This topic has been closed. No further posting is allowed.
Will Philly McMahon be sighted for his cowardly kick....?
velo (Mayo) - Posts: 33 - 02/09/2013 10:02:14
The eye gouging incident has to be looked at by video - still photos don't tell the whole story.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6484 - 02/09/2013 10:06:45
Spot on jimbo.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/09/2013 10:08:53
brendtheredhand County: Tyrone Posts: 8060
1472717 Yeah, but is he being cynical, because that seems to generate more column inches than cowardly physical assaults of this nature, discuss?
----
Yes eye gouging of a Kerry player. Now where have we seen that before?
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 02/09/2013 10:09:34
slayer County: Limerick Posts: 4727
1472767 The eye gouging incident has to be looked at by video - still photos don't tell the whole story.
Listen not for one second am I condoning this incident... O'Carroll should miss the final if something more conclusive comes out.
That sort of carry on is awful.
But I still have to agree with the above point...
Going on photographic evidence would suggest that Gormely could easily be found guilty of assault...
It looked that bad...
But the video of that incident tells a whole different story...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/09/2013 10:09:50
@jimbo have you seen the video of McMahon's kick?
I agree with you completely, OCarroll cannot be done based on a photo only
BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 02/09/2013 10:15:52
slayer County: Limerick Posts: 4727
1472767 The eye gouging incident has to be looked at by video - still photos don't tell the whole story.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/09/2013 10:15:59
There was no eye gouging - utter lies.
Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 02/09/2013 10:17:59
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 10897
1472754 First off - it doesn't look good... it looks like he should miss the final IMO
BUT WAIT A SECOND...
If you are going to convict someone of a snap shot in time
Then Conor Gormley would have missed the semi-final...
Remember how that shot looked frozen in time... a closed fist to the face is what it looked like!
If you hadn't seen the video you'd swear it was a direct punch straight to the jaw based on the photo alone
themaster I think posted a shot of the incident... go have a look yourselves
But there's a completely different story to tell when you see it in real time
You see the video AND it's a completely different story altogether and he was rightly cleared of that incident
- Now please tell me if that's the truth or not!
If it was up to the photo alone he would have missed the semi which would have been an injustice to the player and to Tyrone
Based on that incident I think it's important not to judge on a photo as has been correctly pointed out by a number of posters
You then have posters on personal agenda's such as Brend to highlight injustices against his own county
But in doing so he's ignoring an incident that happened to one of his own county men... which could have seen him unjustly punished.
Going on photographic evidence alone...
--------
Perfect post on that Jim. Imagine if the shoulder charge to Cluxton's chest had been frozen or the shoulder charge by O'Donoghue to Cooper's chest or what if somebody analysed Galvin's antics holding his head after Cooper pushed him in the BACK, an attempt to get Cooper sent off.
People need to cop on and look at that game in terms of entertainment value and the effort of 30+ amateurs who displayed unbelievable levels of commitment, athleticism and skill. Fantastic stuff. The begrudgers will always come on and knock those heading for the top. I'm sure Mayo would love it if half the Dublin backs were suspended for the final but sure look we have a decent panel there anyway and depriving a guy of a place in a final for a frozen picture is outrageous.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 02/09/2013 10:18:25
Muckrosshead:
As I said I'm not condoning anything... but it's just plain wrong to judge an incident on the shutter speed of a camera
Which is quicker than the blink of an eye...
The Gormley incident is concrete proof of this.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/09/2013 10:19:03
BlastCalyle County: Mayo Posts: 23
1472786 @jimbo have you seen the video of McMahon's kick?
I agree with you completely, OCarroll cannot be done based on a photo only
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/09/2013 10:22:06
This is a serious incident as is Mcmahons stamp.If the CCC has any balls it will investigate both.If they were Tyrone players can you imagine the outcry
jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1744 - 02/09/2013 10:22:48
There was no deliberate lashing out with the boot to trip Gooch, there was no deliberate stamp on the head of Gooch, there was no deliberate eye gouge on Gooch. Dublin played the game in a fair and sporting manner, it was all a massive coincidence that Gooch was taken out of the game. Yeah right,lol.
bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 02/09/2013 10:23:49
I think saying things like 'wouldn't happen if they were teamX players' is wide of the mark.
We need to examine each incident in it's own merits and stop making comparisons that cloud the issue. Every time an incident happens in GAA you hear a comparison or mention of another team.
Forget who they play for & analyse as you would like to be treated on the field. At Inter County level I don't see any evidence of bias from the GAA or cccc or referees. We can all be passionate about our own team's plight but we need to start making decisions in the best interests of the game.
I think many Dublin fans have been fair on this topic today and if it it proven the Dublin player deliberately gouged Cooper then he misses the final. If it was pushing & shoving that accidentally resulted in a finger in the eye then that's different.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6484 - 02/09/2013 10:30:22
http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/10194750/
56 minutes and 30 seconds into the match, it shows the replay of the Philly McMahon kick
BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 02/09/2013 10:31:15
Well said Slayer but the CCC MUST investigate both O Carroll and Mcmahon
jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1744 - 02/09/2013 10:32:11
the CCC MUST investigate both O Carroll and Mcmahon
As far as I know they will as long as the referee did not deal with either incident on the field at the time?
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6484 - 02/09/2013 10:33:47
jobber County: Westmeath Posts: 202
1472810 Well said Slayer but the CCC MUST investigate both O Carroll and Mcmahon ___________
That's only fair. That's what will happen I'd say...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/09/2013 10:35:15
Well said Slayer but the CCC MUST investigate both O Carroll and Mcmahon
And the fact that they wont will highlight your bitter begrudgery
Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 02/09/2013 10:37:26
Why do the dubs feel the need to bring all the dirty little incidents into the game ? They played great football that was a joy to behold . Pushing after frees were awarded , Brennan lifting Gooch off the ground , McMahon kicking Gooch . They were lucky to finish with 15 players still on the field . They can play great football , I loved their aggressive style and commitment but cut out the stupidity . Its not impressing anyone . Up mayo !
StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 432 - 02/09/2013 10:37:48