I have nothing against rugby by the way. Anyone who is involved in any real sport and goes to see actual games is entitled to their choice. The imbeciles who pack pubs every Sunday to watch "us" playing "youse" are contemptible imbeciles as far as I am concerned. Brain dead deracinated mushy brains.
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 15/12/2013 20:29:27
15/12/2013 14:14:25 hurlingdub With respect Ormond, myself and Hillman know north Dublin better than you do! Finglas was awash with Dub flags and bunting all Summer. I've never seen a Leinster flag. I enjoy watching rugby by the way. I just don't identify with either Leinster or Ireland for that matter. Nothing to do with me. Fair enough not identifying with Leinster but Ireland??? How do you not associate with a national side. Nationalistic pride etc..
15/12/2013 17:43:14 hill16no1man not rubbish at all ormond! leinster pull support from outside dublin yes I never said they didnt this thread is about the capital. I said in dublin its only in certain postcodes. With all due respect im from the northside of dublin I live hear I think I know the score in my own area more then what you read in a newspaper or hear on some rugby site on the internet. rugby is virtualy alien anywhere near where I live Donaghmede,Baldoyle,Kilbarrack,Clongriffin,Belmayne,Balgriffin, Kinsealy,Edenmore,Ayrfield,Coolock,Raheny,Artane,Donnycarney are all areas near me not one rugby club.you would be lucky to get a handfull of people who would go to the rds from them areas to watch a leinster rugby match. I never stated they were munster supporters,I stated they would rather see munster win if playing leinster as they are not as up themselves as leinster in these peoples minds. Its not in certain postcodes. The work Leinster have put in with development staff etc and getting people into schools etc Lots of those areas kids would go malahide etc and if they play rugby will play through their schools.
15/12/2013 18:03:19 Damothedub Ive mates who go to rugby through corporate freebies , personally have never been to a game , wouldn't know how you'd go about even getting a ticket , however since a nipper my dad who's a huge Dubs fan had me watching , Slattery , Gibson , Moss Keane, Ward and Campbell , so I've always had an interest, but its a TV interest which is what the majority of friends and family I know would have , no participation and unaware of anyone personally who plays . For me the premiership and its main players Man U , Pool , etc still hold the majority of hearts and minds unfortunately , however the Dubs and the success thats come our way is slowly eroding into the soccer boys .Tickets for you to get would be ticketmaster, directly from leinster as you've no right to club allocated tickets due to no membership. TV interest is where it starts and then eventually more and more will get active involvement in the sport and you build like that
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 15/12/2013 20:53:04
well put my man
stmunn (Wexford) - Posts: 181 - 15/12/2013 20:53:49
well put my man
stmunn (Wexford) - Posts: 181 - 15/12/2013 20:54:03
hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 5568
1523989 I have nothing against rugby by the way. Anyone who is involved in any real sport and goes to see actual games is entitled to their choice. The imbeciles who pack pubs every Sunday to watch "us" playing "youse" are contemptible imbeciles as far as I am concerned. Brain dead deracinated mushy brains.
Anytime I hear this "WE" when irish lads talk about premiership teams I cringe, I always say was your name on the team sheet when they say something like, "we should of won today"
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 15/12/2013 22:01:01
From a republican family Ormond. Let us say, the Dublin rugby fraternity were on the other side :-)
I know that means nothing now and I really admire the likes of O'Driscoll and O'Connell et al. I just don't feel any emotional attachment to them. Love watching the game and the Munster and Leinster games this weekend were excellent entertainment. Just glad I did not bet as I had intended to!!
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/12/2013 09:23:40
I don't think anyone would deny that Rugby has become more popular but it is still not comparable with the popularity of soccer and Gaelic Football in Dublin. Anyone who believes that it is on the same level in Dublin as the Big 2 sports clearly only knows a small percentage of Dublin. And before Ormo goes off on one, we know that there is interest in rugby in Dublin outside of the upper class areas, but rugby has nowhere near the popularity of Gaelic Football or soccer outside of the upper class areas.
It is only really in these areas where rugby is the sport of choice of the majority of sports supporters/players etc.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 16/12/2013 09:38:10
Rugby is a good game no doubt
But it's still very much a Southside Dublin sport
That's exactly the way it is... that's the truth of it.
