Stephen Cluxton's Speech

Realdub, I never said it was disgraceful. I was just seeing people's sentiments. Personally myself I think it doesn't matter. Just wondering if traditionalists had any issues with it. Like team sheets in Irish, I just don't see the point as well as getting captains to speak it even if not fluent in it.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 26/09/2013 14:48:59    1489934

Not a big deal that it is not in irish. If it is going to be said in irish, then it shouldnt be from a script and not understood. I think that that has to be one of the most boring aspects of the GAA, the fact that irish is thrown in by people for the sake of tradition who dont speak it normally or dont even understand it.

AS for Cluxton omitting the 3 cheers for mayo. Good man. It is the last thing those lads wanted to hear at the end of the game, it must be galling to hear it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 26/09/2013 15:00:40    1489947

You're right Donegal man, the sooner those three cheers are done with the better, galling stuff. And to be subjecting the losing team to staying out for the whole lot is a bit sadistic, let them trot off just like Ger Cafferky did. No need to be rubbing their noses in it. Who care's about Cluxton's speech, Dublin had the cup deservedly so, and that's all that matters. People are very pernickety to be complaining about it.

Salmanneile (Longford) - Posts: 113 - 26/09/2013 15:32:11    1489969

The only issue I had with Cluxtons speech on sunday, Was the fact that I couldn't hear the feckin thing. What is the story with Croke Park, One of Europes biggest stadiums, With one of the best pitches... The biggest outdoor screen in the country, A stadium that is an absolute credit to the country and the GAA. And yet, the surround sound for speeches is non existant. I had to wait until I got home on Tuesday afternoon to watch the SG before having any idea what Cluxton said. Ridiculous

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 26/09/2013 15:39:39    1489973

Ah I know you weren't dora I was just saying to anyone who might think that.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8756 - 26/09/2013 15:53:27    1489984

Steeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeevo, Steeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeevo, Steeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeevo.

He probably hates that :-)

Anyway, belting that insufferable McAteer should make up for all other deficiencies :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/09/2013 15:53:44    1489985

Like hurlingdub I can forgive Cluxton anything because of 'that' punch.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 26/09/2013 16:07:22    1489997

Well done to Stephen Cluxton, not just on a great match but on being able to stand up in front of over 80000 people plus hundreds of thousands all over the world on tv and give a speech considering he is supposed to be a very shy person.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 26/09/2013 16:08:20    1489999

sugerloaf

thought cluxton was right not to offer the condescending 3 cheers to mayo.he paid tribute to them and knew they were hurting.That was enough.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I completely agree. I've always thought the '3 cheers' to be the most patronising and pathetic of customs - fair play to Cluxton for doing away with this embarrassing tradition.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 26/09/2013 16:09:12    1490000

It was nice when Ó Cinnéide and Ó hAilpín went go hiomlán trí Ghaeilge but the rest is only tokenism.

Stevo doesn't do things by halves!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13803 - 26/09/2013 16:12:47    1490004

waynol - The only issue I had with Cluxtons speech on sunday, Was the fact that I couldn't hear the feckin thing.

don't worry wayno, it wasn't exactly a nobel prize-winning oration:/

commercials1 (Limerick) - Posts: 115 - 26/09/2013 16:37:07    1490023

Absolutely agree with the three cheers for the losers being done away with. Hate it. Being on the end of numerous of them at club level and it's patronising.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 26/09/2013 17:04:40    1490049

Couldn't care less. The whole speech thing should be done away with and as for the '3 cheers' what a patronising load of BS that is.

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 26/09/2013 17:25:04    1490071

Ulsterman

Some people find public speaking very difficult and they can withdraw a bit; that's the way of the world and we should accept it. However while Cluxton takes the game very serious he should also remember it's a game to be enjoyed too especially when you win. Stephen could smile a bit more, chill out and enjoy his career a bit better as could Jim Gavin who should reflect on some of the ungracious and nonsensical stuff he comes out with.

Ulsterman is there anything sacred with you? Maybe they'll start enjoying their career when you get that massive bigoted chip of your shoulder.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 26/09/2013 17:30:36    1490077

3 cheers me ***** :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8756 - 26/09/2013 17:30:59    1490079

To be honest speeches are a lot of shouting and hollering and just making noise.
Cluxton's speech wont be remembered for that long!! No problem with not using the few words of irish.

But as speeches go cant beat Anthony Daly's speech from the heart or prob the classiest speech I have been in Croker for was O Cinneide's speech as gaeilge

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 26/09/2013 17:37:48    1490090

Best post match speech I ever heard was after being beaten in a junior hurling final. We were back in bar feeling tired and emotional when one of our, self-appointed after the quarter final :-), mentors made passionate speech in which he assured us that we'd win the year after and **** anyone who said any different and he'd be with us all the way.

Never saw him after :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/09/2013 17:44:05    1490100

Cluxton has the charisma of a nun

KingOfJacks (Kildare) - Posts: 361 - 26/09/2013 18:09:22    1490119

Speeches are a load of bull, simple as that, you should never have to endure a speech unless your country comes under attack in wartime.

Three cheers for the losers is particularly annoying.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/09/2013 18:15:33    1490124

26/09/2013 15:32:11
Salmanneile
You're right Donegal man, the sooner those three cheers are done with the better, galling stuff. And to be subjecting the losing team to staying out for the whole lot is a bit sadistic, let them trot off just like Ger Cafferky did. No need to be rubbing their noses in it. Who care's about Cluxton's speech, Dublin had the cup deservedly so, and that's all that matters. People are very pernickety to be complaining about it.

saying 3 cheers is about respect and acknowledging the losing side for their role in the final and I think the losing team should stay out for all of presentation as mark of respect as "letting them trot off" implies a lack of respect IMO.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 26/09/2013 18:16:51    1490127