I see Liam O'Neill is giving hints that the Black Card might make it's way into hurling before long. I'm no fan of it's introduction to football because I don't trust the officials to implement it properly. ringo (Wexford) - Posts: 384 - 04/12/2013 14:08:05 1520483 Link 0 |
I agree with you, Ringo. Lots of lads are still dual players (at club level anyway) & they'd cynically drag down an opponent in football but not in hurling? Rubbish! keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 04/12/2013 14:32:38 1520501 Link 0 |
Tony is wrong imo. I think, as a referee, the black card system should be introduced to hurling. I would support Liam O'Neill 100% in this. There are plenty of cynically fouls in hurling. Flicking back the hurley, tapping the elbow, the little tap on the ankle as an opponent is running to the ball and so on. A disciplinary system for management teams in both codes should be introduced too. Management need to show leadership. It's no wonder players can show disrespect to a referee and match officials and think they can say what they like to them when some managers behave like demented animals on the sideline. Strong and lengthy bans should be introduced for abuse of match officials. Mind you referees should stand up and report this instead of going with the same oled "shure tis part of our games" rubbish. A lot of players also play rugby but they wouldn't dream of abusing a rugby referee because they know it wouldn't be tolerated by the rugby ruling bodies. donkeyford (Limerick) - Posts: 119 - 04/12/2013 14:51:10 1520513 Link 0 |
Some managers in hurling give a very bad example in terms of their behaviour. One might say some of them create more hassle for officials than their players! ringo (Wexford) - Posts: 384 - 04/12/2013 15:04:15 1520525 Link 0 |
I agree with Considine , think before answering , there was a clamour for it in football for good reason , there was an obvious problem that was becoming a cancer in the game , the same push wasn't and isnit there in hurling , of course similar things can happen in hurling Im not saying it cant , but just because something seems to fit and feel right we should just do it for the sake of it , Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/12/2013 15:06:11 1520526 Link 0 |
damothedub hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/12/2013 15:18:35 1520532 Link 0 |
Damo, there has been cynical fouling in hurling for a long time. Kilkenny are grand-masters at it and they are very good at intimidating referees over it. donkeyford (Limerick) - Posts: 119 - 04/12/2013 15:18:59 1520533 Link 0 |
The sin bin is way better than that stupid black card. if you ahve the bare 15 your snookered like. where a ain bin rule would give allow the punishment to fit the crime. Also bring in the last man back foul and send of the defender who stops a goal acoring chance illegaliy. happy days Fishermantom (Limerick) - Posts: 569 - 04/12/2013 15:25:34 1520538 Link 0 |
Fishermantom, nail on the head. Hurling needs 10 minutes and calm down period...more than enough punishment. Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 04/12/2013 15:36:00 1520542 Link 0 |
I would say the Sin Bin for football myself for the same reason. Rolling the Black Card system out in both club and intercounty is a really brave, and perhaps dangerous approach. ringo (Wexford) - Posts: 384 - 04/12/2013 16:04:03 1520557 Link 0 |
I'd be all for a clampdown on cynical play in hurling, by whatever means necessary. Anyone who says cynical fouling is just a problem in football hasn't watched much hurling over the last 10 years outside of the highlight reels. Its been a problem for a few years now, and the sooner the GAA does something to curb it, the better. Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 04/12/2013 16:08:53 1520560 Link 0 |
Talking about cynical fouling! I watched this years hurling final replay recently and Cork were fairly handy at cynically winning fouls. Not something which is nice to see coming into the game. Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1467 - 04/12/2013 16:30:08 1520566 Link 0 |
I think a hurling match is too short to have a ten minute sin bin. Clinical fouling is not a problem in hurling because it's much easier for teams to score a free than in football. The type of fouling that happened in the football final at the end would never happen in hurling because it's A) very hard to do it seeing as the ball spends a lot less time in hand than football ans B)not practical considering it's very possible to score does types of frees. Fixing a problem that doesn't exist. RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 04/12/2013 16:38:00 1520571 Link 0 |
I think a few people need to read posts before commenting on them , I said there was a clamour for rule change in football and there wasnt the same push from it from the hurling circles , I did not say there wasnt cynical fouling in hurling , different sentence altogether . Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/12/2013 16:54:04 1520581 Link 0 |
I think the bigger problem for hurling people is that there seems to be a sense that what goes for one game, goes for the other, and rules designed for football are ending up being used for hurling when there's no need for it. This black card for hurling idea is coming out in the open despite repeated assurances from Croke Park that the black card won't be introduced into hurling. It now seems that Croke Park are doing a u-turn on this issue to bring both games into the one rule-book. dblackandamber (Kilkenny) - Posts: 92 - 04/12/2013 19:25:54 1520637 Link 0 |
Thank you dblackandamber , for putting my point in a more articulate manner , well said , couldn't agree more , but watch out for the usual soundbite answers based on fact your from Kilkenny . Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/12/2013 19:44:10 1520642 Link 0 |
Agree with damo and dblackandamber on this. And yiz should read his post properly before the knee-jerk reaction. There's less point cynically fouling someone in hurling, as more often than not, it will result in a score. The biggest problem in hurling, as Ban spotted, is fouling by the player in possession, eg. grabbing and holding the defenders hurley/arm to make it look likes its himself that's being grabbed, falling down and winning a free (every time). This happens about 15 times in every ic match, but no-one has any interest in stopping it at all flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 04/12/2013 20:29:16 1520658 Link 0 |
rebelcork hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/12/2013 20:53:20 1520667 Link 0 |
flack hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/12/2013 20:57:04 1520669 Link 0 |
hill16no1man RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 04/12/2013 20:59:44 1520671 Link 0 |