TJ09
I am from Cork and I am not 100% certain we were the better team yesterday. We were better in the first half certainly. However, at a very crucial time in the game when Dublin were really on top, they had a player very harshly sent off. That changed the game. Had it been 15 v 15 team, the better team would still have won. What I mean by that is; that probably would have been Dublin as they had the momentum (I cannot say that for certain of course-nobody can)
The Dublin supporters on here are spot on. Clondalkin or Hill16 are not sore losers. I don't think any of them are. There was not one of them on here bragging about how much better they were in the football last week (and they had much more right as we got a trimming from them). They have more class than that. However, when it is the other way around the likes of Redfoot, Booboo, Keysersore and yourself come out of the woodwork and take a holier than thou attitude. Keep your head in a small bit.
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 12/08/2013 21:54:08
Marlon_JD County: Tipperary Posts: 588
They've gone back and adapted their passing game, and the way that's opening up the play could be an antidote to the bunching style of play we see so many teams employing now.
It was fantastic to watch and very pleasing to the eye, the way Cork played the ball out of the backline and out of trouble was sublime.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 13/08/2013 09:07:46
bennybunny County: Cork Posts: 1913
1460122 TJ09
I am from Cork and I am not 100% certain we were the better team yesterday. We were better in the first half certainly. However, at a very crucial time in the game when Dublin were really on top, they had a player very harshly sent off. That changed the game. Had it been 15 v 15 team, the better team would still have won. What I mean by that is; that probably would have been Dublin as they had the momentum (I cannot say that for certain of course-nobody can)
The Dublin supporters on here are spot on. Clondalkin or Hill16 are not sore losers. I don't think any of them are. There was not one of them on here bragging about how much better they were in the football last week (and they had much more right as we got a trimming from them). They have more class than that. However, when it is the other way around the likes of Redfoot, Booboo, Keysersore and yourself come out of the woodwork and take a holier than thou attitude. Keep your head in a small bit.
________
You're a credit to your great GAA county... such a pity to see the likes of the other shower represent Cork on this site.
I doubt a few of them are actually from Cork
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/08/2013 09:23:53
jimbo, You are totally correct the 3 or 4 trolls with Cork addresses will be on here with Kerry addresses if Kerry happen to beat ye in the Football semi. Its a sad way for people to carry on but trolling is a world wide phenomenon now, and if you are going to post on blogs you need to be clever enough to spot it and ignore it. Re the Game, sat down and watched the video again, apart from first yellow I thought Ref got most of the highlighted calls right. However there were two clear fouls on Dublin lads not given and Cork did get a couple of soft frees. I must admit if I was a Dub I wouldn't be as vocal as Clondalkin but I would be sore. Add to that the fact umpires had to go to Hawkeye twice for possible Dublin points and both were misses. Sometimes your luck is just out, but everyone involved in Dublin hurling can be proud. Anyways shur ye have the Football to look forward to.
corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 13/08/2013 11:04:30
corkcelt County: Cork Posts: 3811
1460243 jimbo, You are totally correct the 3 or 4 trolls with Cork addresses will be on here with Kerry addresses if Kerry happen to beat ye in the Football semi. Its a sad way for people to carry on but trolling is a world wide phenomenon now, and if you are going to post on blogs you need to be clever enough to spot it and ignore it. Re the Game, sat down and watched the video again, apart from first yellow I thought Ref got most of the highlighted calls right. However there were two clear fouls on Dublin lads not given and Cork did get a couple of soft frees. I must admit if I was a Dub I wouldn't be as vocal as Clondalkin but I would be sore. Add to that the fact umpires had to go to Hawkeye twice for possible Dublin points and both were misses. Sometimes your luck is just out, but everyone involved in Dublin hurling can be proud. Anyways shur ye have the Football to look forward to.
________
As always man... great input there... once again another Cork poster who represents his county with distinction
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/08/2013 11:14:22
Hilarious how the boys think they are "representing their county" . Do they put the jersey on when they type? Do they use it as a chat up line with young wans in nightclubs " Yeah, I play for the county on the internet. Lot of dedication involved alright "
KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 13/08/2013 11:34:00
Still absolutely sick. First time Ive been able to look on this site since the match.
Its mad how sport can sometimes leave you so depressed.
ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 13/08/2013 12:51:08
KeyserSoze County: Cork Posts: 117
1460279 Hilarious how the boys think they are "representing their county" . Do they put the jersey on when they type? Do they use it as a chat up line with young wans in nightclubs " Yeah, I play for the county on the internet. Lot of dedication involved alright "
Everyone on here represents their own point of view.
