Dublin v Cork - All Ireland Hurling semi-final

congratulations to both teams on a fabulous game of hurling as a neutral it was edge of the seat stuff and the sending off was the turning point for Cork after that I wasn't neutral any more found myself in a strange place cheering on the boys in blue still its been a fantastic year for Dublin Hurlers just a bridge to far today nodoubt that they will be back stronger ...

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 11/08/2013 17:45:43    1458895

Don't like hurling but delighted for Cork.

______

You would be.!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/08/2013 17:46:04    1458896

Also Dublin cant start giving out about Refs--- If the ref in the football final 2 years ago got it right, dublin wudnt have won as mcmaenamin hopped the ball twice!! Cmon Dublin supporters, ye are better than this giving out bout the ref!!

Daly conducted himself brilliantly in the interview post-match

You have to understand that the likes of Clondalk are hurt right now, Im sure when he calms down he will acknowledge that Dublin lost the game cause Cork where that little bit better.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/08/2013 17:47:40    1458897

I'm breathless. Its a pity that we are talking about a refereeing decision after an absolutely pulsating match. I know its a cliche but neither side deserved to lose today. May I extend heartfelt commiserations to Dublin, I thought they were fantastic today and fantastic all year. They have breathed new life into hurling and hurling enthusiasts all over the country owe them a debt of gratitude. The sending off was huge and was definitely the deciding factor. Dublin seemed to be getting on top just prior to the incident. Second offence was probably a yellow OK the problem was the early one. I remember when I saw it thinking this lad could get sent off over that. Rushe should have gone but I'm glad he didn't, incredible hurler, although not quite as dominant today. All in all a wonderful game and both sides deserve tremendous credit.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 11/08/2013 17:48:48    1458900

luimneachboy
County: Limerick

1458872 Also Dublin cant start giving out about Refs--- If the ref in the football final 2 years ago got it right, dublin wudnt have won as mcmaenamin hopped the ball twice!! Cmon Dublin supporters, ye are better than this giving out bout the ref!!

1. Why bring up a game from 2011
2. Can we end this myth that he hopped the ball twice http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4B8yqLAX7iE

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 11/08/2013 17:48:55    1458901

Yessss boiiiiiiiiiiii!!!!!!!!

corkrebel (Cork) - Posts: 105 - 11/08/2013 17:51:04    1458906

Rushe would never have struck out if O' Dwyer was still on the pitch.

Ridiculous comment!!

There is absolutely no way you can prove or disprove that.

Feel for O'Dwyer. Very hard done by.

Referee had very good control of the game, He got the Rushe yellow wrong, And got the first O'Dwyer yellow wrong in my opinion.

I expect Dublin fans to be magnaminous in defeat.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/08/2013 17:51:14    1458907

The referee had a great game. He allowed the game to flow and if anything, his decisions were in favour of Dublin, look lads Ryan O Dwyer was manic out there and deserved the two yellow cards. The worst decision made by the referee was allowing Rushe to stay on the field after a blatant pull on his opposing player. No need to be sore losers lads, Cork deserved the win , end of.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 11/08/2013 17:54:09    1458908

Cracking game. Full credit to both sets of players. Now that's what a sporting contest is all about. Really p**d off I didn't get to the game tho'. I don't care who's coming to visit next week I'm going to Croker.
Well done to Waterford minors too.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1069 - 11/08/2013 17:56:39    1458911

@CaisleanCnucha

Check 67min 11 seconds boy, he hopped the ball twice, if ref spotted it, free in which would have been point for Kerry, maybe different outcome then!!!!

luimneachboy (Limerick) - Posts: 242 - 11/08/2013 17:59:43    1458917

Dublin have had our fair share of tough calls against us . 2010 against Cork when they got all the soft frees still rankles with me , anyway regardless of O'Dwyer being sent off hes a complete liability and when hes not being a liability hes off the pitch with a blood injury , next year we'll have Ciaran Kilkenny at centre forward and will be better for it

Murlo111 (Dublin) - Posts: 192 - 11/08/2013 18:00:24    1458918

corkcelt - delighted for the likes of yourself that have had a few rough years in the hurling world. Fully deserved the win overall

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 11/08/2013 18:00:29    1458919

whitecity
County: Laois

1458831 well done cork by far the better team the ref [as usual] kept dublin in it.
Shut it you

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 804 - 11/08/2013 18:03:43    1458921

Did not get to go to either Cork/Dublin game as was away for the week. Did not even see the football game yet. The sending off was very very harsh and did have a big impact on the game. I wish we had won 15 v 15. In all the games we have played (with the exception of Clare) a sending off has been the big talking point. That follows you around unfortunately and lets you open to criticism. Hopefully JBM and the lads can just focus on the final and try and get the result. We are there now regardless of how we got there. Hopefully we will win.

