Well done Monaghan!!

What an amazing performance from Monaghan. Phenomonal performance. Lennon, McManus, The Hughes brothers .. All phenomenal.

Commiserations Donegal. Will still be in the quarter final though.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 21/07/2013 17:35:41    1437469

Very disappointed, but it was a fantastic game. Fair play to Monaghan for beating us so comprehensively. Ye were the much better team and ye won it in great spirit.

The Ulster championship is the best.

AnRaibh (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 21/07/2013 17:40:40    1437474

Who had the better pitch invasion though? us or the monaghan boys. that is the question?

Fishermantom (Limerick) - Posts: 569 - 21/07/2013 17:40:43    1437475

Some change from scoring 2-18 against An Dún in last year's final.

AnRaibh (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 21/07/2013 17:41:47    1437478

YEEEEAAAAAAAAAOOOOOOOOOOOUUUUUUWWWWWWW...!!!!

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 21/07/2013 17:41:50    1437479

Congratulations Monaghan. Well deserved.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2003 - 21/07/2013 17:43:11    1437483

Well done to Monaghan.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 21/07/2013 17:43:17    1437485

Th best part of the game and TV3 take an ad break

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 21/07/2013 17:44:11    1437489

Wow. Well done Monaghan.

I'll hold my hands up and say I didn't think yous had a prayer. Fantastic performance.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13792 - 21/07/2013 17:45:04    1437492

Very well done to Monaghan, delighted for you's.

AnRaibh

If you thought that was a fantastic game of football you obviously know nothing about football. Donegal put in a pathetic performance but anyway all credit to Monaghan they were excellent.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/07/2013 17:45:14    1437493

comhghairdeas ! delight , Jimmy needs a new tune

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 21/07/2013 17:45:27    1437495

well done monaghan

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2962 - 21/07/2013 17:45:29    1437496

Very good. Great heart shown. first interesting result all year in football. Changes the whole picture. Dubs/Donegal or Donegal/Kerry quarter final would be interesting!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 21/07/2013 17:45:58    1437497

Great win and well done Monaghan

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 21/07/2013 17:47:42    1437501

Htaem

AnRaibh:

If you thought that was a fantastic game of football you obviously know nothing about football. Donegal put in a pathetic performance but anyway all credit to Monaghan they were excellent.

Well I suppose it's subjective and I guess that our performance was poor, but I'd suggest that it was due to Muineachán not letting us perform. Maybe it wasn't a fantastic game but Muineachán's performance was fantastic and as much as it sucks, I enjoyed watching it.

AnRaibh (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 21/07/2013 17:51:48    1437510

Fair enough AmRaibh, I thought it was poor but it is nice to see someone else win for a change.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/07/2013 17:58:25    1437533

@markmywords 100% agree there! I'd be fairly p****d off if I was a Monaghan supporter watching on tv and didn't get to witness the scenes at the end, tv3 once again put their foot in it. Congrats Monaghan!!!!

offwithya (Limerick) - Posts: 120 - 21/07/2013 17:58:43    1437534

Fair play to Monaghan,what a performance! Scoreboard didn't tell the full tale could have easily won by another 6/7 points. Donegal were poor but in no way can that be used an excuse, even if we lifted it another 10-20% we would have been well beaten.

If Monaghan can bring the same intensity through to the next few rounds then they will be hard stopped because they definitely have the players and skill level. Three scoring forwards inside who can all win their own ball, strong midfield, attacking half backs, tight full back line.

Well done!

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 21/07/2013 17:59:09    1437536

Big congrats to Monaghan after a brilliant display that very few neutrals saw coming.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8729 - 21/07/2013 18:05:08    1437551

Surprise of the championship so far.Donegal still in it by the way and they now have the weight off their shoulders and a chance to regroup,which I think they will do.One other question for them though is if they have actually been training too hard at this point.They began to unexpectedly tire as tough game wore on.Still, its Monaghans big day and congratulations to the Farney boys and their management for picking a game plan and stickig to it with great determination.Especially delighted for their older lads like Clerkin and Mc Manus and the Hughes boys and Freeman to get some silverware after all the years hard graft.Well done lads.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/07/2013 18:10:13    1437560