Damothedub, Im not too sure about that. Surely the guage of participation is, by definition, the county team? e.g. The more football is played in an area, the more players will make the county team? In the same fashion connacht rugby for example would indicate that most players come from galway and not mayo reflects directly, how the sports are treated within each county... It is the same with soccer for that matter also... I dont see how it could be different here
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 17/12/2013 14:28:53
Bad monkey
GAA very popular in the middle classes alright but also quite strong amongst the working class areas, particularly in terms of support during the summer. Really it just shows the GAA's penetration across all divides within the city and county. Strong enough in the working class, strongest of all in the middle classes with work to do in the upper classes.
The middle class is the biggest in Dublin so to be the sport of choice there is excellent for the GAA. Decent showing in working class areas but still behind soccer. Work to do with the elitists though.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 17/12/2013 14:32:07
GAA very popular in the middle classes alright but also quite strong amongst the working class areas, particularly in terms of support during the summer.
Isnt that just a nice way of saying badmonkey is right, but with the frankly non-related, side-point that the rest jump on the bandwagon when the time comes? Nobody is saying they dont... The point is about the actual team.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 17/12/2013 14:40:40
Well done master, you've found yourself a friend! I think yiz are reading too much Irish Times
flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1055 - 17/12/2013 14:41:00
The makeup of the Dublin team changes always, the 70s team were fairly posh, the 80/90s team the opposite, this one is a bit posh, that will change again
flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1055 - 17/12/2013 14:43:40
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 9814
Damothedub, Im not too sure about that. Surely the guage of participation is, by definition, the county team? e.g. The more football is played in an area, the more players will make the county team? In the same fashion connacht rugby for example would indicate that most players come from galway and not mayo reflects directly, how the sports are treated within each county... It is the same with soccer for that matter also... I dont see how it could be different here
Resources and funds also play a huge part in county participation , clubs well represented at senior level tend to be the ones with most representation at underage levels , better coaches facilities etc , thats not so say a serious player cant make the break through from less fashionable clubs Ciaran Kilkenny being a prime example , My main point being I will concede that the middle class areas have the numbers , however others need to concede that there ARE clubs EVERYWHERE and representation is from so called working class to middle class ,I see it week in week out when taking teams all over the county .
Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/12/2013 14:54:41
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 9814
How many of the current Rovers team are from Sligo? Raff Cretaro is the only one I can think of off hand. Following on from your logic that would indicate that soccer isn't highly participated in in Sligo.
In the context of the GAA then it's overly simplistic to suggest that participation levels will be automatically reflected in the county team. There was only one intercounty player on the field in the Kildare county final between the two Newbridge clubs, both of which would easily be two of the biggest in the county in terms of their underage setups.
The gauge of participation would surely have to be the amount of people actually involved at all levels, not just senior and obviously not just at county level.
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 17/12/2013 14:54:59
Not far wrong there with any of that MesAmis but if Cuala of Dalkey arent the elite who are?!!
north county dublin cricket haha how many cricket clubs is there then? Well hill16man off the top of my head - balbriggan cc , rush cc, north county cc, swords cc, CoS, Ringcommon, malahide, the hills cc...and the rest ;) haha
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 17/12/2013 14:56:58
BadMonkey
True enough re Cuala and Crokes but obviously a lot more to do to really penetrate the Upper class market.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 17/12/2013 15:10:23
The Master
Eh..... in case you didn't notice I agree with Bad Monkey!
Most of Dublin is middle class therefore you'd expect the biggest sporting brand to have a strong middle class showing. Plenty of support in other areas to particularly evident during the summer when the Dubs are flying.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 17/12/2013 15:16:38
Cuala aren't as posh as you might think, they pick up players from ballybrack, sallynoggin, etc too. Crokes are posher imo. Better too! What do you do yourself, bad monkey, as a matter of interest? You sound a lot like one of these socialisty/studenty types who've never actually worked.
flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1055 - 17/12/2013 15:23:10
so now bad monkey and the master are complaining that dublin footballers keep themselves in shape and groom hahaha do you want gaa players to have to all look like hill billys or something
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/12/2013 15:25:01
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 9815
1524530 GAA very popular in the middle classes alright but also quite strong amongst the working class areas, particularly in terms of support during the summer.
Isnt that just a nice way of saying badmonkey is right, but with the frankly non-related, side-point that the rest jump on the bandwagon when the time comes? Nobody is saying they dont... The point is about the actual team.
no hes not right at all. ballymun is very working class yet made all ireland final last year. huge levels of dublin supporters come from working class areas and I mean hardcore supporters who go hail rain or snow. darndale decked out in dubs colours from start of champo if anything its more the upper class who only turn up for the all ireland semi final or finals as supporters
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/12/2013 15:27:20
badmonkey yeh and gaa clubs you have ballyboughal,fingal ravens,man of war,st finians,fingallians,st maurs skerries harps,o dwyers,ballyboughal,clan mhuire,the naul,garristown the list goes on
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/12/2013 15:30:43
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 6808
so now bad monkey and the master are complaining that dublin footballers keep themselves in shape and groom hahaha do you want gaa players to have to all look like hill billys or something
Sure only the upper and middle classes use hair gel.
And I suppose being clean shaven might make them more aerodynamic or something, another unfair advantage the Dubs have.
Surely all the grooming products should be put in one big pot and shared out with the rest of the country.
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 17/12/2013 16:02:45
flack Well done master, you've found yourself a friend! I think yiz are reading too much Irish Times
Dont worry flack, you will find one too someday...
Damothedub, Im not saying they are not represented, Im pointing out the lions share, and thus the higher frequency of players. You make the point that they all they all part-take in gaa, well there is part-taking and then there is playing. Taking part is getting 15 lads out on the field, but playing is actually taking it seriously. Clearly the latter is what is important here as we are talking about the county team.
if_in_doubt, the sligo example would indicate that league of ireland standard soccer isnt particularly common in sligo, not soccer. Again, as above, you can play a game the odd time, get 11 lads out on the weekend or whatever, but that isnt what we are talking about here. We are talking about the guys at county level, or in your example league of ireland standard soccer.
hill it is just a point about the class involved in football in dublin. They are obviously of a certain class and not of another one. It is relevant to the point, like it or not. And your one example of ballymun wont change that fact.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 17/12/2013 16:04:02
Hill16man I never mentioned the Dublin players or team and certainly not their appearance. You may be confusing posters.
flack County: Dublin Posts: 216
1524560 Cuala aren't as posh as you might think, they pick up players from ballybrack, sallynoggin, etc too. Crokes are posher imo. Better too! What do you do yourself, bad monkey, as a matter of interest? You sound a lot like one of these socialisty/studenty types who've never actually worked.
Fair play flack that made me chuckle, long time since I was a student. Originally trained as an accountant and moved into industry from there. Hyde Road in Dalkey is now working class, Ive heard it all. ;). Interesting to read that Cuala are moving from Dalkey down to Blackrock to ground share with Blackrock Rugby Club. I would say Crokes are not happy about this at all
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 17/12/2013 16:19:27
Thanks for the moral boost, master, I'll keep on trying..:-D
flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1055 - 17/12/2013 16:34:34
Even worse Flack... he's a southsider who loves rubgy
What a shocker ;)
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 17/12/2013 17:14:41
Even more shocking Jimbo's a north sider who likes rounders!
Thankfully money or class doesn't matter one iota on the pitch in any sport
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 17/12/2013 17:24:58