Dublin v Cork - All Ireland Hurling semi-final

Thanks NavyNBlue, most sporting of you. Must admit when we got relegated I was in a total depression and felt I might never see Cork play in an All Ireland Final again. (Well I am 65). Can't believe I will be attending one this year, I must do a countback but this will be my 35th/36th All Ireland Final (both codes).

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 11/08/2013 18:14:38    1458942

11/08/2013 18:07:22
banner_boy
County: Clare

Great game no doubt but spoiled once again by a referee.

As Ger Loughnanne astutely pointed out the one player Dublin didn't want to lose was Ryan O'Dwyer given the amount of ball he was winning. He was almost single-handedly destroying Cork half back line and was a vital cog in supporting midfield when they didn't have posession. But I knew straight away when he got that early yellow card that he was gonna regret that later on and so it proved. That first yellow was never even a distant relation of a bookable offence - good strong shoulder and was very early on as well - there was at least 20 challenges from both sides that were worse and escaped without caution - absolutely ridiculous. And of course the referee knew he had got it wrong by only giving Liam Rushe a yellow when it clearly deserved red - i.e. he wanted to try baalnce things up but that was late in the day, too late for dublin.

Ultimately it was a story of missed chances and mistakes which decided the winner. Cork's goal was very soft as well it should be said. As good a shot stopper as Maguire is, he's never filled me with much confidence in terms of his touch. Ryan O'Dwyer had a chance of goal but fired straight at Anthony Nash making him look like the hero. This should have been drilled into Nash's bottom left corner (his weak side). Paul Ryan missed at least 3 very scoreable frees. Cork by contrast were ruthlessly efficient, hit very few wides and in general used the ball far better. MacLochlainn was immense at midfield.

Having said all this, there'll be no talk about it until after the other semi but neither John Allen or Davy Fitz will be quaking in their boots after today's Cork display. The Cork full back line remains their massive achilles heel especially when someone takes them on. In the wide open spaces of Croke Park, both Clare and Limerick have the pace and killer instinct to expose this.

It's still anyone of the remaining 3 team's all-ireland as far as I'm concerned but the big question is will Limerick/Clare have the belief they can beat this Cork team.

Banner the winners of next week will win the All Ireland, i really believe Dublin would have won but for the sending off. They had taken over the game at that stage. Gutted for the Dub lads here as they seem a good bunch. Dublin should be very proud of the year they have had.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 11/08/2013 18:22:16    1458956

Great game of hurling which in the end Cork just about deservesd to win. Sending off was a turning point but if you are on a yellow card then leading with your shoulder is high stakes stuff.
Full marks to the Dublin lads on here, but considering the year ye have had there is great hope for the future.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 11/08/2013 18:23:27    1458959

Just back from the game, first of congratulations to Cork , it was a massive performance from both teams, the atmosphere was brilliant , From our point of view 2 points up in the second half and Ryan missed the free that was huge. At that stage I thought we were going to win it. Their was some battles out there Danny was brilliant, Rushe was immense, and he had told the ref on a number of times that he was being pulled back and his frustration then stupidly boiled over and he should of seen red. id like to see game on tv again ,but a lot Cork lads felt they got easy frees at times and Dwyer was a terrible decision. Cork played very well as we did there was nothing between the sides . Cork through and well done.
Well done to the Dubs Today they battled for everything and gave Daly everything.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 11/08/2013 18:25:11    1458961

Decision not to send off Rushe was a disgrace. Striking with the hurl is an obligatory straight red card no ifs, ands or buts. Whatever we may think of any earlier incident in the game each incident should be judged on his own merits and that was as clear a red card as I've ever seen.

The referee does not have the right to choose between a red and yellow in such circumstances he has an obligation to show a red, if not he isn't doing his job plain and simple. It is decisions like this that breed the inconsistency of the refereeing of both GAA codes.

AnDunLug (Down) - Posts: 14 - 11/08/2013 18:25:34    1458962

Waynol we all don't live in your perfect little bubble, I'm p--sed off after being robbed again playing them, that's two semi's now that only for the ref we would have won.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/08/2013 18:26:17    1458963

AnDunLug

I agree regarding Rush, Should have been sent off, No argument can be made in his favour.

Nor can an argument be made for O'Dwyers second yellow .. His first however ... ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/08/2013 18:30:51    1458969

Waynol we all don't live in your perfect little bubble, I'm p--sed off after being robbed again playing them, that's two semi's now that only for the ref we would have won.

