Real_Slim_Shady County: Meath Posts: 92
the fact is dublin might have 1.2 million people living in the county and cork might have what ever less people but heres the only fact that matters when selecting a panel for dublin senior football and hurling teams and cork senior football and hurling teams...................THERE IS MORE PEOPLE PLAYING GAA IN CORK THEN DUBLIN SO THEY HAVE MORE TO CHOOSE FROM!!!! ((by the way no dig at cork whatsoever just pointing it out to these anti dub posters)
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/07/2013 15:26:04
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 5334
1443206 TheMaster
theres only three clubs in dublin that can field more then 2 clubs at any age level i dont care what you say about other posters,im involved in the dublin club scene i know the clubs and just becuase croke and boden are high profile,you miss out the fact that they take in such big areas where they are the only club in that region,where as on the northside take for example o tooles,trinity gaels,st monicas,naomh barrog,raheny would all be the same size area as crokes. most of these clubs dont have a team at every age level even and i dont think any would have more then one team at any age group. My post on non nationals is not guesswork its fact the latest census declared that slightly over 550 thousand non nationals are in ireland and the largest areas they are in are dublin city and fingal.there is not 20 thousand non nationals in most other countys also the number is very low under 10 thousand in most.You keep thinking a ratio works in simple terms of population it doesnt. take dublin to kilkenny or kerry.dublins sporting participation would be spread very even across all sports where as kilkenny and kerry would have one sport that takes the bulk of sporting participation.
If you bothered to read my note you'd see the non nationals you would see that although the % in Dublin is slightly higher than in some other counties it is braodly in line.
Real_Slim_Shady (Meath) - Posts: 153 - 26/07/2013 15:31:31
Kerry are proof that you dont need massive playing populations to be a success even though Kerry is no small county. Tyrone and Armagh have also done very well. A sizable population in those counties would not play GAA?
Could could flip the coin and ask why Cork have won so few Football All Ireland? Have they underachieved down the years with so many football clubs? You could also say my own county have failed. Dublin have a huge pick but too many get lost through the cracks....lots of distractions int he big smoke.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11664 - 26/07/2013 15:32:57
decky County: Roscommon Posts: 134
1443125 hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 5332
1442541 Wow some country guys here really don't have a clue about Dublin club scene.
Why would they? What can you tell me about the club scene in, say, Sligo?
if you read the whole post instead of taking one line you would know that im not professing and making lies up about any other county club scene which the guys i wrote that post about where regarding dublin club scene.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/07/2013 15:33:21
TheRightStuff County: Donegal Posts: 307
1443152 There are 38,000 people from the Presbyterian community living in Donegal , most BUT NOT ALL , don't play GAA. Dublin has crazy playing numbers
why can people not get this in their head CORK HAS THE BIGGEST PLAYING NUMBERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/07/2013 15:35:18
hill16no1man
There is clearly more than 30 lads at these age groups in the average dublin club. What you are saying isnt true.
My post on non nationals is not guesswork its fact the latest census declared that slightly over 550 thousand non nationals are in ireland and the largest areas they are in are dublin city and fingal.there is not 20 thousand non nationals in most other countys also the number is very low under 10 thousand in most.
10,000 is a total guess and a misleading one. In fact the whole non-national thing is a pointless dabate, as the bottom line is dublin clubs are getting 7 times the players, that is after non-nationals and whoever else have been considered.
You keep thinking a ratio works in simple terms of population it doesnt. take dublin to kilkenny or kerry.dublins sporting participation would be spread very even across all sports where as kilkenny and kerry would have one sport that takes the bulk of sporting participation.
But that is their choice. They have chosen to concentrate on 1 sport. Again, the fact that dublin clubs get 7 times as many players takes this into consideration already - all those lads are playing football therefore they havent been lost to hurling or anything else. These guys are the ones they managed to get into the game, 140 odd of them, just like the 20 odd lads in kerry or mayo or kilkenny.
Also, as jimbo is aware, I have never advocated splitting kilkenny up. Like kerry, they are operating off a number in and around the average - more power to them.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/07/2013 15:39:34
jimbo All in the course of "Fairness"
Are you for real? What is fair about dublin on average having 10 times the pick of every other team in the entire competition? Explain to me how that is fair. Explain to me how giving them 5 times the pick instead of 10 is unfair on dublin.