As the county name is attached to one's username, our personal point of view may be viewed as a sample viewpoint of that county's supporters (this is not intentional, it has more to do with the structure of the site- you obviously fail to grasp this given the diatribe above).
Educated people (regardless of where they are from) understand netiquette and don't cower behind anonymous usernames in an attempt to gain petty one-upmanship.
Post what you like lad, you embarrass yourself more than anything. Most users on here take the viewpoints of the likes of you, Bull and Booboo with a pinch of salt anyway
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 13/08/2013 13:08:00
bennybunny County: Cork Posts: 1916
1460122 TJ09
well said bennybunny!!!
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/08/2013 13:15:33
Feel worse today then I did yesterday. Still cant help but feel the ref ruined ouir chance. Ok Rushe should have gone but had Dwyer not would Rushe have been frustrated as that point and swung out? I doubt it.
Anyway Dublin still had enough chances to win it. Cork must have won every breaking ball and must have scored straight away after a Dublin score. In fairness to Cork our half back line have cleaned up all summer but not Sunday and that was crucial
JBM is some operator all credit to him.
Hope Daly gives it 1 more crack but wold fully understand if that was him done.
Proud hurling man watching my team this season. And I really dont think well go away to easy
Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 13/08/2013 13:17:06
corkcelt County: Cork
i actualy didnt see the need myself to go to hawkeye for either from where i was standing they both were clear wides so no qualms there. still good to see them getting the use out of it haha
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/08/2013 13:18:53
I can't understand people using the Rushe incident as an excuse for the ref, the sending off was wrong plain and simple. Dishing out a yellow card so early in a Semi final is asking for trouble the Ref has a brain hasn't he ? He put unnecessary pressure on himself when he dished out a card for an innocuous challenge so early. The Rushe incident would not have happened 15 v 15 our half forward line was beginning to dominate and win primary possession and then bang Red card game over.
Cork are a fantastic team and the most skilful I've seen Dublin play, themselves and Clare play the game with such skill & speed it is a joy to watch. All I'm sick of watching is great games/occasions ruined by Refs, the game was not one bit dirty and was played in great spirit yet the man in the middle still had a massive influence on who won.
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 13/08/2013 13:28:48
Bluewave County: Dublin Posts: 402
1460405 I can't understand people using the Rushe incident as an excuse for the ref, the sending off was wrong plain and simple. Dishing out a yellow card so early in a Semi final is asking for trouble the Ref has a brain hasn't he ? He put unnecessary pressure on himself when he dished out a card for an innocuous challenge so early. The Rushe incident would not have happened 15 v 15 our half forward line was beginning to dominate and win primary possession and then bang Red card game over. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Doesn't matter if it's the 1st minute or the 69th, dirty play is dirty play - or is there supposed to be a free-for-all period early in the game that the ref must ignore when fellas can do whatver the hell they want? When do you propose he starts reffing- after 10 minutes, 20 or wait until the second half? And how are people using the Rushhe incident as an excsue for the ref? It was quite the opposite - the ref used the (rightful) sending off of O'Dwyer as an excuse to not send off Rushe.
Unreal amount of whinging here. Losers all over the world are the same - 'it's not us who lost, it was the ref was against us'. Man up and take your beating.
KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 13/08/2013 14:03:22
The ref made this game great, by giving a early yellow, the players knew he meant business, and there was no more messing and the game could flow.
Have people forgotten the dreadful semifinal last year where one Tipp player should have had 5 red cards? Is that the type of hurling people want?
If people want to watch fast skillful hurling, then the game has to be reffed tighter
If you want to watch over muscled lumps crashing into each other then watch the NFL.
Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 13/08/2013 14:10:04
Feel worse today then I did yesterday. Still cant help but feel the ref ruined ouir chance. Ok Rushe should have gone but had Dwyer not would Rushe have been frustrated as that point and swung out? I doubt it.
You simply cannot twist that to fit your argument when its nothing but a hypothetical theory based on the fact you are a Dublin fan hurting. If this was a game involving two teams like Kilkenny and Tipperary you would be choking on your dinner reading such a statement. I don't even think Liam Rushe could say with certainty exactly why he lashed out cause it was a second of madness, And regardless of the reason its inexcusable and Rushe should have seen red end of story.
Dublins footballers went down to 14 men against Donegal in the all Ireland semi final in 2011, At that stage Dublin where losing by 3 points, Dublin came back and won the game despite having to play 20 mins with 14 men.
On Sunday, Dublin lost a man at 2 points up harshly it must be said, And while it makes the game harder to see out, Its still very possible that it can be done as the footballers proved in 2011 from a losing position.
