Alleged eye gouge on Cooper

Look lads, I would hate to see any lads miss a All-Ireland Final due to questionable evidence. Dublin won the game fair and square. Move on and lets enjoy the final on 22 Sept.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 02/09/2013 12:10:49    1472949

Have to say the Video doesn't show the incident so the only thing to go by is the Photo. On this basis i don't think it would be fair to give him a ban as it is very inconclusive. If Rte have a different camera which caught the incident then it would be interesting to see but as it stands i don't think a ban should be given

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 02/09/2013 12:15:05    1472957

hurlingdub

If someone gouges your eye you will know all about it! Did the Gooch have to go off? Did he lose his sight? Lot of nonsense. Just an excuse to attack Dublin.

Is attempted gouging permitted in your book then?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 02/09/2013 12:19:29    1472960

StopTheLights

1472820 Why do the dubs feel the need to bring all the dirty little incidents into the game ?
They played great football that was a joy to behold .
Pushing after frees were awarded , Brennan lifting Gooch off the ground , McMahon kicking Gooch .
They were lucky to finish with 15 players still on the field .
They can play great football , I loved their aggressive style and commitment but cut out the stupidity .
Its not impressing anyone .
Up mayo !

----

It would be easier to take your neutral comments if you didn't throw in the last line there so I guess we know where you are coming from. I should imagine that you were not at the game. If you were then you would have seen a lot more going on off the ball from BOTH teams. Only one team finished with 14 men remember and it wasn't the team with the "dirty little incidents".

Take the blinkers off and look at things objectively. McMahon's trailing foot caught Gooch. It doesn't look intential to me but we have 30 fellas playing a high intensity, high paced contact sport here. It wasn't as though McMahon swung a fist at him. On the alleged eye gouging, I think this is also suspect. I would have expected Gooch to go mental had he been gouged and he would certainly have had to go off with blurred vision. So I'm not sure what other "dirty little incidents" you had in mind. If you are referring to players pushing each other then you really need to stick to chess. This was a high intensity AI semi-final not a game of ludo. Players were up for it and playing to win at all costs.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 02/09/2013 12:19:48    1472961

jimbo, I thought jinxie was describing a closed fist to the face as if it exonerated ROC, I just wanted to point out that a closed fist to the face is a red card offence itself. It is not like gormley's incident as it is undisputible that the fist intentionally went into the guys face, you cant deny that. It couldnt be proven with gormley, although in my opinion he did mean to catch him in the face but done it in such a way that it wasnt proveable. Im not saying he is guilty, as it is hard to say. Im just commenting on what is being said here.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/09/2013 12:26:01    1472968

It doesn't look good from the photo, but as others lads have said a video would settle this as the photo doesn't tell the full story. If it was intentional then there is no question Rory doesn't deserve to play for a long time, never mind the final.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 02/09/2013 12:26:37    1472970

StopTheLights fair point. What was brennan at lifting the gooch up like that? If that was a mayo player Id be ashamed of him. It offered nothing, and I think that stuff should be punished.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/09/2013 12:28:31    1472974

kerry74

1472949 Look lads, I would hate to see any lads miss a All-Ireland Final due to questionable evidence. Dublin won the game fair and square. Move on and lets enjoy the final on 22 Sept.

Here here... if you look over the thread there is very few Kerry posters getting involved.. similar to the Johnny Cooper "sending off" thread. My colleague is right Move on and lets enjoy the final on 22 Sept.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 02/09/2013 12:29:07    1472976

If we take the three incidents talked about in relation to Dublin players.

a. Cooper...think he was trying to toe poke the ball but Cooper (C) was too quick. Though not intentional was probably a yellow.

b. Philly...at the time didn't see it but looked at in on the video (real time not slow motion) and thought it was accidental. Maybe Philly good have got his foot out of the way faster but it was neither a kick nor a stamp...something more like a trailing leg.

c. ROC....lads photo's do lie! Need to see the whole thing (and in real-time) to judge. If it was as bad a gouge as the photo shows there would be marks on the eye(s).

The Dublin full-back line was certainly in the forefront of all the action yesterday!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 02/09/2013 12:34:29    1472984

Horsebox77

kerry74

1472949 Look lads, I would hate to see any lads miss a All-Ireland Final due to questionable evidence. Dublin won the game fair and square. Move on and lets enjoy the final on 22 Sept.

