worth selling, but they just don't have the infrastructure in parts of the City to accomodate the game. With too few clubs and too few schools, (call them postcodes if wish), but thats the harsh reality. The interest might be there but the means is not.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 18/12/2013 09:08:33
Whatever the reasons Bad Monkey
Kids will be sent to play Gaelic games in much greater numbers in Dublin
You'll always have the areas in Dublin which chose Rugby
Generally wealthy coastal towns
Rugby is a tough sport no doubt but you have an element of toughness in Hurling/Football but with much more of an emphasis on skill
At club level as you know yourself... GAA is tough.
That's a better balance IMO but again Rugby is a fine sport but it's more about how hard you can run into people
So if they want...I'll be happy to see my son follow in the footsteps of his grandfather and uncles
If he chooses to play rugby which he just might...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/12/2013 10:06:25
Spot on there with all of that jimbo, one thing rugby does provide is a sport for all shapes and sizes. GAA is great for naturally athletic kids and it tends to be these kids who stick with it. Rugby has a position for everyone from short fat kids in front row, the bean poles in the second and the skinny fast kids on the wing.
Nothing soft about GAA at club level alright, feeling more like Roger Murtaugh every week...
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 18/12/2013 11:20:41
17/12/2013 19:50:20 Jack_Goff Great debate here lads, really enjoy reading it as these kinds of things are of real interest to be. Love sports and statistics! Unfortunately work is now out of bounds for posting on here so I have to wait until I get home and by then it's too late too contribute :( Just on a side note, Ormo can we just stick to the topic please or else don't post at all. Ormo is your nickname on here. I'd be grand with it if I'd your name and feel free to come up with one for me and the rest of the lads/lassies. If it's half decent it might even catch on, you never know :) It isn't. Its what trolls use to call me. Ormond is what my nickname is ormondbannerman is my full name. And I have been sticking to the topic. 18/12/2013 09:08:33 arock First of all "Leinster" is just another sports brand, like "Man U", Coca Cola etc. It attracts "sports" fans who have never participated in the sport, I am sure the Dublin Football team has t fair share of these types as well. Rugby tends to still be clustered around certain schools be they on the Northside or the southside. More people might be watching say Leinster on TV, even sporting a jersey. But it would be an almighty stretch of the imagination to say there was now a big take up of the sport on the Northside of Dublin. There isn't, for as long as the game remains associated with certain schools it will never ever catch on. There are too few clubs who are not terribly interested in kids who don't play it in school. Its a catch 22, if ordinary schools start to play it the game might have a hope and Tag Rugby (like Rounders) doesn't count. I'm sure the existing clubs have swollen numbers but thats not the same as a broad geographic spread. So Leinster and Rugby might have a brand worth selling, but they just don't have the infrastructure in parts of the City to accomodate the game. With too few clubs and too few schools, (call them postcodes if wish), but thats the harsh reality. The interest might be there but the means is not. Leinster is not "just another sports brand". Leinster Branch of IRFU was founded in 1879 and Leinster have been playing officially since. Tag rugby does count as it helps teach many fundamentals of the sport much easier, without all the contact stuff, 18/12/2013 10:06:25 jimbodub Whatever the reasons Bad Monkey Kids will be sent to play Gaelic games in much greater numbers in Dublin You'll always have the areas in Dublin which chose Rugby Generally wealthy coastal towns Rugby is a tough sport no doubt but you have an element of toughness in Hurling/Football but with much more of an emphasis on skill At club level as you know yourself... GAA is tough. That's a better balance IMO but again Rugby is a fine sport but it's more about how hard you can run into people So if they want...I'll be happy to see my son follow in the footsteps of his grandfather and uncles If he chooses to play rugby which he just might...Jimbodub you haven't a clue if you thinks rugby is more about how hard you can run into people. The key to rugby is avoiding getting tackled and space so you haven't a notion. There is a huge emphasis on skill in rugby. Even more so in recent years with even more new Zealanders coaching at the highest levels.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/12/2013 12:13:21
ormondbannerman County: Clare
If he chooses to play rugby which he just might...Jimbodub you haven't a clue if you thinks rugby is more about how hard you can run into people. The key to rugby is avoiding getting tackled and space so you haven't a notion. There is a huge emphasis on skill in rugby. Even more so in recent years with even more new Zealanders coaching at the highest levels.
------ Oh Lord! So the key to rugby is avoiding tackles and this requires great skill. As kids we played tip chasing, same as rugby except without the oval thing, and this also required 'great skill' to avoid being 'tackled' yet as kids we didn't regard ourselves as having huge emphasis on skill. Rugby is a very simple game made complicated by the constant reworking of convoluted rules to try to make a game of glorified tip chasing more exciting for the viewers. Of the 4 or 5 field sports that I have played in my day I would rank it second from last in terms of skill with hurling requiring most skill.. Hurling Soccer Gaelic Football Rugby American Football
You can achieve a lot in rugby by being big and having a half decent pair of hands. That's it really.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 18/12/2013 16:48:51
It depends what you class as skill but their no way American football is the least skillful game there.
RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 18/12/2013 17:01:31
RebelCork County: Cork Posts: 229
1524997 It depends what you class as skill but their no way American football is the least skillful game there. ------- Played it a bit in Canada many years ago. Apart from the quarterback's job, pinpoint accuracy with his throws, there is not much skill required. Natural athleticism like most others sports, yes, but skill obtained from many, many hours of practice, no. I do agree though that definition of skill is key.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 18/12/2013 17:11:10
"Leinster is not "just another sports brand". Leinster Branch of IRFU was founded in 1879 and Leinster have been playing officially since." What a strange statement what has that got to do with anything? Certainly not the the multi million pound Leinster sports brand? The current Leinster "profile", that is the one on TV is the only meaningful profile on the Northside of Dublin, it is a brand, like Man U et all, means absolutely nothing on the ground.
My point is, there is NO infrastructure for Rugby on the Northside of the city, too few clubs and too few schools. Its going nowhere unless it breaks into mainstream post primary but thats not going to happen. So despite its winning Brand unfortunately its just attracting the armchair brigade like Man U. Unless the IRFU spends some serious money its not going to happen on this side of the Liffey.
But kids playing sport (even Tag Rugby), is a good thing.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 18/12/2013 17:17:01
Joxer I fear for ya here if you are going to discuss the level of skill involved in rugby with Ormond. I attempted this in the rugby world cup thread but by the time he got to the idea that its not at all a game mainly about physical strength, but that spending most of your life being a shot-putter is great preparation for the sport, he had managed to suck the life out of me. And Rebel, you can debate whether the skill in American football is more or less than rugby but surely you wouldnt put it near the other 3? The lads in the line of scrimmage are performing glorified sumo wrestling! They are very fast, and very strong, but that is not a skill. The quarterback has a great skill, and wide receivers moderate skill, but the rest of them have very little other than athleticism.
Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 18/12/2013 17:19:33