The fact of the matter is you (or anyone) can dress it up any way you want, You can blame the ref if it makes you feel better,But Dublin lost that game by 5 points, Ryan missed 3 very scorable frees and Gary Maguire was dispossessed for the Cork goal, That's already a 6 point turn around. They where Dublins mistakes and they where important in the outcome of that game. I understand your anger but Dublin only have themselves to blame for some bad misses and some very bad decision making.
When people accept their shortcommings or accept their mistakes, They can learn from them and move forward and be better for them, Referees are included here, Dublin will only move forward if they accept their failings, If they cry victim for the winter they will feel sorry for themselves, If they see they lost it themselves they will learn and become better players both individually and collectively
I didn't see any Dublin player come out in the aftermath of Sunday blaming the ref for their defeat and that will help them in the long run, The left it out there, The ref made two massive calls and at the end of the day one went for Dublin (Rushe) and one went against them (O'Dwyer). The ref didn't lose Dublin the game, They lost it themselves .. But its a young side, They will learn and they will be back, Hopefully under Daly.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 13/08/2013 14:21:55
I can't understand people using the Rushe incident as an excuse for the ref, the sending off was wrong plain and simple. Dishing out a yellow card so early in a Semi final is asking for trouble the Ref has a brain hasn't he ? He put unnecessary pressure on himself when he dished out a card for an innocuous challenge so early. The Rushe incident would not have happened 15 v 15 our half forward line was beginning to dominate and win primary possession and then bang Red card game over.
Blaming (or trying to pass the blame) the ref is just papering over the fact that it was Dublin who made elementary mistakes over the course of the 70 minutes that Cork ultimately punished. The second yellow was a stonewall yellow, The first was a poor enough decision, HOWEVER once already on a yellow the ref was left with no option but to give a second yellow for O'Dwyers challenge. Two wrongs don't make a right so letting O'Dwyer off with the second challenge would not have been correct either same way keeping Rushe on the pitch was the wrong decision.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 13/08/2013 14:29:33
Ritchie
Ahh here now. This is mans game. Christ i played plenty a junior hurling match where if there wasnt blood there was no card and if there was blood it was a yellow. I agree there should be consistancy but at the same time there must be common sense. O Dwyer was harsh. He should have known better being on a yellow card but still harsh. And yes Rushe deserved to go but ref took a common sense approach and left the player on for a reckless back lash which pa horgan said him self rush was just trying to clear space. But the biggest thing is this is AMATEUR sport these lads spend months making huge commitments to both club and county and we must remember that. Im sure at some stage you played a football or hurling match where you or a player of yours got sent off for a moment of madness and complained about it. Take it handy lad. Ill take that blow and give a yellow happily rather than having to put up with the cynical fouling that is gracing our football of late
Christ but I hate listening to this crap about "a man's game" - does that mean the rules shouldn't apply? I boxed as a young lad, as manly a sport as you could find but do you know what? There were rules and they were regularly applied. How on earth can you have consistency if you don't apply the rules? This rubbish about referee's using common sense is just a euphemism for making up the rules as you go along. And as for it being an amateur sport it's also an amateur sport for the opposition and they should be able to expect the protection provided in the rules of the game. As for the cynical fouling in football I couldn't agree more. It isn't an eithe/or choice you know. This sort of mentality is exactly where the inconsistency comes from. We have fans applauding refs that throw away the rule book and attack those that apply it.
AnDunLug (Down) - Posts: 14 - 13/08/2013 17:23:14
Hill the whinging comment was not aimed at you as to be fair you are not but some of your feklow county posters are hard to stomach. But i do think the ref was good by the latest standards anyway as o'dwyers two challenges were bookable and we often give out about ref bottling early calls.
Benny can i take it you are perfectly ok with the following comments'Well done Cork it's just a pity you keep needing the ref to get you's out of jail' do you believe he is right! Why are taking the high ground with me when i am pointing out my opinion. I comment on here on occasion in fact my last comment before this was to say that the dubs were far better than us in the football. So tell me exactly what i have done to offend you?
tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 13/08/2013 18:31:56
Jaysus, this bennybunny feen is some man for the self-flagellation so he can come across as a "true Gael" to strangers on the internet.
KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 13/08/2013 19:09:05
KeyserSoze County: Cork Posts: 121
1460810 Jaysus, this bennybunny feen is some man for the self-flagellation so he can come across as a "true Gael" to strangers on the internet.
Think we all know who's the little kid trying to be noticed by strangers on the internet. Ah the irony of that post.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 13/08/2013 20:08:18