Biggest Franchise in the Capital?

ormond

there is no rugby pitches in most the schools near me.
they use the local parks for gaa and soccer in the schools so they cant play rugby if they wanted to even.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/12/2013 12:31:18    1524475

17/12/2013 11:10:59
tinrylandman
County: Carlow

Dublin GAA is mainly a middle class game and holds very little sway in the working class areas , according to the last ESRI report on participation in Dublin rugby and GAA are about the same at 5% of the sports playing population with soccer at about 15% , Hurlingdub most of those so called imbiciles are also GAA fans .

As Brian Fantanna says , everyone knows that statistics are wrong 60 % of the time , all of the time ( anchorman )
Seriously wont speak for the southside of Dublin on this one but know enough of north and west to say its pretty much in every area and postcode right across .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/12/2013 12:32:10    1524477

Gaa is mainly played by middle class, exact same as soccer which is mainly played by middle classes too. Sports participation is bigger in middle class areas than working classes in anyways.

Dublin GAA has a strong presence in working class areas with many GAA clubs situated in those areas. Not as strong as soccer is though which would be stronger in those areas. Rugby non-existent practically.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 17/12/2013 12:32:29    1524478

tinrylandman
County: Carlow

Dublin GAA is mainly a middle class game and holds very little sway in the working class areas

thats totally wrong.
take darnadale a harcore working class area.
every year at he start of the summer you drive up the main road and its decked out in dublin flags and all the houses have buntings everywhere.they keep them up throughout the championship.
kilbarrack housing estates and edenmore are the same.
take finglas it has huge dublin supporters levels and ballymun made the all ireland club championship final last year

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/12/2013 12:35:27    1524479

hill16no1man

1524314 bubba83

Huge amount of Leinster support also comes from north county Dublin, Balbriggan, Skerries, Donabate, Malahide, etc. I'm not saying it has overtaken GAA in these areas, however like most counties in Leinster outside of D4, support for the province has increased. Having a successful team on the pitch obviously has played a huge part in that.

the areas you named are mainly fingal not northside of dublin in realism

Ah here hill, are you trying to split up Dublin?? It's bad enough everyone else trying to split us up!!!

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 17/12/2013 12:36:36    1524480

Ormo

If you didn't act like a child when people, who meant no offence nor harm, quickly and informally shortened your username for convenience sake then maybe more posters might refer to your full username.

As soon as you had your little hissy for over it (and followed that up with more more toy throwing antics) Ormo was destined to stay. If you stopped crying about and using it not debate points with people then maybe posters wouldn't do it as a point of principle which is happened now.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 17/12/2013 12:38:24    1524482

bad.monkey
County: USA

Flack do you think soccer or GAA is more popular in those estates?
The GAA sports are very much the sports of the middle class parents in Dublin and for their Gaelscoil little darlings. Rugby is still king in affluent south east along the dart line.
As Aussie Jimbo will confirm , North county Dublin is cricket country!

soccer they watch on tv
GAA they actualy play and go out and support.
thats rubbish the gaa is middle class parents,is ballymun not working class and they have been together 9 or 10 of that team since under 10s managed by paddy christie another ballymun man.
north county dublin cricket haha how many cricket clubs is there then?
north county dublin has loads of gaa clubs id imagine far higher participation then any other sport.
look at the crowds for bryan cullen bringing sam back to skerries

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/12/2013 12:39:57    1524483

bubba

no but you wouldnt class skerries or balbriggan the northside of dublin
its north county or fingal if your being honest

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/12/2013 12:43:02    1524485

Anyone know many season tickets do Dublin footballers sell? Leinster rugby sold around 14,000 this season which is a pretty solid base of hardcore fans.
GAA is absolutely the sport of the middle class in Dublin as mummies won't let precious little Oisin and Iarla play rugby as they might get hurt and they certainly don't want them associating with that rough soccer crowd so they play GAA instead. Soccer is still by far the most popular in 'working class' areas.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 17/12/2013 12:46:33    1524486

Right.. SO this is the conclusion

Ehhh what were we talking about again?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 17/12/2013 12:49:31    1524487