Otherwise stop trying to spoil a genuine debate with your sulking.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/07/2013 15:43:04
What is the point behind the population argument?
Dublin has a bigger population. Dublin also has more foreign nationals and people from outside the county than any other county, (although all you have to do is look at the Westmeath minor team to see that there's no reason foreign nationals can't be attracted to the GAA, admittedly though in Dublin they might be more exposed to, and more likely to join a football team instead). There's also a higher number of football, rugby, cricket and tennis clubs etc than any other county for the GAA to compete with.
On the flip side of that though it's also pretty hard to judge the actual population (as in people who actually take an interest in the county's GAA teams) of counties that make up the commuter belt around Dublin. Meath and Kildare have big populations, as do places like Mullingar, Drogheda, Bray and Portlaoise, a good chunk of these would be people from outside the county though.
Never mind population I'd say one of the biggest pluses Dublin GAA has going for it is the size of the county and the population density. I'm guessing it's easier to organise development squads, north / south in a smaller county than it would be in bigger counties with more rural populations. Likewise if you're going to be training in say Clontarf or DCU then you're talking about pretty central locations in relation to the city centre, which would make it easier for lads to attend training assuming they live in the county. I suppose rush hour traffic is a counter to that benefit too though. Not that any of that should make much of a difference to how good a team can play though really.
If Dublin can capitalise on what they have then fair play to them. Instead of splitting them which is an inevitable suggestion on a topic like this, maybe their development and growth programmes should be scaled down and applied to counties with smaller populations and participation rates. Take the Dublin hurling development plan for example, funding aside, is there any reason why a long term plan like that can't be developed for football in Kilkenny or hurling in Tyrone?
A large population base should be looked on a plus for the GAA as a whole, not the negative as some see it as.
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 26/07/2013 15:48:20
the master
please point out how dublin have 7 times more player playing gaa then any county? considering cork has the largest gaa participants i would love to hear you worm out of this one
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/07/2013 16:13:57
if in doubt
well said i agree with almost all you say there. the only point i was trying to point out to people such as the master and slim is that just simply becuase a county has 1.2 million people registered does not mean they are all lined up and available for selcetion like the master has it made out to be. p.s. would the lads playing for westmeath minors actualy be classed as non nationals if they were born in ireland?
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/07/2013 16:17:52
26/07/2013 15:43:04 TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7925
1443259 jimbo All in the course of "Fairness"
Are you for real? What is fair about dublin on average having 10 times the pick of every other team in the entire competition? Explain to me how that is fair. Explain to me how giving them 5 times the pick instead of 10 is unfair on dublin.
Otherwise stop trying to spoil a genuine debate with your sulking.
I have yet to see a genuine debate from you. I have always felt there is more to your rhetoric of constantly look at Dublin GAA in what the have and don't have. Its much darker and theres a name for it. But sometimes in arenas like this one can't come out and say what they have to say. No matter the thread and its subject matter, no matter what it is you always seem to find away to bring back to Dublin GAA.
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 26/07/2013 16:17:59
If in doubt , explain how Dublin having superior numbers benefits the GAA as a whole ? It benefits Dublin and no one else. It's like the bull that came from the media two years ago stating Dublins all-Ireland win was great for the Gaa , it didn't benefit counties outside the pale, it was great for the Dublin media. Yes Dublin have a lot of non-nationals but they have massive playing numbers compared to ourselves etc.
TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 26/07/2013 16:22:28
Put it this way, Im GAA mad, id chat about it all day. I am a teacher in a Dublin school, there is two in the staffroom that discuss football with me and they are from Mayo. The kids love soccer and One Direction. Then when you consider other schools where GAA is core like my old school Coláiste Eoin. The next Bernard Brogan may never even know what Gaelic football or hurling are, he might be born into a family that emphasize other sports. Dublin can't be compared to other counties, it's a different world and I can say as a Dub, its hard to define a Dub because when I began working in a school in Dublin, culturally it was alien to me. They had different accents, different sports, dressed differently etc etc. Certainly having a large population has no real baring on a teams performance. China = a good soccer team? Why aren't Italy good at Rugby? At the end of the day, a senior county manager looks at the senior clubs which are a similar number in most counties and the odd player or two in Junior and Inter championships. Everyone is choosing from a similar sized crop. Kilkenny is hardly millions and they could field a few decent county sides and the same could be said of other counties. My personal view is that a split is counter productive in Dublin. The obvious split would be north south which would be this kind of scenario. Dublin South Hurling would be good enough, Dublin north in the christy ring. Dublin north football would be good but not good enough to win sam, and dublin south would be average at football. Just an opinion.
