Dublin v Cork - All Ireland Hurling semi-final

ritchie

Ryan o dwyer sending off had a baring on the game but think the ref balanced the books by not sending off rush so fair play to the ref for using his noggin please god there wont be a black lash by the tick box people it was in the best spirit of the game.

What utter nonsense. Next week you'll be complaining about inconsistent refereeing. Gaelic games are the only sports where players, fans and managers openly expect referees to bend the rules. Rushe struck another player with his hurl deliberately. That is a striaght red card and there should never be any exception to that.

AnDunLug (Down) - Posts: 14 - 12/08/2013 14:39:07    1459612

Dublin were robbed.....terrible reffing decisions throughout the games. That's not mentioning the sending off.

Dublin couldn't buy a free!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 12/08/2013 14:48:55    1459624

AWESOME performance by the lads yesterday we would not lie down, fair play to Dublin they were brilliant but it was not to be but there is an all Ireland in that team and if/when they win it I will not begrudge them it, As for jimmy barry murphy as a boy I idolised him now I truly belive this man is iconic a legend he has brought the passion back into or team and county and told the guys out there to play for the shirt I now firmly belive we are peaking at the right time and while limerick beat us handy in munster final I really don't see that happening again,as for most of the Dublin lads on here they have truly been magnamous in defeat but its or day onwards and upwards

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 353 - 12/08/2013 14:53:57    1459632

Redfoot, Glad to see speed and skill rewarded over muscle power and gym work.
Good on the refs for cracking down on dangerous play.

Did you say the same when Horgan struck O'Brien's Helmet and when Egan buried his shoulder into Conlan's helmet and concussed him?

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 12/08/2013 14:57:11    1459638

What is this Sligo thing you speak of Oran? Do they play football and hurling? can't say I've ever come across them.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 12/08/2013 14:59:44    1459648

Clondalkindub must be the sourest loser ever to come on to this forum..You must have been watching a complete different game to everyone else..I understand you are upset about losing an all ireland semi final but jaysus will you ever give it a rest about blaming the referee. He had a good game overall to be fair,yes he made a few errors but over the 70 mins he contributed a lot to the way he let the game be played out by 2 Teams desperate to win and willing to die on their feet for their beloved county and that surely is something you must be proud of.To say the referee was biased to one side is simply a ludicrous statement and very few on here will back you up on that....It was probably one of the best games witnessed of all times and there has to be a winner and Loser.You could easily blame your keeper for a terrible error for the goal or even Paul ryan for missing 3-4 very soft frees but of course they dont go out with the intention of doing so and neither does the ref...

Bigdong (UK) - Posts: 66 - 12/08/2013 15:52:16    1459721

What utter nonsense. Next week you'll be complaining about inconsistent refereeing. Gaelic games are the only sports where players, fans and managers openly expect referees to bend the rules. Rushe struck another player with his hurl deliberately. That is a striaght red card and there should never be any exception to that.

AndunLug

Ahh here now. This is mans game. Christ i played plenty a junior hurling match where if there wasnt blood there was no card and if there was blood it was a yellow. I agree there should be consistancy but at the same time there must be common sense. O Dwyer was harsh. He should have known better being on a yellow card but still harsh. And yes Rushe deserved to go but ref took a common sense approach and left the player on for a reckless back lash which pa horgan said him self rush was just trying to clear space. But the biggest thing is this is AMATEUR sport these lads spend months making huge commitments to both club and county and we must remember that. Im sure at some stage you played a football or hurling match where you or a player of yours got sent off for a moment of madness and complained about it. Take it handy lad. Ill take that blow and give a yellow happily rather than having to put up with the cynical fouling that is gracing our football of late

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 12/08/2013 15:57:58    1459732

I don't know why some of the Dubs fans are getting so upset about the outcome of a hurling match. Sure, most of them had never even been to a hurling match before this year.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 12/08/2013 15:58:13    1459733

Better team won on the day, Cork at even money was a steal.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 12/08/2013 16:01:12    1459743

JayP

Dublin were robbed.....terrible reffing decisions throughout the games. That's not mentioning the sending off.

Dublin couldn't buy a free!!!

