Why have minor commentary in Irish?

Ive no problem with someone saying they would rather watch the minor match in English and an option button to choose would prob be no harm, but the master and htaem your slating of the Irish language your own language is terrible to hear, your Irish not English its your language ,it shouldn't be judged on whether it gets you a job or not. It should be viewed as one part of your history and identity , a language that has been banned and people persecuted for speaking it, it didn't have an easy existence like English did and should be cherished. If you don't want to speak it fine , but don't treat it as something of a hinderance its far from that. funny ye give out about the language lads but ye are probably the first to tell locals when your on holiday that your Irish not English.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/08/2013 21:20:00    1466805

Htaem

uibhfhaili1986

For those who say it is pointless to start reviving the language it is no more pointless than any other country speaking in their native tongue.We are the only country in europe who has their own language and doesnt speak it.

Really? Correct me if I'm wrong but don't the Welsh and the Scottish have their own languages and they speak English also, anyway listen the Irish language is not that important, don't worry about it.

Technically Wales and Scotland aren't countries.

Isn't it curious that the 3 Celtic nations close to England don't speak their own languages.I wonder why.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 23/08/2013 21:52:00    1466823

I am Irish, which is why I would tell people I'm Irish, I'm not being smart but what the hell else would I tell people? Listen I have absolutely no time for the language, it's just not my thing and that's it, I make no apology for that nor should I have to.

But here's the thing, anybody who does want to speak the language, fairplay to them, I mean that, having a choice is wonderful.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/08/2013 21:56:59    1466828

Tá brón orm. Last sentence got cut of on me.

Meant to say bye bye "lár na páirce" here comes our sanitised Irish language free commentary.

Buaiteoir (Tyrone) - Posts: 15 - 23/08/2013 21:59:10    1466831

Htaem

1465364 Ye I think it's a bit annoying listening to Irish when the minor matches are on, English is my first language as it is for most people on this Island and I think the national broadcaster should broadcast in a language that the majority of people can understand, it's a simple ask really.

If you don't like it get up off your a**e, find the remote control and push the mute button. Better still get up off your a**e and go to the matches. One of the aims of the Association is the promotion of the Irish language. This is one way of fulfilling that aim.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6196 - 24/08/2013 09:55:31    1466847

The only thing pitiful is that excuse of an excuse for an argument. The irish language is pretty much useless, unfortunate but clearly the case. The only jobs that come from learning irish - is teaching other people irish. Functionally, it has no use at all. Its only use these days, is for a people to feel smug by using it in the presence of others who dont speak it, that's it.

TG4 ?? Everybody works there for free ?? They are not real jobs ?? Ni doigh liom go bhfuil an ceart agat a Mhaistir. Se mo dhoigh freisin o thoabh an cuid deireanach de do "post" nach bhfuil an ceart agat freisin. Labhraionn na milte daoine an Ghaeilge o dhualgais sna Gaeltachtai.Ta an iomarca seafoide le ra agat o thaobh a lan abhar agus ta an seafoid sin le feiceail aris uait anseo. Ma ta Gaeilge agat b'fheidir go bhfreagroidh tu as Gaeilge.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6196 - 24/08/2013 10:07:23    1466850

I cannot believe anti Irish language posters on this thread. One of the founding principles of the GAA was the preservation of our native language. To call yourself a GAA supporter and at the same time call to minimise the use of the Irish language is hypocritical.
Where will this stop?
Should we stop using the Gaelic names of our counties?
Should we stop printing the names of the team member in Irish in the programmes?
Should we stop using terms such as banisteoir?

How about our National Anthem? Should we start singing that in English now as well?
Let's get real here. Nothing stirs passions so much in a true Gael like a rousing song or hearing the language being proudly spoken. There are now more people in Ireland using the Gaeilge in their daily lives than there has been in over 100 years especially among young adults and our youth.
There has been enough appeasement and erosion of our culture in our mad rush to ditch our language and culture and embrace all things British and American. It is if some people in this country are embarrassed to be Irish.

Beirigí Bua

Buaiteoir (Tyrone) - Posts: 15 - 24/08/2013 10:43:01    1466861

These are the very same people who when they go on holidays to Spain or Portugal wouldn't dream of using the cúpla focail of the local lingo because "why should I?". That attitude is arrogant, ignorant & inexcusably lazy. Educate yourself about your own culture & you will appreciate the other cultures you encounter all the better. Language is a part of that.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 24/08/2013 11:06:32    1466877

Thanks for the advice Greegrass, you've changed my life.

And no course we shouldn't do any of those things Buaiteoir, I have no problem singing a song with Irish in it because I can choose to do that. But I have to admit that I would be more than willing to compromise our anthem if it meant a united Ireland, nothing should get in the way of that.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/08/2013 11:12:27    1466879

Dead wrong Keeper7, you've outed me, I love learning phrases in different languages especially latino languages. Infact when I was in school I really wanted to learn spanish but as luck would have it, it wasn't an option till I was in 3rd year.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/08/2013 11:20:55    1466886

Htaem

1466879 Thanks for the advice Greegrass, you've changed my life.

Failte romhat. Now go ahead and heed and stop your moaning.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6196 - 24/08/2013 11:26:31    1466890

Fair play to ya so. The cúpla focail of your own language can be just as rewarding!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 24/08/2013 11:29:20    1466893

That is true greengrass, however, how far are any of the tg4 actors going to go in their profession acting in irish speaking television? I wouldnt say there are a whole lot of career opportunities there as it is very niche-market and I would hazard a guess that most would jump at the chance to move into english-speaking television. My point was more along the lines of schools - irish is compulsory when the career opportunities it offers are very very limited, with many based on subsidisation. People would be better served spending more time on maths or science or computing (i.e. the things that are going to get us out of the recession) and having an option of irish if they so desire. I have no issue with irish, I just dont think it should be the only option for people, in any situation. It is good that we keep our language, but it also has it's place.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/08/2013 11:35:28    1466901

Christ, use it, don't use it, love it, dislike it, care, don't care.