Okay, But don't take it out on me I did nothing.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/08/2013 18:34:47    1458974

waynoI

Point I'm trying to make is that one incident has nothing to do with the other. Let each incident be judged entirely on it's own merits and in accordance with the rules of the game. The consensus in the bar where I watched the match was "sure he couldn't send him off after your first lad went like that". For me that is ridiculous logic.

O'Dwyer's first yellow is open to debate - no doubt about that - but it doesn't change the fact that Rushe had to see red. GAA needs to lose the mentality that a wrong decision is made up for by a 2nd wrong decision. It results in the rules of our games becoming so blurred that many seasoned fans and players don't actually know what they are.

AnDunLug (Down) - Posts: 14 - 11/08/2013 18:39:35    1458981

1ST OFF well done cork fine display,hard to say who would have won if we didn't lose a man but the refs decision killed the best game of hurling this or even for a long time witnessed by so many so many bad decisions inconsistency again creaping in again rushe should of walked o'dwyer's first challenge never a yellow 2nd definitely yes.but anyway cant be undone hard luck Dublin great display keep the heads up yous done yourselves very proud and good to cork in the final....

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 11/08/2013 18:44:56    1458992

I know, I'm not trying to dress it up any other way AnDunLug.

It was a disgrace that he stayed on the field.

I think the ref probably doubted his own decision to give O'Dwyer the second yellow and therefore only gave Rushe a yellow to even it out .. But as you said they should be judged on their own merits and it was without doubt the most blatent red card we will see all year. And the ref bottled it.

However lets not talk about the ref, That was a great game and the players game absolutely everything in what was a memorable game. Simply outstanding. Both sides deserve immense credit.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/08/2013 18:46:44    1458993

Well done ref you got them over the line fair play to ya. Why are referees ruining our games? That is never ever ever a red card I'm disgusted what a robbery. Rushe wouldn't have lashed out in anger if it wasn't for frustration of how bad that ref was. How are we always the team that has a man sent off in a big game it's shockin

Are you actually for real? What are you basing that on? By your logic anyone who lashes out like that are only doing it out of frustration. As for giving out about refs, bit much coming from the man who accuses others as sour losers when they make comments about refs in Dublin games

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 11/08/2013 18:53:55    1459005

First off, hard luck Dublin. There was nothing to be ashamed about in that performance.

Secondly, great win by Cork. Ye showed great composure and tenacity, especially after Dublin''s goal. Deserved winners.

And finally may I just say that sitting here in Oregon listening to the game I have NEVER heard such vocal fans. I felt like I was there! Both sets of fans were a credit to their countys today. Well done to all.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 11/08/2013 19:02:04    1459015

waynol i dont understand why you're so local on this thread if you dont even like Dublin hurlers ?

Murlo111 (Dublin) - Posts: 192 - 11/08/2013 19:08:37    1459022

Tradition lives on, tis great to see the jacks foaming. Back in yer box now.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 11/08/2013 19:09:33    1459025

Yes the referee was terrible again today. Cork have won 3 games now by referees.
I looked at the Clare Cork game in Munster and Clare got 7 to corks 20 frees.

Kilkenny the last day and today Dublin.

Its will be difficult for Dublin to take, because they were going to win only for the sending off. Not to mention the soft frees Cork got.

Im not trying to have a go at cork as they were hard done by with Limerick. But Im getting sick of the GAA, because I feel the refs are deciding who wins.

Its shocking with all the work players put in. The games just need to be fair.

Sheedy (Galway) - Posts: 107 - 11/08/2013 19:13:55    1459033

The game changed irrevocably after the sending off. It appeared very harsh and it totally dictated what came after it. Unfortunately, the post-mortem will be dominated by the man in the middle instead of the 30 odds lads who produced an epic 55 mins of hurling! An AI semi-final of this magnitude is not the place to get such calls wrong!

Congrats to Cork, we don't begrudge your victory, you fought well and earned it. Best of luck in the final!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 11/08/2013 19:26:32    1459041

waynol i dont understand why you're so local on this thread if you dont even like Dublin hurlers ?

Never ever said I didn't like the hurlers, Just that I prefer the hurlers and it doesn't affect or hurt me when the hurlers lose.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/08/2013 19:36:34    1459052

All the dubs that suddenly found out about this thing called hurling a few months ago, are now giving out about the ref?

Shoulder to the chest is a yellow card, he did it twice thats 2 yellows. simple.

dublin is the chelsea of GAA, get most of the money, allways have home advantage, and still cant win.

money and poached players wont get ye titles.

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 11/08/2013 19:37:42    1459055

Exhillerating game. Fair play to both teams for giving it everything and playing an exciting game. It was honest entertainment throughout.

seamusmac (Meath) - Posts: 379 - 11/08/2013 19:41:08    1459058