The sheer amount of GAA pitches / Soccer pitches in the Northside public parks is testimony to that
Perhaps the fan base for Leinster rugby has grown on the Northside but this would generally only be noticeable in more middle class areas which have actually got a little bit posher since the Celtic Tiger days
Glasnevin, Drumcondra on the Northside are perfect examples where you see the odd Leinster jersey / bunting etc
Belvedere College young lads wearing their rugby gear coming from said areas in Dublin 9
But then you don't have one rugby club in Dublin 9...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/12/2013 10:34:02
Sorry, if Liverpool and Man utd are discounted because they are not a dublin franchise, then surely leinster rugby must be discounted also? the clue is in the name...
The reality is it doesnt matter where they are from, they all count.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/12/2013 10:53:02
Master, EPL/Celtic are as popular outside of Dublin as in it. I was in Naas the day of the two football league finals and had to try four different pubs to find a TV showing the matches. And Kildare were in the first one! You just would not get that happening in Dublin.
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/12/2013 11:37:02
Huge amount of Leinster support also comes from north county Dublin, Balbriggan, Skerries, Donabate, Malahide, etc. I'm not saying it has overtaken GAA in these areas, however like most counties in Leinster outside of D4, support for the province has increased. Having a successful team on the pitch obviously has played a huge part in that.
bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 16/12/2013 11:41:08
16/12/2013 09:38:10 MesAmis I don't think anyone would deny that Rugby has become more popular but it is still not comparable with the popularity of soccer and Gaelic Football in Dublin. Anyone who believes that it is on the same level in Dublin as the Big 2 sports clearly only knows a small percentage of Dublin. And before Ormond goes off on one, we know that there is interest in rugby in Dublin outside of the upper class areas, but rugby has nowhere near the popularity of Gaelic Football or soccer outside of the upper class areas.
It is only really in these areas where rugby is the sport of choice of the majority of sports supporters/players etc. Who is ormo? Are you incapable of posting 6 letters missamy? Ormo means nothing, doesn't make sense and to keep using it at this stage is trolling. Ormond is where im from. Ormo is nothing and not even a word. Rugby is increasingly popular in the non traditional area's and even more so in past few years thanks to success of pro side and the work the dozens of branch development workers who are getting lots done in local schools etc
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/12/2013 11:44:08
16/12/2013 11:44:08 ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 6436
1524109 16/12/2013 09:38:10 MesAmis I don't think anyone would deny that Rugby has become more popular but it is still not comparable with the popularity of soccer and Gaelic Football in Dublin. Anyone who believes that it is on the same level in Dublin as the Big 2 sports clearly only knows a small percentage of Dublin. And before Ormond goes off on one, we know that there is interest in rugby in Dublin outside of the upper class areas, but rugby has nowhere near the popularity of Gaelic Football or soccer outside of the upper class areas.
It is only really in these areas where rugby is the sport of choice of the majority of sports supporters/players etc. Who is ormo? Are you incapable of posting 6 letters missamy? Ormo means nothing, doesn't make sense and to keep using it at this stage is trolling. Ormond is where im from. Ormo is nothing and not even a word. Rugby is increasingly popular in the non traditional area's and even more so in past few years thanks to success of pro side and the work the dozens of branch development workers who are getting lots done in local schools etc
In trying to get your point across your missing everyone else's , so here goes again you say work has been done and popularity has rise within schools and previously non rugby areas , and that maybe true , however read on last year my son a decent hurler I may add played cricket for his school , they had a team for first time ever , due to outside coach coming in and trying to drum up a little interest , kids been kids they will play anything . Now ask me if he can name a cricket player for Ireland , or who,s the best in the world or what the ashes mean ? He wont be able to answer . Where I live a heavily populated area , theres 7 secondary schools no rugby played whatsoever , in primary no rugby played whatsoever . The starting point was so low in trying to achieve improvement or exposure to rugby in some areas , it couldn't fail to improve . So your point is valid work has been done and interest has risen , everyone else's points equally true in some areas its non existent and Leinster are no where near the GAA or soccer clubs .
Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 16/12/2013 11:59:59
ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 6436
Rugby is increasingly popular in the non traditional area's and even more so in past few years thanks to success of pro side and the work the dozens of branch development workers who are getting lots done in local schools etc
Ormo
So I'm glad we agree. Rugby has gotten more popular but still has a way to go to catch up anywhere near Gaelic Football or soccer in terms of interest and support across all of Dublin.
Also you keep mentioning Leinster's work in schools in Dublin. This intrigues me as I've never seen or heard about any school that has rugby coaches coming in. Loads of schools have GAA coaches and soccer coaches, even a few athletics people but I've never seen people from any rugby club in a school.