Hard luck to Dublin. We lost a semi final last year too and we have at least gone one step further this year. You have gone many steps further than last year. Sport is harsh, what can one say. Conor Counihan said after losing to Mayo in 2011 that there were always more bad days than good in GAA. He is right. Unless you go and win an All=Ireland, we always think it is a bad year. However, you must just shake yourselves down and get on with it again.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 11/08/2013 18:05:25    1458922

Dublin hurling fans

What an absolutely amazing year. I'm sure the more dedicated hurling fans will be distraught and I know from many heartbreaking defeats watching the footballers that its horrible being so close and yet going out. Especially when it comes to a refereeing decision.

Im sure however in the coming days Dublin fans will get over that pain and be filled with immense hope and belief for whats to come in the next few years, cause what them lads did out their today in terms of heart, belief, passion, hunger, energy, drive, commitment, desire, attitude and application was sublime. Talk about doing themselves proud and everyone in a Dublin jersey both at the game and at home, On this island and others around the globe. They showed what wearing them blazing castles on their chest is all about. They would have died for it out there today, However unfortunately it wasn't meant to be. I'm sure hurling fans can talk about the referees decisions but I think itd be better if they weren't talked about as it would take away from what was ultimately an outstanding game of hurling from every player on that pitch today from both sides and Dublin just came up short in the end.

Lets not forget what a great year it has been. From relegation last year and an embarrassing capitulation against Kilkenny in the championship, They bounced back with promotion back to 1A. Okay so their league final against Tipp and first game against Wexford where average enough. But went on to beat Kilkenny after a replay (The first team to do that in 20+ years), And destroyed last years leinster winners Galway to bring Bob O'Keefe to Dublin for the first time in over 50 years. They almost got over the line today but Cork had that little bit too much. Very reminiscent of the footballers in 2010 when Cork beat them in the dash for home, I would hope and expect the hurlers to bounce back.

Not only have they got a few decent young fellas there like Schutte, Ryan, Treacy, Dillon, Kelly etc .. And along with that a lot more support. So hard luck today Dublin, But hopefully this is just the start.

Up the Dubs!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/08/2013 18:07:14    1458926

Great game no doubt but spoiled once again by a referee.

As Ger Loughnanne astutely pointed out the one player Dublin didn't want to lose was Ryan O'Dwyer given the amount of ball he was winning. He was almost single-handedly destroying Cork half back line and was a vital cog in supporting midfield when they didn't have posession. But I knew straight away when he got that early yellow card that he was gonna regret that later on and so it proved. That first yellow was never even a distant relation of a bookable offence - good strong shoulder and was very early on as well - there was at least 20 challenges from both sides that were worse and escaped without caution - absolutely ridiculous. And of course the referee knew he had got it wrong by only giving Liam Rushe a yellow when it clearly deserved red - i.e. he wanted to try baalnce things up but that was late in the day, too late for dublin.

Ultimately it was a story of missed chances and mistakes which decided the winner. Cork's goal was very soft as well it should be said. As good a shot stopper as Maguire is, he's never filled me with much confidence in terms of his touch. Ryan O'Dwyer had a chance of goal but fired straight at Anthony Nash making him look like the hero. This should have been drilled into Nash's bottom left corner (his weak side). Paul Ryan missed at least 3 very scoreable frees. Cork by contrast were ruthlessly efficient, hit very few wides and in general used the ball far better. MacLochlainn was immense at midfield.

Having said all this, there'll be no talk about it until after the other semi but neither John Allen or Davy Fitz will be quaking in their boots after today's Cork display. The Cork full back line remains their massive achilles heel especially when someone takes them on. In the wide open spaces of Croke Park, both Clare and Limerick have the pace and killer instinct to expose this.

It's still anyone of the remaining 3 team's all-ireland as far as I'm concerned but the big question is will Limerick/Clare have the belief they can beat this Cork team.

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 11/08/2013 18:07:22    1458928

Whatever about what we might feel about the what if's I have to say that was easily one of the greatest games of hurling I've seen in a long long time regardless of the result. When the game is played right it is a joy to watch, I think we can all agree on that

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 11/08/2013 18:08:25    1458931

The only poor decision Owens made all day was allowing Rushe stay on the field after a blatant pull on his opposing player. I suggest you watch Ryan O Dwyers' frontal charges again tonight!!

Per Ignem (Wexford) - Posts: 385 - 11/08/2013 18:11:16    1458936

Looks like the hurling and football panned out the way the vast majority of Cork and Dublin fans would've chosen if they had to :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 11/08/2013 18:11:40    1458938

The referee had a great game. He allowed the game to flow and if anything, his decisions were in favour of Dublin, look lads Ryan O Dwyer was manic out there and deserved the two yellow cards. The worst decision made by the referee was allowing Rushe to stay on the field after a blatant pull on his opposing player. No need to be sore losers lads, Cork deserved the win , end of.

Could you please show me where any Dub has come out since 5 o clock and said that Cork did not deserve to win that match ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/08/2013 18:13:30    1458939