Dublin v Cork - All Ireland Hurling semi-final

Prefer the footballers*

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/08/2013 19:42:54    1459059

All the dubs that suddenly found out about this thing called hurling a few months ago, are now giving out about the ref?

Shoulder to the chest is a yellow card, he did it twice thats 2 yellows. simple.

dublin is the chelsea of GAA, get most of the money, allways have home advantage, and still cant win.

money and poached players wont get ye titles.

All the Dubs ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/08/2013 19:44:23    1459061

Well done Cork it's just a pity you keep needing the ref to get you's out of jail.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/08/2013 19:48:40    1459071

I was knackered just watching it. Well Done to the Dublin and Cork lad for giving us what was undoubtedly the best game of the championship. Heart broken for Dublin but that's sport. Good luck to the Cork team in the final. It would be a shame to put on performance of that magnitude and then come away with nothing at the end of the season. We were beaten by giving away a soft goal and not taking frees at vital times. Its been a great year for Dublin hurling and hopefully Daly will stay on but none could blame him if he steps down due to family commitments.

Looking forward to the Clare Limerick game, hopefully it will be another cracker.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 11/08/2013 20:00:48    1459085

Redfoot

All the dubs that suddenly found out about this thing called hurling a few months ago, are now giving out about the ref?

Shoulder to the chest is a yellow card, he did it twice thats 2 yellows. simple.

dublin is the chelsea of GAA, get most of the money, allways have home advantage, and still cant win.

------
Very gracious in victory! Well done to the real, non-bitter, Cork fans. Dubs marked loosely in the first half and we were duly punished. I thought we fought very bravely in the second but crucial frees missed by Ryan and that Cork goal killed us. Like most I thought the sending off was harsh but Rushe should have walked anyway. Great game and great ad for hurling. Wish Cork all the best in the final. Some good banter and great atmosphere there today. Well done to the lads on a very courageous display.

Let's hope the footballers can grab some silverware now.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 11/08/2013 20:01:04    1459086

Well done Cork it's just a pity you keep needing the ref to get you's out of jail.

ill ask again are you for real? Your the man who will call other sour losers when they blame a ref for losing a game but have no problem doing it yourself

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 11/08/2013 20:10:26    1459101

A mighty game ruined by a sending off that was wrong - whats happened hurling referee's

Also, how many times can Cork get the rub of the green? Lads getting technically correct red cards rescinded, then Henry getting the line for no reason - today was a disgrace

A couple of years back the CCCC went to town to make sure Kerry were not going to compete in the football All-Ireland and Cork went onto win it. Everyone knew that Cork team couldn't beat Kerry in Croker

Franky boy - you have the moves!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 11/08/2013 20:11:12    1459102

Lads, if the referee hadnt sent off O'Dwyer then Rushe would have walked. James Owens had a good game today and did everything to let the game flow. Again, it comes down to the rule book and referees have to referee to it.

Dublin have been a revelation this year and well done to all concerned but those cribbing about refereeing decisions would do well to remember that their goal against us in Wexford park the player dropped the hurl. Win some, lose some.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 11/08/2013 20:19:40    1459115

waynoI

1459052 waynol i dont understand why you're so local on this thread if you dont even like Dublin hurlers ?

Never ever said I didn't like the hurlers, Just that I prefer the hurlers and it doesn't affect or hurt me when the hurlers lose.

Someone take the mike off that man, he's on the stage too long ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 11/08/2013 20:23:42    1459119

Redfoot

Lots of Cork fans only discovered hurling today as well.There were not too many at the Clare game (certainly not 30,000 anyway)

If you played the game, you would know that is not quite true. It might be black and white in the rule book. It is different shades of grey on the field. Sometimes it is not even a free. You would have to play the game to know that I suppose.

???????????????????????????????????

Focusing on the word 'poached'...could you name them?

Here is a mantra for you:

HUMBLE in victory. Gracious in defeat.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 11/08/2013 20:27:40    1459124

Taxi for waynoi!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 11/08/2013 20:29:03    1459127

Good man bennybunny, I think Redfoot is still wandering around for soothing cream to treat that burn!! This shows the genuine Cork supporters from the bandwagon-jumping fools in the space of 2 posts!

I don't think anyone can stop Cork now to be honest - they've visibly gone up a gear since the Munster final. I'd love to get another crack at them all the same though, and see can Honan and McGrath locate the GPS co-ordinates of the back of the net this time round. We made a hero out of Anthony Nash last time around.

