Alleged eye gouge on Cooper

1473345 Bluewave, well you couldnt, because it was a light push, and in a photo the difference in force between a push and a strike would be obvious. However, the point is I am not saying that cavanagh was clearly not punched sinply because he didnt start gasping for air afterwards. Mainly because that doesnt prove anything. Every gouge to the eye does not result in your eye falling out or you going blind, therefore that alone is not an valid argument. Understand?

It was a push on someones throat ,plus what about his holding his face to cowardly get someone sent off,
Worry about your own players, people in glasshouses.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 02/09/2013 17:34:46    1473375

Jaysus Mayo lads...

You'd swear you wanted Dublin players to get suspended for nothing...

Sure what have you to be afraid of.

.. sure we beat you twice this year already in Croke Park... one game with 14 men and the other in a national semi-final

But you've improved hugely since then... I know you boys are afraid to death of losing another final... especially to Dublin

But I think you should have plenty to look forward too in a few weeks time... I think Dublin have over achieved and we just about fell over the line yesterday.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/09/2013 17:37:11    1473377

Jaysus Mayo lads...

You'd swear you wanted Dublin players to get suspended for nothing...

Sure what have you to be afraid of.

.. sure we beat you twice this year already in Croke Park... one game with 14 men and the other in a national semi-final

But you've improved hugely since then... I know you boys are afraid to death of losing another final... especially to Dublin

But I think you should have plenty to look forward too in a few weeks time... I think Dublin have over achieved and we just about fell over the line yesterday.

I think you're right! :-)

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 02/09/2013 17:42:26    1473385

Donegalman, you would see the indent on the guy's throat if it was a strike due to the large amount of extra force, you would see very little indent with a push, regardless of shutterspeed, or anything else for that matter.

AthCliath, are you talking about cluxton going down holding his face after being shouldered? Glass houses indeed.

All these excuses are pathetic. Nobody is saying he is going to be punished on the photo alone so please stop cribbing about that. We are however, allowed to comment on the photo so could you please stop trying to silence everyone that mentions it? This crap about 'it could be anything, we really dont know for sure' is nonsense and reeks of an ulterior motive. He clearly put his finger into the guys eye, if it was an accident, then why didnt he take it out? The photo shows there is force being put on the eye and his arm is steadfast, it doesnt look like an accident at all ans we all can see that. The example of o'shea doesnt really stand up, nobody is saying his hand got there by accident, the argument was whether it was a push or a strike. but whether ROC pushed him in the eye or struck him in the eye, it is still the same difference.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/09/2013 17:54:01    1473402

Joxer

1472773 brendtheredhand

1472717 Yeah, but is he being cynical, because that seems to generate more column inches than cowardly physical assaults of this nature, discuss?

----

Yes eye gouging of a Kerry player. Now where have we seen that before?

----

Versus Monaghan April 2010

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBeIiHiBePQ

mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 02/09/2013 18:04:58    1473413

Lads we all need to relax a wee bit. Firstly the Dubs need to admit that the photo looks pretty bad and it doesn't look like his hand could be there for any other reason especially when one of his fingers seems to be buried in his eye. Secondly I wouldn't be comparing it to a still frame of O Shea making contact with someone's neck. We are talking about a man lying prone on the ground with 2 opposing players standing over him and one with his hand on his face. The scenario is a lot different to pushing and shoving between O Shea and Cavanagh in fairness. Finally we all know The Gooch is a very quiet man who lets his football do the talking but surely if this is gouging as it looks to be then he will say something, or one of his team mates will. Time will tell. Anyway I hope it isn't as it seems and ROC takes his place in 3 weeks. As for the sneaky stuff from McMahon, the less said the better.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 02/09/2013 18:12:46    1473426

Personally I think McMahon meant to stamp on Cooper, looks pretty clear-cut from that video. He bit Noel Kerrigan a few years back as well. On the other hand I'm not sure about the O'Carroll incident, looks bad but maybe the picture is misleading.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 02/09/2013 18:14:36    1473428

1472838 What part of the game did the gouging incident occur? People could watch it back on the player and get a better idea.