I'm not saying that it doesn't happen but from my experience (5 years teaching and into my third year running workshops in both primary and secondary schools) the vast majority of schools do not have any contact with rugby at all.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 16/12/2013 12:01:34
16/12/2013 11:59:59 Damothedub In trying to get your point across your missing everyone else's , so here goes again you say work has been done and popularity has rise within schools and previously non rugby areas , and that maybe true , however read on last year my son a decent hurler I may add played cricket for his school , they had a team for first time ever , due to outside coach coming in and trying to drum up a little interest , kids been kids they will play anything . Now ask me if he can name a cricket player for Ireland , or who,s the best in the world or what the ashes mean ? He wont be able to answer . Where I live a heavily populated area , theres 7 secondary schools no rugby played whatsoever , in primary no rugby played whatsoever . The starting point was so low in trying to achieve improvement or exposure to rugby in some areas , it couldn't fail to improve . So your point is valid work has been done and interest has risen , everyone else's points equally true in some areas its non existent and Leinster are no where near the GAA or soccer clubs . I don't think I am missing anyone's point. Rugby is starting from a crap place in many area's but Leinster especially through their development staff are in and out to schools very often
16/12/2013 12:01:34 MesAmis Ormo So I'm glad we agree. Rugby has gotten more popular but still has a way to go to catch up anywhere near Gaelic Football or soccer in terms of interest and support across all of Dublin. Also you keep mentioning Leinster's work in schools in Dublin. This intrigues me as I've never seen or heard about any school that has rugby coaches coming in. Loads of schools have GAA coaches and soccer coaches, even a few athletics people but I've never seen people from any rugby club in a school. I'm not saying that it doesn't happen but from my experience (5 years teaching and into my third year running workshops in both primary and secondary schools) the vast majority of schools do not have any contact with rugby at all. Are you trolling MesAmis? Who is ormo? There is no poster called ormo.. There is one called Ormond. Are you incapable of posting 6 letters?
Strange you've never heard of rugby coaches coming in as Dublin city council rugby development officers as well as club development officers all come in. If you are saying you're a teacher then you surely can read very well and can understand why someone doesn't like being called something they don't like then why do you persist to call me ormo? Cant you simply call me ormond
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/12/2013 12:17:59
Jaysus Ormo, calm down Bud.......!!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 16/12/2013 12:21:01
ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 6437
Ormo
Because you disagree doesn't mean I am trolling. I was merely questioning the amount of work being done. I don't think it comes anywhere near the level of work being done by the GAA or by soccer clubs in schools.
If you don't want to continue to be called Ormo etc then it is entirely up to you. Something you've somehow yet to figure out.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 16/12/2013 12:30:51
most people are referring to Gaelic Football, how does hurling compare to rugby in the capital nowadays?
Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 16/12/2013 12:43:30
So your point is valid work has been done and interest has risen , everyone else's points equally true in some areas its non existent and Leinster are no where near the GAA or soccer clubs .
Exactly... what exactly is the issue here?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/12/2013 13:04:45
Count the Premiership as a single franchise and it'd probably give the GAA a run for its money in the capital. Break it down into individual teams though and I can't imagine any of them would be as popular as the Dubs are overall.
Take Clontarf, Sutton, Malahide and Castleknock out of the equation and there's minimal rugby presence on the northside. From the N2 and M50 in as far as the dartline there's barely any rugby clubs and only one strong rugby school. In the same area though you have massive GAA clubs like Kickhams, Vincent's and Na Fianna, and the likes of Home Farm and Sheriff YC who would traditionally be two of the bigger amateur football clubs in the city.
Regardless of which particular team kids are supporting, Santa's going to be delivering a lot more Dublin GAA and Premiership jerseys to the northside than he is Leinster rugby ones.
On the southside though you have the big rugby schools and clubs, most of them though are within close proximity and a few miles away you still find the big, successful GAA clubs in 'boden and Crokes and football teams like St Pat's CYC, Crumlin Utd and Cherry Orchard etc.
Rugby is certainly growing in parts of Dublin, especially with the development competitions for secondary schools. Apart from a select few areas though it will never be the biggest or most popular sport no matter how many coaches are hired. I'd be very surprised if the majority of the Leinster academy and underage teams aren't made up of kids coming out of the traditional private rugby schools for the foreseeable future.
In Leinster, Leinster rugby is probably the biggest brand, in Dublin though it's probably closer to fourth or fifth than first.
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 16/12/2013 13:17:56