Hahaha. Ye bought yer way to the hurling table though.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 12/08/2013 16:02:17    1459746

KeyserSoze

I don't know why some of the Dubs fans are getting so upset about the outcome of a hurling match. Sure, most of them had never even been to a hurling match before this year.

Ah another little gem (massive eyeroll) How long before you toddle off back over to proc?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/08/2013 16:07:03    1459752

Bigdong
County: UK

Clondalkindub must be the sourest loser ever to come on to this forum..You must have been watching a complete different game to everyone else..I understand you are upset about losing an all ireland semi final but jaysus will you ever give it a rest about blaming the referee. He had a good game overall to be fair,yes he made a few errors but over the 70 mins he contributed a lot to the way he let the game be played out by 2 Teams desperate to win and willing to die on their feet for their beloved county and that surely is something you must be proud of.To say the referee was biased to one side is simply a ludicrous statement and very few on here will back you up on that....It was probably one of the best games witnessed of all times and there has to be a winner and Loser.You could easily blame your keeper for a terrible error for the goal or even Paul ryan for missing 3-4 very soft frees but of course they dont go out with the intention of doing so and neither does the ref...

first off in know way am i blaming the ref for loosing the match here,cork were the better team over 70 minutes.
but you cannot say the ref had a good game,now i dont know if you were at the match or watching on tv but it was clear to all to be seen in croke park he was poor.there were some blatant frees he let go which in turn ended up in scores at the other end of the field.now its all fine for aneutral to say the ref let the game flow and makes you enjoy it,but as a player or supporter of the team who should have been awarded a free to then see the other team go up the other end of the pitch and score its wrong in my opinion.
there are rules there for a reason and if its afoul afree should be awarded.
the ref got the ryan o dwyer sending off wrong and also should have sent liam rushe off so thats another two bad decisions by him.
for me he had a poor match but was not to blam for dublin loosing

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2013 16:17:42    1459764

Dubs lack of class in defeat is disappointing, you should take a leaf out of your manager, he comes from a proper hurling county.

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 12/08/2013 16:19:50    1459766

Redfoot

Dubs lack of class in defeat is disappointing, you should take a leaf out of your manager, he comes from a proper hurling county.

your lack of class in winning is there for all to see and letting down the honest genuine cork supporters.
i didnt recall any dubs coming on last week when we beat cork in the football making comments like you.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2013 16:27:10    1459775

Lads you're lowering yourselves by responding to obvious WUMs

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 12/08/2013 16:30:34    1459784

In my opinion, the Ref was extremely one sided in the frees count, Dublin were fouled a number of times but because they kept on going waiting on a whistle that never came the ref played 'advantage'. Cork on the other hand were lighter and when fouled stopped for the foul to be given. Overall a great game of hurling spoiled by the sending off.

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 12/08/2013 16:30:51    1459785

hill16no1man

1459775 Redfoot

your lack of class in winning is there for all to see and letting down the honest genuine cork supporters.
i didnt recall any dubs coming on last week when we beat cork in the football making comments like you. [url=]link

Don't bite Hill, I think the 2 cork boys wumming are the same poster.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/08/2013 16:32:26    1459788

In my opinion the refereeing was poor again but aside from his sending off I thought Ryan O'Dwyers performance was one of the best I've seen from a half forward for a long time. First twenty minutes of the 2nd half he was unbelievable. This coming from someone who never rated him when he was in Tipp! Had he stayed on the field I'm convinced he would have been one of the main reasons they one but now well....

Will Keaney still get hurler of the year? Probably not but I think himself and Sutcliffe should be the first two forwards on the All Stars.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/08/2013 16:32:50    1459790

As a neutral I thoroughly enjoyed the game yesterday. Well done to Cork and hard luck to Dublin. For what it's worth I thought O Dwyers red was very harsh. KK and Tipp would last year would have ended up as a 7 a side if the same standard applied. Rushe however did deserve to see red. In my opinion the ref was trying to atone for O Dwyers red and only gave Rushe a yellow.
Cork will be hard bet now but I still fancy Limerick.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 12/08/2013 16:34:28    1459793

That's because redfoot & keysersoze are on loan from that heinous site Proc & are on a fleeting visit trolling. They'll be gone soon & we can debate the game with quality Cork posters like Bennybunny & Corkcelt. In short.....

DON'T FEED THE TROLLS!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/08/2013 16:34:43    1459795