Alleged eye gouge on Cooper

While I am continually disgusted by many Dublin fans behaviour off the pitch, I thought yesterday on the pitch was a very clean and fair game! If Carroll has done this then ban him, simple as that, if he has not then move on ................ lets just hope he does not get off on a technicality ........... again!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 02/09/2013 13:17:56    1473047

It's a picture nothing more if that is the only evidence I'm afraid the witch hunt won't last a day, I could take a still picture of Aidan O'Shea striking a Tyrone player in the throat will he miss the final as well ?

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 02/09/2013 13:28:15    1473062

ringo
County: Wexford

I was at the game yesterday, and I'm only becoming aware of the incident now. Great occasion, and credit to both counties.

O'Carroll's hands really have no business being anywhere near Gooch's face. I haven't seen McMahon's up close on video, but both should warrant investigation at least.

Slightly off topic, I saw one Dublin supporter throw a coin in the direction of the referee as he was coming off the field at full time. He was very close to a steward, but nothing seemed to come of it. Very bad form.

I saw a Kerry lad been escorted out by two Gardai. Whats your point? Looking to get another thread going now on Dublin supporters?

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 02/09/2013 13:36:04    1473070

Dermot Earley eye gouged Bryan Menton in last years leinster semi-final. Had to come off straight away and couldn't open his eyes for a good while after. Nothing was done about it.

No, he did not. Both players were fielding a high ball when that incident happened, Earley reached his hand out while looking upwards at the ball and caught him in the eye. It was unfortunate but was not deliberate. That is not gouging and that's a very unfair accusation you have made.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 02/09/2013 13:42:35    1473078

I was in the Canal End yesterday and have to say some of the stuff that the Dubs backs were at as the game wound down was disgraceful. J Cooper wrapped his two arms around the Gooch and stopped him from making any runs. Paul Flynn and McMahon goaded Donaghy repeatedly as the last couple of balls were cleared away. Rory O'Carroll went to town on the Gooch and eye gouged as we all now know.

The umpires should have taken action.

Blue.Steel (Longford) - Posts: 138 - 02/09/2013 13:42:37    1473079

sedico

ClassApart

1472995 Dermot Earley eye gouged Bryan Menton in last years leinster semi-final. Had to come off straight away and couldn't open his eyes for a good while after. Nothing was done about it. link

I recall that incident and it was not an eye gouge. Shocking thing to come out with but then it doesn't surprise me.

Menton most certainly was gouged by Dermot Early. Bryan himself spoke out about it the week after it had happened as did the meath managment.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 02/09/2013 13:48:50    1473091

Ah sure anyway... lets stop crowing on like gossiping aul biddies and just wait and see what happens...

Out of the 3 incidents

Cooper - was lucky IMO

ROC - sure a photo can make anything look bad.. exact example Gormley. Linesman saw nothing, Gooch didn't have to come off, Gooch didn't even stay down injured. IMO a perfect case of a still frame amplifying the true reality

Philly - The more I look the more I'm convinced that there is no clear cut answer - and so has no case to answer IMO -If this is brought up he'll def 100% get off, The CCCC wont even bother I reckon.

But hey until we know more then there's nothing else to add...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/09/2013 13:49:31    1473097

sedico

CaisleanCnucha

1473021 Can someone get me a video of this Philly McMahon incident or at least tell me when it was in the game? I missed it completely.

It'll be on RTE player Arsene.

Very well played, but does anyone actually know when the incident was?

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 02/09/2013 13:51:15    1473100

doublehop

1473078 Dermot Earley eye gouged Bryan Menton in last years leinster semi-final. Had to come off straight away and couldn't open his eyes for a good while after. Nothing was done about it.

No, he did not. Both players were fielding a high ball when that incident happened, Earley reached his hand out while looking upwards at the ball and caught him in the eye. It was unfortunate but was not deliberate. That is not gouging and that's a very unfair accusation you have made.

-----
And what would a still photograph of the indcident have shown. If ROC can be slandered for gouging on the basis of a still photograph would a still of the above have been any different? Isn't this the very point - a still photo is a very unfair means of accusing anyone in a game that moves at such pace and with so many bodies being thrown around the place?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 02/09/2013 13:51:30    1473101

Menton most certainly was gouged by Dermot Early. Bryan himself spoke out about it the week after it had happened as did the meath managment.

In fairness Jinxie, he did not. He has his head up looking at the ball when his hand makes contact with him. Menton is on his knees. It all happens in half a second. Caught him in the eye but probably couldn't have done it deliberately even if he tried. I actually have a photo snap shotted from RTE player in my work E-mail from the time which vindicates what I'm saying as I had this exact discussion with a Meath colleague in work. Just a pity it's impossible to upload photos on here.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 02/09/2013 13:55:35    1473107

http://cdn1.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/inpho0731563.jpg

Donaghy at his usual goading antics against Dublin players...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/09/2013 13:56:19    1473109

Well Joxer, a still photo would've at the very least showed that there was a ball involved in that incident. I don't see a ball anywhere near O'Carroll.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 02/09/2013 13:58:23    1473111

My god lads we have all been in the heat of battle in games in any sport but i cannot understand why a player would try eye gouge an opponent..Gooch shipped some punishment yesterday but its a testament to the player that he is that he got up on and got on with it..In my eyes he sealed himself as one of the greatest ever footballers of all time yesterday.

tubs12 (Limerick) - Posts: 41 - 02/09/2013 14:01:44    1473116

Now back to what the thread is really about and stop using it as a vehicle to make unfounded allegations against a Kildare player that happened in 2012.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 02/09/2013 14:08:41    1473123

If its proven, he should get a lengthy ban. While I agree a photo still is not conclusive, it sure looks horrendous.

I won't rush to judgment, but if it occurred my view of that player will plummet.

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 02/09/2013 14:14:48    1473130

doublehop

Well Joxer, a still photo would've at the very least showed that there was a ball involved in that incident. I don't see a ball anywhere near O'Carroll.

------
Gouging is gouging. Ball or no ball. What's good for the Goose....or should that be Gooch? :/

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 02/09/2013 14:15:00    1473131

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/788893/

Yes there it is Kieran Donahy 'goading' ROC. DOsnt look too bothered by it though. I suppose his fist isnt just under Donahy's chin.

jpcampion (Laois) - Posts: 194 - 02/09/2013 14:16:41    1473133

Blue.Steel
County: Longford

You're right the umpires should have taken action against Kerry fouling and delaying every single Cluxton kickout AND James O'Donoghue who kicked Johney Cooper in the 14min before striking him off the ball.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 02/09/2013 14:18:35    1473136

http://cdn1.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/inpho0731563.jpg

Donaghy at his usual goading antics against Dublin players...

Or he's protecting his neck http://www.sportsfile.com/id/788893/

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 02/09/2013 14:25:17    1473142

is there any video evidence for this gauging claim??

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1758 - 02/09/2013 14:35:22    1473151