---

At 63:30 there is a Kerry player on their back holding their face. There were a few players standing around him so I could not see who it was. This seems to be just after O'Sullivan scored a point to go ahead 20 - 19.

mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 02/09/2013 18:22:04    1473438

All this thread has done has exposed just how scared Mayo fans are of facing Dublin...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/09/2013 18:22:31    1473439

1473439 All this thread has done has exposed just how scared Mayo fans are of facing Dublin...

The same faces were hoping/wishing/looking for Tyrone players to miss their semi-final v Mayo... shaking in their boots

They have everything to lose if they miss out again in 2013

Dublin will come back stronger... more experienced with some very talented new faces...

Gavin has done incredibly well only 8 months in the job... new system, fresh new inexperienced players...

What a triumph it would be if we managed to somehow stop this Mayo team in their tracks... I think it would hurt Mayo more that their last 6 loses combined.

Especially if we lose players to CCCC suspensions... very unjustly so IMO but what can you do...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/09/2013 18:34:55    1473452

MichaelO

Personally I think McMahon meant to stamp on Cooper, looks pretty clear-cut from that video. He bit Noel Kerrigan a few years back as well. On the other hand I'm not sure about the O'Carroll incident, looks bad but maybe the picture is misleading.
_____
Indeed. Didn't he have something to do with 9/11 as well? Honest to God. Look Philly is a UFC fighter. If he meant to stamp on Gooch then the grounds men would still be picking up pieces of the ginger wizard.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 02/09/2013 19:09:32    1473473

I think most mayo fans would like to play a full strength dublin team. Let both teams go toe to toe with one another and may the best team win. That being said I personally dont rate o'carroll that highly so i feel it would suit mayo should he play but thats a personal opinion, im sure you dubs have your own view in relation to him.

The_purist (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 02/09/2013 19:11:08    1473476

Funny how ROC number one fan have no comment to make

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 02/09/2013 19:37:00    1473494

I have to admit that after attending quite a few championship matches this year I can safely say that theres a terrible hatred of Tyrone out there. They were the victims of some terrible assaults as I would call them this year but when they stepped out of line they were castigated and articles written about them and everyone on Tv etc went on overdrive about them. I have no faith in fair play in the GAA after this summer.Its obvious to all genuine GAA people thats theres a lot that dosent add up. If a Dub goes out for the final after a foul yest then the Mayo player who took Peter Harte should go too. If not then that is proof that the system is flawed,

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 920 - 02/09/2013 19:52:28    1473503

border Gael
County: Monaghan

I have to admit that after attending quite a few championship matches this year I can safely say that theres a terrible hatred of Tyrone out there. They were the victims of some terrible assaults as I would call them this year but when they stepped out of line they were castigated and articles written about them and everyone on Tv etc went on overdrive about them. I have no faith in fair play in the GAA after this summer.Its obvious to all genuine GAA people thats theres a lot that dosent add up. If a Dub goes out for the final after a foul yest then the Mayo player who took Peter Harte should go too. If not then that is proof that the system is flawed,

Ah here lad how many people need to tell you it was a fair shoulder? Get over it, the whole country has bar about 3 posters on here by the looks of it!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 02/09/2013 20:03:23    1473509

Free the Dublin 2 haha the kick was a pure accident and The Roc was patting The Gooch on the head asking was he ok, now will you all stop getting your panties in a twist ffs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/09/2013 20:19:42    1473527

Indeed. Didn't he have something to do with 9/11 as well? Honest to God. Look Philly is a UFC fighter. If he meant to stamp on Gooch then the grounds men would still be picking up pieces of the ginger wizard.

Eamon McGee's a tank and probably would've caused damage in the quarter-final if he'd stamped on that Mayo player as forcefully as possible, but he didn't - doesn't mean Eamon didn't it on purpose though. Same with most stamping incidents I can think of actually.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 02/09/2013 20:20:46    1473528

Moomoo my friend we did ok yesterday for a team you don't rate.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/09/2013 20:24:15    1473531

there was more than just the gouge, the kick/stamp, the ignored cynical trip . . .

does everyone still want the team that plays the best brand of football to win Sam?? Then let me be the first to say, COME ON MAYO!!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5298 - 02/09/2013 20:28:59    1473535

cavanman47

there was more than just the gouge, the kick/stamp, the ignored cynical trip . . .

does everyone still want the team that plays the best brand of football to win Sam?? Then let me be the first to say, COME ON MAYO!!

Ah that one was funny in fairness. No badness in it. I nearly fell off the couch laughing, he mounted him, literally!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 02/09/2013 20:48:01    1473553