Dublin v Cork - All Ireland Hurling semi-final

Well done to Cork... heart felt congrats to a great GAA county

We let slip a major opportunity to reach an AI final... which hurts

I think we're just as good if not better when compared to this Cork team

Who just about did enough to win... the sending off was a major game changer and the goal couldnt have come at a better time

If Maguire is honest.. he messed up.

When teams are so equal you need the little things to go your way... Cork got them yesterday and it made all the difference

Dublin on any given day are more than capable of betaing this current Cork side... which is fantastic for Dublin moving forward

I thought we looked rusty in the first half.. not surprisng after sitting around for 5 weeks while Cork were getting major game time..

Cork had the momentum.

Giving away 15 points to Cork in the first half was poor and for me was the lsiong if the game... thats a huge tally

Listen at the start of the year... would anyone have tipped Dublin to win Leinster... beating Weford, Kilkenny and hammering the best Connacht has to offer by 12 pts

It's been a marvellous year.. an outstanding year for Dublin hurling

Best of luck to Cork but you've been getting the breaks in the last two games... I dont mena thatas a slur it's just how I see it

Shefflin red card which he's since been stripped of , the peno that Kilkenny missed which should have been a red card to a Cork man

Cork def got the match winning breaks against Dublin too... O'Dwyer going off at a vital stage when Dublin were winning the battles, and starting to take a grip on the game and the howlwer from Maguire at the most vital of stages.

The rub of the green is def with Cork at the minute but they are far from unbeatable...

Congrats again to Cork... but I dont think it's going to be your year.

Chin up Dub lads... we'll be back...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 12/08/2013 16:35:39    1459797

I dont recall any cork posters blaming the ref last week for their loss, they took in on the chin,

moaning about refs in an attempt to devalue victory and take the gloss off a great game is a classless act.

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 12/08/2013 16:40:55    1459804

Would have loved to see the Dubs in a hurling All Ireland, but you have to take your hat off to JBM and Cork for what they've achieved this year. I don't recall any other county's squad being depleted like Corks has in the last year, and still going on to reach an All Ireland final. They've gone back and adapted their passing game, and the way that's opening up the play could be an antidote to the bunching style of play we see so many teams employing now.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 12/08/2013 16:41:42    1459805

Hill16No1man: Could you direct me to a time in the game when the ref is supposed to have made all these poor decisions..I dont want to get into an argument but would genuinely like to see again if i missed these bad decisions that you claim..I do remember a dub getting fouled by a Cork lad in the 2nd half where it looked like he fell on top of him and it was let go but in my opinion the last free Dublin got from approx 25 yrds out i believe he was charging and could easily have been a free out...

Bigdong (UK) - Posts: 66 - 12/08/2013 16:59:56    1459846

As a total neutral yesterday, I thought the Ref had a good game (Rushe incident aside). I believe that the three main reasons that Dublin lost were that Cork were marginally better, Paul Ryan had a very poor performance (from play and frees), and O Dwyer was foolish enough to charge in with a shoulder to the chest knowing that he was on a yellow card. If you are already on a yellow card (harsh or otherwise), it is inexcusable to pick up a second one for a stupid blatant foul in front of the referee. O Dwyer can blame the Ref for his first yellow card, but he has only himself to blame for getting sent off. Furthermore his roaring and gesturing at the camera after the match wasn't particularly pleasant either, he could learn a lot from the likes of Daly who gave a great passionate, heartfelt, magnanimous interview after the match.
All in all a wonderful example of hurling at its finest.......On another note, I don't know how Pa Cronin made the HS team of the week, in my opinion he truly had a poor performance.

Setanta11 (Louth) - Posts: 45 - 12/08/2013 17:02:50    1459851

I think you are on the ball jackeen. There are great Cork posters here - bennybunny and corkcelt and hurlingspuds and others. The other sort only appear to mock people when they lose. Keyser gave the game away with his preposterous story about some Dub attacking Cork young fellas. And then couldn't help himself by throwing in a Kilkenny man roaring at the ref for two minutes after the Dub/Cork game finished! Eijit.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 12/08/2013 17:12:39    1459861

bigdong

i didnt have me stopwatch haha to note each time of tackle.
but it was mainly in the first half and most times under the cusack stand side of the pitch,one blatent one was keeney being pulled to the ground with the ref 5 yards behind him looking straight at it and waved play on.
ah come on man the cork defender clearly knew what he was doing at the end he stopped a goal scoing oppurtunity by fouling the player before he could strike,no differant to sean cavanagh

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2013 17:16:58    1459866

I think if you take an impartial view towards the ref yesterday ye might find he actually did well. O'Dwyer did get pulled for two bookable offences and otherwise the ref called most other fouls in balance between both teams yet his biggest mistake was not sending off rushe

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 12/08/2013 17:49:20    1459914