1884 is a longtime ago, times have changed, I'm in it for the game, not the culture. I've no problem with the cultural side, it's just not for me. I am 100% GAA, played at a high level and promote the game at every opportunity. Half my family are Fainne wearers. Am I a disgrace to them because I don't wear it?

I also have a fanatic interest in the history of our GAMES, as in past results, rule changes, attendances etc.

Do not dare accuse me of not being a Gael!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8818 - 24/08/2013 11:47:19    1466909

keeper7
These are the very same people who when they go on holidays to Spain or Portugal wouldn't dream of using the cúpla focail of the local lingo because "why should I?". That attitude is arrogant, ignorant & inexcusably lazy. Educate yourself about your own culture & you will appreciate the other cultures you encounter all the better. Language is a part of that.

There is actually no link between those points whatsoever. If I could speak to somebody in their local language when on holidays of course I would do so - out of good manners. However, the point you raise has more in common with people who choose to speak irish when in the company of people who dont speak it - a highly ignorant thing to do, which many try to excuse with exactly the type of things you are coming out with, i.e. telling me to educate myself - so I need lessons in excluding people and being ignorant towards them is it? No thanks mate.
Similarly, it has a lot in common with those who take the opinion that english speakers, who are in the majority, must watch minor games in irish. Surely the correct thing to do, in both instances is allow for both sets of people?

So basically, you have just ridiculed the very thing you were supporting...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/08/2013 12:01:14    1466915

1466901 That is true greengrass, however, how far are any of the tg4 actors going to go in their profession acting in irish speaking television? I wouldnt say there are a whole lot of career opportunities there as it is very niche-market and I would hazard a guess that most would jump at the chance to move into english-speaking television. My point was more along the lines of schools - irish is compulsory when the career opportunities it offers are very very limited, with many based on subsidisation. People would be better served spending more time on maths or science or computing (i.e. the things that are going to get us out of the recession) and having an option of irish if they so desire. I have no issue with irish, I just dont think it should be the only option for people, in any situation. It is good that we keep our language, but it also has it's place.

Acting is not the only job opportunity in TG4. Production, editing, camera, continuity, research, journalism, documentary making and advertising sales are some of the opportunities available. All of the people in TG4 would probably take the opportunity to move on to bigger and better things but isn't that true of most people in most tv stations ?

I agree with you in relation to Irish being compulsory in second level schools. I would make it optional. I believe then that you would have a group of young people learning the language and it's literature because they want to do so and in that way a genuine love for and interest in the language and it's literature can be fostered.

In relation to your point about Maths and Science and what people should be studying I believe schools should be put in a position where they can offer as wide a range of subjects as possible to their students. I don't believe it should be the function of schools to exclusively provide operatives for industry and the economy. Industry should make itself attractive to young people in order that they choose to become part of it of their own volition. I believe it is the function of education to contribute to the development of young people in such a way that they are equipped to choose their path in life and to follow that path wherever it may take them. I can only dream I suppose Master

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6196 - 24/08/2013 12:21:34    1466931

Is tradisiún é agus ba chóir an craoladh a leanúint as Gaeilge. Tá cumas sa Ghaeilge ag na buachaillí atá ag imirt na cluichí seo agus ag a co-aois mar tá siad ag déanamh staidéar sa Ghaeilge faoi láthair. Tá suim mór ag an bpobail sna cláracha spórt ar TG4 agus is doigh liom go bhfuil fhios ag RTE faoi sin. Tá na Gaeilgeoirí an bun cloch don Cumann Lúthchleas Gael.Is iontach an Ghaeilge. Leanfaidh an Ghaeilge abú.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 602 - 24/08/2013 13:13:16    1466963

Please stick to the topic at hand. This thread is about Irish commentary on the minor game, not an argument about the Irish language in general. Anything off topic will not be posted. Thanks Admin.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 24/08/2013 13:18:45    1466969

I see you're running scared TheMaster. A lot of questions posed to you here which you have chosen to ignore

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 24/08/2013 14:09:15    1466994

Actually never mind. I'm not coming back to this thread, because a cursory scan of the comments clearly demonstrate that the battle is TheMaster, bryanadams, realdub (an fíorGhael cróga cois Life!) and Htaem v Rest of Hogan Stand.

In conclusion, ahem- "Ná bí an dallamullóg ort, táim céad faoin gcéad i bhfábhar an Bhéarla, ach amháin muna n-úsaideann éinne é, in aon gcomhthéacs, in áit a bhfuil baol ann go gcloisfeadh nó léifeadh mé é. Aontaím iomlán leis an bhfeachtas é a chur chun cinn, ach cibé meáin a n-úsáidtear don chúis sin, sin é an bealach mícheart!"

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 24/08/2013 14:17:36    1466998