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 11/08/2013 20:36:43    1459138

bitterly dissapointed.
felt dublin didnt hurl to anywhere near the level shown in the leinster final.
conceeding 15 points by half time was always a bad sign but it was how loose the defence was that was annoying.
indeed both sides defended very loose it was like a challenge match,little or no tackles going in and turned into a shoot out which was not what dublin would have wanted.
a few key moments turned the game corks favour.
the sending off was one but the ref had been poor all day.
the second was the moment when paul ryan scored a point only for the ball to be given as a free for cork for handling it 3 times and the cork keeper in turn landed a monster point from the free,this ment instead of ryan equalising the match cork in turn went two points clear at that stage it was as good as a goal for them.
the third moment was the cork goal whcih simliar to the last time we got this far against tipp was a stupid goal to give away.
it was typical of dublins performance all day our first touch was terrible,time and time again players failed to pick the sliotar up first time and none more so then at the end when sutcliffe i think it was fumbled it out over the sideline when he was in 20 yards of space by himself.fair play to cork they deserved the win over the 70 minutes but 5 points was never a true reflection of the scoreline.its just disapointing that dublin could never reach the level they played at against kilkenny(twice) and galway.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2013 20:38:48    1459145

martinprince

Cork defending a 4 point lead in last few minutes, Dublin coming strong, kept playing good hard hurling. No need for cynical fouling. What a sport, great example for greatest game in the world.

did you not see the foul on the dublin forward bearing down on goal that resulted in the last chance free at the end.
that to me is the same as sean cavanagh they both gave away a free to stop a goal scoring chance

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2013 20:40:52    1459147

51longago

1459025 Tradition lives on, tis great to see the jacks foaming. Back in yer box now.

Classy as ever... jog on. I hope Tyrone put you in your box. Mayo - bad losers, worse winners..

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 11/08/2013 20:41:50    1459150

I know Waynol giving out about the hurling all week and now he's the spokesman for Dublin hurling on here.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/08/2013 20:41:56    1459151

Contradicting yourself there a bit wayno. You said earlier in the thread:
"Rushe would never have struck out if O'Dwyer was still on the pitch."
Ridiculous comment!!
There is absolutely no way you can prove or disprove that.

Yet by the same rationalization you've come to the conclusion that
I think the ref probably doubted his own decision to give O'Dwyer the second yellow and therefore only gave Rushe a yellow to even it out

So let me get this right, you know for sure that the ref would have sent Rushe off if O'Dwyer hadn't? Surely there's no way you can prove or disprove that???

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 11/08/2013 20:45:32    1459160

Can anyone give me a good reason, why 2 yellows equaling a red, is used the same way in both hurling & football. They are 2 totally different games. There is a lot of cynical fouling in Football and an early yellow for this offence at least cuts down on cynical play by the guy yellow carded. There is a lot less of petty fouling in hurling, however you can have a lad going in with a legitimate shoulder charge maybe the target turns or the charger is off line and doesn't catch him squarely on shoulder so he picks up a yellow. A second offence and the Ref must send him off. In hurling I'd favour giving Refs the discretion to either sin bin the offender for 10 minutes for a second yellow if he deems the incident not too serious, if its a serious offence or a cynical foul, then send him off.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 11/08/2013 20:46:48    1459161

waynoI

Well done ref, ruined the game.

The ref certainly didn't ruin the game.. It was the best game of the hurling championship by far.

dont agree with this at all.
dont know if you were at the match or not but there were some terrible decisions made.
he clearly missed cork fouls and in turn gave the same foul against a dublin player 30 seconds later.
the ref also gave two yellow cards that were not warrnated and then gave a yellow card for a strike which the rule states is a straight red card.
the game itself was high scoring but it lacked any defensive tackling whatsoever it was like a challeneg match the level of defending that was displayed in the first half was way too loose.for aperson who has been slating dublin footballers defense for conceeding scoring chances at the back conceeding 15 points in 35 minutes surely you can see that

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2013 20:48:29    1459163

A key point on all the sending offs this year is that modern inter-county hurlers are very intelligent in that they know how to utilize the extra man in a way teams in previous decades didn't. Invariably the team with 15 places their most mobile and solid defender as a sweeper in the full back line and at worst it negates the likelihood of conceding a goal. The days of 14 men raising their game once they lose a man appears to be gone.

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 11/08/2013 20:56:30    1459171