You might want to get that chip looked at badmonkey, before it breaks your shoulder. You probably don't get your info on the ground. Nearly All the kids in my estate (council) played football, nearly the same amount played hurling when they were young. There would be a higher dropout level than in richer areas, but that's the same for all sports. Some more, overall would have played the soccer, but and soccer, id say is bigger in most poorer areas. Don't see why it matters so much to you anyway, it's usually only pinkos and soccer journalists who make such a deal about it,

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1055 - 17/12/2013 12:53:49    1524489

They actually DO play cricket in North county, I never understood that, where did that come from
Hurling is growing very quickly in North county, they had little or no teams when I was small, but now there's plenty in the underage, petegrines, fingal Gaels, skerries, ravens, etc. Etc.

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1055 - 17/12/2013 13:05:16    1524494

17/12/2013 12:38:24
MesAmis
Ormo, If you didn't act like a child when people, who meant no offence nor harm, quickly and informally shortened your username for convenience sake then maybe more posters might refer to your full username.

As soon as you had your little hissy for over it (and followed that up with more more toy throwing antics) Ormo was destined to stay. If you stopped crying about and using it not debate points with people then maybe posters wouldn't do it as a point of principle which is happened now.
Not a hissy fit when asking someone to call you by the correct name. I don't mind shortening my name but its what its shortened to that is the issue. Ormo is not a word and has no relevance to me and would be like referring to you as "me" or hill16no1man as "hi" etc. Does that make sense?
I find it takes offence and harm
Can you read my posts. I don't have any issue with the informal shortening of my username its what it is shortened to and you and everyone else who shortenings it to anything other than Ormond is a troll

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 17/12/2013 13:18:48    1524501

17/12/2013 12:49:31

Right.. SO this is the conclusion

Ehhh what were we talking about again?

I know its gotten just a little confusing alright , bit of a difference between hearts and minds which is spectating , or a different equation altogether is participation , and some getting both confused a little ,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/12/2013 13:41:05    1524505

former Dublin manager and captain Tom Carr, also a former Ballymun player, was asked to what extent the GAA targeted the areas, like the high rises.

"It didn't," he replied, "and the GAA still doesn't. To an extent the GAA has given up on those areas and those areas don't see themselves as GAA; they see themselves as soccer. In my time there were doctors, guards and teachers. That's what made up the team I played on."
Ballymun Kickhams supposedly a working class club , but this is the attitude the GAA has to most working class areas in Dublin

tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 17/12/2013 13:59:19    1524510

Hey as long as Dublin GAA keeps on winning AI's...

Who bloody cares

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 17/12/2013 14:01:43    1524511

Ah yes its all about winning

tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 17/12/2013 14:06:54    1524513

Well in fairness to badmonkey, there are a fair few dublin footballers who come across as exactly how he is describing. Fine footballers mind, but without fail, they also seem to have the hair trimmed and styled to perfection 110% of the time, the stylish boots, (whisper it, whitened teeth) all round clean cut and seem such nice lads in their interviews. In fact I would say that they are probably the most clean-cut team in the country. Nothing wrong with that, but it would indicate that what badmonkey is saying does have some proof behind it.

Compare that to say roscommon for instance - where most dont actually have teeth...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 17/12/2013 14:08:08    1524514

Dont nesecarily disagree with what badmonkey or Master are saying with regards to county team , however the county team is not the gauge to measure participation , and thats the point being missed , im not involved at county level I am involved at juvennile level ( teenagers ) I know where I go and who we play against , and with the exception of the inner city practically every area of Dublin has representation of clubs , newer areas bring newer clubs , working class areas out west in last couple of years erin go Bragh and tyrellstown have been formed , theres all types playing our game in Dublin , the bigger clubs tend to be from the more affluent areas , therefore bigger numbers hence the better representation figures on county sides .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/12/2013 14:19:50    1524519

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

Ormo

"Ormo" is recognisably your username. "me" and "hi" are not recognisably my nor Hills usernames. Feel free to use them by the way though. Ormo is recognisably your username and clearly inoffensive to anyone with any sense.

Just because you choose to take offence does not mean that it actually is offensive.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 17/12/2013 14:28:46    1524526