the true dubs can take defeat on the chin. fairly evident that the fairweather ones who dont know alot about hurling are blaming the referee . sad really
sharpshooter23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 187 - 11/08/2013 20:59:42
bitterly dissapointed. i felt dublin never hurled to the same level we did against either galway or kilkenny today. our first touch was terrible,time and time again players couldnt lift the sliotar. 3 key moments changed the match in corks favour. 1 the sending off 2 the point when paul ryan hit and was in turn given as a free for cork and the keeper hit a monster point from it meaning instead of a an equaliser for dublin,cork in turn went two points ahead.that was as goos as a goal for crok at that stage. 3 that terrible goal to conceed,it was very simliar to against tipp two years ago a needless mistake. near the end typified the dublin performance of first touch problems when danny sutcliffe i think it was fumbled a ball over the sideline and he in 20 yards of space all alone. fair play to cork they were the better team over the 70 minutes,but not by 5points i have to say. canot see how this is been classed as epic,yes very entertaining and high scoring match but the defending particularly in the first half by both teams was challenge match stuff,players were hitting points for fun in yards of space. neither side would have been happy before a ball was pucked if you said you would concede 15 points or 1-11 in 35 minutes.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2013 21:04:04
Gutted, but satisfied at the same time!
The lads showed fight, heart and desire and it was Corks cuteness that won it in the end!
You wont hear me utter a word about the ref, it was a fair call to send O'Dwyer off! Rushe should have walked too, so no complaints from Ol Snuffy!
Well done Cork!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 11/08/2013 21:07:05
banner_boy County: Clare Posts: 1239
1459171 A key point on all the sending offs this year is that modern inter-county hurlers are very intelligent in that they know how to utilize the extra man in a way teams in previous decades didn't. Invariably the team with 15 places their most mobile and solid defender as a sweeper in the full back line and at worst it negates the likelihood of conceding a goal. The days of 14 men raising their game once they lose a man appears to be gone.
yes but daly didnt change his tactic of playing two men inside when we went down to 14 men and were 4 points down. surely he had to be adventurous and send conal keeney to full forward and search for a goal
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2013 21:09:02
waynoI
the man hates hurling. sure how bad man move on. The dubs will win the football and youl get your few pints in coppers. Good luck ta ya
Fishermantom (Limerick) - Posts: 569 - 11/08/2013 21:11:37
sharpshooter23 County: Westmeath Posts: 81
1459175 the true dubs can take defeat on the chin. fairly evident that the fairweather ones who dont know alot about hurling are blaming the referee . sad really
hope this comment was not aimed at me as i have clearly stated cork were the better team over the 70 minutes. i said the refs performance was poor thats true it was no doubt about that. he made amess of alot of big decisions and should not have sent o dwyer off but in turn should have sent rushe off as a striking offence is a straight red card. the refs performance was a main talking point in this game just becuase we lost does not mean it should be brushed under the carpet as been a sore loser for talking about it
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2013 21:15:33
I can take defeat I was the first on here last year to congratulate Mayo after they bet us what I can't take is a ref totally one sided in his refereeing of a game like he was for Cork today.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/08/2013 21:16:59
Well done to Cork, in Nash they have a fantastic keeper, and the skill levels of their backs was superb. Congrats and good luck in the final.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 11/08/2013 21:17:36
Redfoot County: Cork Posts: 362
1459055 All the dubs that suddenly found out about this thing called hurling a few months ago, are now giving out about the ref?
Shoulder to the chest is a yellow card, he did it twice thats 2 yellows. simple.
dublin is the chelsea of GAA, get most of the money, allways have home advantage, and still cant win.
money and poached players wont get ye titles.
No but it seems having refs in your pocket will!
Well done Corkcelt & Bennybunny.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/08/2013 21:17:49
You are right banner boy. All teams now have a pre prepared plan for either going a player down or a player ahead. Dublin had already withdrawn a player to the sweeper role before they lost a man but as far as I could see kept the same formation even though they were a man down.
corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 11/08/2013 21:18:30
I think the 5 week difference might have played a part in Dublins sharpness hill16. If you go back to the Galway game, Dublins first touch was magnificent. They were converting some really tricky scores, passing the ball and playing on the run with real panache. But their old failings came back to haunt them today. You can still see the subtle differences between Dublin and the traditional hurling counties when it comes to just the small details like pick ups or passes etc. But that will develop further as time goes on. That's not to say Dublin don't have some real hurlers though.
keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 11/08/2013 21:47:36
Dublin made a massive mistake by not playing club matches during the 5 week lay off. As Cork showed, they've club matches next weekend. Wexford are in U-21 final and club matches are going ahead full steam. There is nothing like them to keep players sharp and on thier toes. A lesson for next year I think.
Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 12/08/2013 08:56:11
Good on you Cork, Maybe both Dublin teams will loose in the semis.
kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 12/08/2013 09:13:34
compare Laois and Dublin 10 years ago, they were at the same level. if Laois got the investment Dublin did they would be competing in semi finals.
The GAA play with loaded dice when it comes to Dublin. forget about fairness.
Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 12/08/2013 10:08:14
clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 3954
1459071 Well done Cork it's just a pity you keep needing the ref to get you's out of jail
Are you for real?????? You have posted the same comment around seven or eight times now on this thread. In fact you are the only Dub I know saying that the ref robbed you.. Get a grip lad. The best team won. I was there yesterday and it was a fantastic occasion. Brilliant hurling, great scores, it had it all. So please CD stop your whinging and be a little bit gracious in defeat.
bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 428 - 12/08/2013 10:08:39
Redfoot County: Cork Posts: 363
1459324 compare Laois and Dublin 10 years ago, they were at the same level. if Laois got the investment Dublin did they would be competing in semi finals.
The GAA play with loaded dice when it comes to Dublin. forget about fairness.
------------------------------------------------
You will now back that statement up with figures or crawl back into you wee hole. As has been stated by the DCB Chairman last week, all counies in Leinster get the same money proportionally. For every euro the Leinster Council give the DCB the DCB are matching euro and more.
No one has even come on here and shown that the DCB get more money than they generate for the GAA, simply because they cannot.
Jesus bad losers are one thing but bad winner!
witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 12/08/2013 10:19:07
Clondalkin, seriously give it a rest you sound like the worst sore loser. I think I was standing along side you on the hill yesterday. If you want to make a point about the match, talk about the skill, the passion, the atmosphere. Dublin will be back again, their a fantastic team. Cant wait for September 08th which hopefully will be another cracker! UP THE REBELS !!!!
rebelfi (Cork) - Posts: 76 - 12/08/2013 11:31:52
keithlemon County: Australia Posts: 101
1459242 I think the 5 week difference might have played a part in Dublins sharpness hill16. If you go back to the Galway game, Dublins first touch was magnificent. They were converting some really tricky scores, passing the ball and playing on the run with real panache. But their old failings came back to haunt them today. You can still see the subtle differences between Dublin and the traditional hurling counties when it comes to just the small details like pick ups or passes etc. But that will develop further as time goes on. That's not to say Dublin don't have some real hurlers though.
i agree with you that dublin do seem to still do the subtle things differant to the so called traditionals and that dublins first touch against galway was spot on compared to yesterday. but i dont buy into the whole 5 week break to blame. they had 5 weeks to work on all these things that surely cannot mean you disimprove on things like this instead you should be honing these skills.kilkenny never had aproblem with these breaks and dublin footballers in 2011 put in their performance of the year when beating tyrone after a 5 week break.limerick have the same 5 week break also going into next weeks match so i think had dublin not have played 5 matches in 5 weeks i dont think there would have been half the talk about the whole break.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2013 11:32:46
rebelfi County: Cork Posts: 56
1459394 Clondalkin, seriously give it a rest you sound like the worst sore loser. I think I was standing along side you on the hill yesterday. If you want to make a point about the match, talk about the skill, the passion, the atmosphere. Dublin will be back again, their a fantastic team. Cant wait for September 08th which hopefully will be another cracker! UP THE REBELS !!!!
why do hurling only peoeple always only gloss over the good points of a match. yes there were lots of scores but also terrible defending. there was acynical tackle to rival sean cavanagh but nobody wants to mention that. i love both game football and hurling but im getting sick and tried of people fantisizing that hurling is just 100& this or that theres never any time given to the other side of the coin how there was 27 scores conceded in 35 mins to me says alot about the defending and to hear the ref being praised for letting things go is shambolic. we have rules for a reason in hurling and when your player is fouled and you dont get a free and the other team goes up the other end and gets a point that is wrong its unfair and no amount of analysts saying its great to see the game let flow will change that
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2013 11:54:35
Cork lads only for the ref wrongly sent off our player you would not have won that game. I'm sick and tired of referee's ruining inter county matches with ridiculous red cards. Two minors sent off in the game beforehand for absolutely nothing , Aidan O Shea sent off last week for nothing Henry the week before. Referees need to know its not soccer ffs
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/08/2013 11:58:02