FOB (Dublin) - Posts: 912 - 26/07/2013 16:31:24
TheRightStuff County: Donegal Posts: 309
If in doubt , explain how Dublin having superior numbers benefits the GAA as a whole ? It benefits Dublin and no one else. It's like the bull that came from the media two years ago stating Dublins all-Ireland win was great for the Gaa , it didn't benefit counties outside the pale, it was great for the Dublin media. Yes Dublin have a lot of non-nationals but they have massive playing numbers compared to ourselves etc.
I just think that if more people are involved in the GAA, or are potentially going to be involved in the GAA in the future then it's a positive thing for our games regardless of what county they are living in.
The more people playing, coaching and getting involved with their local club the better I say. Whether that happens in Dublin, Kildare, Leitrim or London is neither here nor there.
More people involved in the GAA will ultimately help put more money back into the games too I'd imagine.
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 5340
if in doubt
well said i agree with almost all you say there. the only point i was trying to point out to people such as the master and slim is that just simply becuase a county has 1.2 million people registered does not mean they are all lined up and available for selcetion like the master has it made out to be. p.s. would the lads playing for westmeath minors actualy be classed as non nationals if they were born in ireland?
I suppose you're right hill. It might come down to a generational thing, it mightn't be the non nationals living in Dublin now that get involved with their local GAA club, it might well be their children that do so in a few years time.
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 26/07/2013 16:32:58
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 5340
1443299 if in doubt
Again - of you bothered to read my posts you would see I said no such thing - all I said was the available pool in Dublin is a multiple of what it is in other counties this is not an earth shattering revelation but you seem to think I am making it up http://www.cso.ie/en/census/ if you don't believe me.
Getting bored with this now - you've obviously a bee in your bonnet about the subject. A British friend of mine runs with the same line about the Olympics - that despite having 1/15th of the population Ireland should some how be competing with them on the medal table. Ridiculous.
Real_Slim_Shady (Meath) - Posts: 153 - 26/07/2013 16:37:28
TheRightStuff, the Dublin media are mostly culchies and culchies are obsessed with discussing the dubs, they eat it up. Fact is if Dublin are in the all-ireland final most people won't even know about it or even care and of course others will. I remember standing in Supervalu all geared up for the match, dressed in blue, i said Up the Dubs. I got a dodgy look from the person at the till who said, I hate hurling! I walked out the door thinking what's hurling got to do with todays football match. By the way, she had a culchie accent! There is enough in Dublin that love the GAA and others do their own thing and not a bad thing, its just the way it is. If Dublin GAA have some success it because of hard work, as much hard work as any other county.
FOB (Dublin) - Posts: 912 - 26/07/2013 16:42:25
Real_Slim_Shady County: Meath Posts: 94
A British friend of mine runs with the same line about the Olympics - that despite having 1/15th of the population Ireland should some how be competing with them on the medal table. Ridiculous.
Well the Jamiacans should only be half as good as us so...
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 26/07/2013 16:43:37
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 10745
1442976 hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 5330
1442959 real slim shday
how have we 2.5 times the next county to choose from? breakdown dublins population it becomes very evident that thats not true. 1.2million accounted for in dublin on last census. 650 thousand of them were female!!!! leaving you immediately with 550 thousand men in dublin. if at the very least half the number non nationals in ireland which is 550 thousand live in dublin thats 250 thousand which is again another 125 thousand men reducing the number of dublin males to 425 thousand. now i cannot find a figure for the amount of country people resident in dublin but you can bet your house its a large figure. thus blowing this whole 1.2 million number as a completer myth ______________
Dont let logic and intelligence get in the way of trolling hill...
______
Quite the opposite actually. There is very little logic or intelligence in this post.
jamesjoyce (Derry) - Posts: 126 - 26/07/2013 16:49:07
agree on all counts Jimbodub, but even if we had 10 million in Dublin it doesn't guarantee Sam or Liam for that matter.
FOB (Dublin) - Posts: 912 - 26/07/2013 17:05:21
FOB , fair enought point I suppose. When you are successful , there does follow bitterness from other counties
TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 26/07/2013 17:08:10