keithlemon MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/07/2013 20:55:01 1437950 Link 0 |
just in the door from Clones. Well done Monaghan, we never were able to cope in that game, which you controlled all the way from start to finish. I hope our lads can get a wee bit of regrouping done I would like to think we can finish the year on a good performance, but this thread should b about monaghan and their first ulster championship in 25 years. enjoy it Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 21/07/2013 21:03:16 1437963 Link 0 |
Well done and best wishes for the future. foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 21/07/2013 21:11:23 1437985 Link 0 |
Heartiest congratulations to Monaghan....the better team on the day and no excuses from this end. Enjoy the celebrations - fully deserved! Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 21/07/2013 21:14:41 1437988 Link 0 |
Not forgetting the minor victory as well, some day for Monaghan football,its been a long time coming and no less deserved. Well done to all concerned. brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 21/07/2013 21:17:21 1437991 Link 0 |
Well done Monaghan . It's great to see a new team winning and I'm delighted for the older players who have suffered lots of disappointment. As Banty said earlier no chickens will be plucked and no mushrooms picked this week. marita (None) - Posts: 469 - 21/07/2013 21:26:18 1438016 Link 0 |
should of been a home match in ballybofey rather than a home match for monaghan. great result but like donegal 2012 starvation a huge factor delighted for paul findlay. weebox (Tyrone) - Posts: 272 - 21/07/2013 21:29:16 1438023 Link 0 |
Monaghan won the match but they didn't beat the system!!! NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 21/07/2013 21:43:47 1438072 Link 0 |
NavyNBlue MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/07/2013 21:51:48 1438106 Link 0 |
Powerful performance and fully deserved. Monaghan have been building nicely for a while and they showed against Meath in the Division 3 final that they are a really decent side. Their workrate is phenomenal, they fear no one. and physically they are up there with any of the top sides; they will be no push over in the last 8.. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 21/07/2013 21:53:18 1438111 Link 0 |
Hi guys, emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 22/07/2013 08:00:08 1438144 Link 0 |
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2696 - 22/07/2013 09:17:11 1438180 Link 0 |
So you could say that the system beat itself then Muckross? keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 22/07/2013 09:19:56 1438184 Link 0 |
Big congratulations to Monaghan on a richly deserved win. I knew they'd go at it hammer and tongs but like a lot of people I thought that Donegal would prevail in the end. I'd say the craic was unbelievable in Monaghan Town last night. There already looked to be a massive crowd gathered for the Nathan Carter concert and the post match celebrations were certainly adding to the fervour. Great to see excitement like that and people thoroughly enjoying themselves in these dreary times. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9729 - 22/07/2013 09:28:55 1438193 Link 0 |
Fair play to the Conallaigh. Its good to see you all so gracious in defeat. Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 22/07/2013 09:42:48 1438211 Link 0 |
An_Oifigeach (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 22/07/2013 10:02:25 1438238 Link 0 |
Heartiest congratulations to Monaghan, ye fully deserved your victory yesterday and as painful as it was from a Donegal perspective, it was great to see a county starved of success, have such joy and euphoria. Thankfully we know that feeling well in Donegal over the last two years. Your hunger and intensity was first class. Best of luck for the rest of the championship. LetterkennyMan (Donegal) - Posts: 393 - 22/07/2013 10:07:40 1438245 Link 0 |
Well done Monaghan won all of the individual battles and they put in a great shift. Some boys on that panel have been about along time and deserve there Ulster title tonto21 (Donegal) - Posts: 181 - 22/07/2013 10:10:45 1438255 Link 0 |
I think the whole country is celebrating! Great to see Monaghan win and to show up the flaws in this Donegal side....from day one we all knew what Donegal was about, muscle and braun with a lack of natural footballing ability. We all wondered what would Donegal do if they went a few points behind? They couldnt just sit back as they usually do and try to spoil the game with negative tactics they would have to actually go and attack. Well done Monaghan, we salute you! cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 22/07/2013 10:15:16 1438264 Link 0 |
Well done Monaghan, just shows the way to beat Donegal is to not play football either, if football is going this way, its a sad state of affairs, from watching the championship so far, its a joy to watch Mannion, Mc Caffrey, and Killkenny great your players playing football not the tripe served up yesterday. kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 22/07/2013 10:21:52 1438274 Link 0 |