In clondalkin i think ye have probably the worst losser on this site. Cork for me were the better team over the first 35 mins yet he reckons the dubs wud definately have won had the sendig off not happened.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 12/08/2013 18:10:19    1459939

Hurling Technical rule 4.6.... to catch the ball twice before playing it away....this rule does'nt clarify weather or not the Dublin point should have been allowed or not. Player had cought it twice then onto yhe hurl, flicked it up with his hand and struck it over the bar. This decision cost Dublin 3 points.... Nash scored the free and could have pointed easy free in 69th minute to leave only one point between teams. Was the Referee correct with this call .... well Refs

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 12/08/2013 18:38:16    1459960

Well done Cork it's just a pity you keep needing the ref to get you's out of jail.

We'll have to get Frank to talk to them about that!

Seriously, it was a pity Dublin didn't get a fair chance. I was thinking that it looked ominous for us at the time. The extra man made it a little easier for Cork, but not an awful lot because Dublin were putting in an almighty effort.

At the rate things are going it looks like we are due a red card ourselves. I just hope it's not in the All-Ireland final!

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 646 - 12/08/2013 18:42:55    1459963

tj09

I think if you take an impartial view towards the ref yesterday ye might find he actually did well. O'Dwyer did get pulled for two bookable offences and otherwise the ref called most other fouls in balance between both teams yet his biggest mistake was not sending off rushe

he missed several frees in the first half in favour of this term "letting the game flow" which resulted in cork scores instead of dublin frees.
o dwyers first yellow was never a yellow.
he gave a yellow to rushe when it was a strike the rule says red.
he allowed peter kelly to solo the ball yet pulled ryan for not catching but using his hand to play the ball a third time which is the same thing as kelly using a body part.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2013 19:03:32    1459979

JayP

Dublin were robbed.....terrible reffing decisions throughout the games. That's not mentioning the sending off.

Dublin couldn't buy a free!!!

Well the record books show that Dublin were given 15 frees to Cork's ten. If ye couldn't buy a free, then ye must have got them for nothing!

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 646 - 12/08/2013 19:25:13    1460001

I see some people are criticizing the game for the open style of much of the hurling. While I myself constantly want players to get closer to their opponents and hook or block them, I would certainly prefer a game in which the two teams try to out-hurl each other rather than the rugby-style mauls we have been witnessing for the past few years. A free for every foul would soon convert the players and no need for cards at all.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 646 - 12/08/2013 19:36:33    1460008

dont you know the dubs are only happy when joe mcquillan is reffing

whitecity (Laois) - Posts: 20 - 12/08/2013 19:38:17    1460011

Tj09 I'm actually very gracious in victory and defeat , I just hate when a ref ruins a great game for a needless booking , I'd have no complaints on here if Cork beat us 15 v 15 it just leaves a sour taste after a shocker of a red card.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/08/2013 19:53:38    1460021

Fabulous game yesterday by two totally committed sides. The game was in the balance i felt until the sending off. My own personal view was that Dublin were just getting a grip on the game at that stage. But who knows how it would have turned with 15 v 15. J.B.M has put real pride back into Cork hurling and the lads are playing with real passion. I hope Anthony Daly stays on with Dublin as this could be just the begining for them. A Munster All-Ireland final in hurling will be a very special occasion.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 12/08/2013 20:12:57    1460031

Well hillman if we are going to get picky, the last dubs free was no way a free, he got the ball in his hand put his head down and tried to barge his way through two cork defenders, should have been free out not a free in, he was pretty much falling to ground before he made contact!

Obviously Rushe should have been off!

O'Dwyers first challenge was still a shoulder into Lukes chest, he landed him on his arse so I can see why the ref gave him a yellow.

To my mind the ref left ye off with some of the big calls in the game.

All I can say is ye are not covering yourselves in glory with all this whinging about absolutely nothing. O'Dwyer should have known better being on a yellow already.

Better team won, and ref was not why dublin lost.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 12/08/2013 20:14:44    1460032

tj09

i have said about 10 times that cork were the better team and deserved to win over the 70 minutes!!!
so i dont see where you can label me as whinging over the ref costing us the game i dont feel he did.
but it doesnt mean i have to say he had a good game when i dont feel he did and clearly he made some very bad calls then you cannot have a good game

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2013 21:17:23    1460096

Redfoot

All the dubs that suddenly found out about this thing called hurling a few months ago, are now giving out about the ref?

Shoulder to the chest is a yellow card, he did it twice thats 2 yellows. simple.

dublin is the chelsea of GAA, get most of the money, allways have home advantage, and still cant win.

money and poached players wont get ye titles.
poached players got ye a couple of All -Irelands,what part of Cork are Shea Fahey and Larry Tompkins from again?

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 12/08/2013 21:46:22    1460118