Here here... if you look over the thread there is very few Kerry posters getting involved.. similar to the Johnny Cooper "sending off" thread. My colleague is right Move on and lets enjoy the final on 22 Sept.

Correct. Unless video evidence then move on.
Gooch will probably agree there was nothing to see at the time. Boom Boom!!

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 02/09/2013 12:36:44    1472988

02/09/2013 12:34:29
witnof

If we take the three incidents talked about in relation to Dublin players.

a. Cooper...think he was trying to toe poke the ball but Cooper (C) was too quick. Though not intentional was probably a yellow.

b. Philly...at the time didn't see it but looked at in on the video (real time not slow motion) and thought it was accidental. Maybe Philly good have got his foot out of the way faster but it was neither a kick nor a stamp...something more like a trailing leg.

c. ROC....lads photo's do lie! Need to see the whole thing (and in real-time) to judge. If it was as bad a gouge as the photo shows there would be marks on the eye(s).

The Dublin full-back line was certainly in the forefront of all the action yesterday!

I am sure the Gooch could answer that. Getting an eye gouge is extremely painful and if it did happen I am sure he would of went absolute mental with the pain.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 02/09/2013 12:37:29    1472992

Dermot Earley eye gouged Bryan Menton in last years leinster semi-final. Had to come off straight away and couldn't open his eyes for a good while after. Nothing was done about it. link

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 02/09/2013 12:42:25    1472995

I was at the game yesterday, and I'm only becoming aware of the incident now. Great occasion, and credit to both counties.

O'Carroll's hands really have no business being anywhere near Gooch's face. I haven't seen McMahon's up close on video, but both should warrant investigation at least.

Slightly off topic, I saw one Dublin supporter throw a coin in the direction of the referee as he was coming off the field at full time. He was very close to a steward, but nothing seemed to come of it. Very bad form.

ringo (Wexford) - Posts: 384 - 02/09/2013 12:43:02    1472996

ClassApart

1472995 Dermot Earley eye gouged Bryan Menton in last years leinster semi-final. Had to come off straight away and couldn't open his eyes for a good while after. Nothing was done about it. link

I recall that incident and it was not an eye gouge. Shocking thing to come out with but then it doesn't surprise me.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 02/09/2013 12:47:33    1473007

Ringo - That sort of stuff just isn't on. I hope there is video of the incident and that so called supporter can be banned for an extented period of eons.

thebandwagon (Dublin) - Posts: 10 - 02/09/2013 12:50:25    1473012

Unless the Gooch makes a statement that photo won't be conclusive enough. I thought McMahon made an eejit out of himself yesterday. Anyway I hope he isn't banned, I want both teams to be as near to full strength as possible so there can be no ifs and buts from either side.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 02/09/2013 12:51:55    1473014

Can someone get me a video of this Philly McMahon incident or at least tell me when it was in the game? I missed it completely.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 02/09/2013 12:59:58    1473021

CaisleanCnucha

1473021 Can someone get me a video of this Philly McMahon incident or at least tell me when it was in the game? I missed it completely.

It'll be on RTE player Arsene.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 02/09/2013 13:04:04    1473024

ringo
County: Wexford

I was at the game yesterday, and I'm only becoming aware of the incident now. Great occasion, and credit to both counties.

O'Carroll's hands really have no business being anywhere near Gooch's face. I haven't seen McMahon's up close on video, but both should warrant investigation at least.

Slightly off topic, I saw one Dublin supporter throw a coin in the direction of the referee as he was coming off the field at full time. He was very close to a steward, but nothing seemed to come of it. Very bad form.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/09/2013 13:04:58    1473026

The Flaker.

Unless the Gooch makes a statement that photo won't be conclusive enough. I thought McMahon made an eejit out of himself yesterday. Anyway I hope he isn't banned, I want both teams to be as near to full strength as possible so there can be no ifs and buts from either side.

Exactly. I hope no retrospective investigation, if any even happens, would lead to any man missing his chance to play in an All Ireland Final. Game is over, Dublin won. I wish we could just start talking about how class a game it was. Delighted the full match is on the Player.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8153 - 02/09/2013 13:16:57    1473045