Football: Best freetaker in the game

sheehan for me, although cant get his place in the team at the moment! cluxton was pretty poor at the wknd think he only got 3 from 6 or 7 and they all werent long range either!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 17/07/2013 17:16:10    1434777

Mr Daniel Goulding..

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 382 - 17/07/2013 17:19:10    1434784

The recently retired Tony Hannon was very impressive! Long distances he was superb.

MickODire (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 17/07/2013 17:21:01    1434787

I think Sheehan is a class act but he misses a fair few as well, I can't think of anyone more dependable and steady than Murphy.

Also agree with statement about the nostalgia of Giles and O'Cinneide, they missed more than their fair share of frees.

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 17/07/2013 17:22:53    1434793

I think currently its Mickie Newman of Meath. 50 yard free kick against the wind in wicklow, excellent score

Sheenjr (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 17/07/2013 17:34:14    1434807

Paddy Cunningham

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 17/07/2013 17:49:49    1434824

Left footed - 1. Goulding Right footed - 1. Sheehan
2. Cluxton 2. Murphy
3. McFadden 3. O'Connor

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 17/07/2013 18:09:18    1434836

I think Niall Morgan of Tyrone deserves a mention. He has had one off game fair enough but through out the league he was hitting some great frees.

For me though at the minute i'd say Sheehan or Murphy. Back in the day McConville never missed.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 17/07/2013 18:17:02    1434840

Brian White of Cooley Kickhams and Louth is the All Ireland Champion winner from the Dundalk Young Irelands free taking competition of last year where he defeated some of the players mentioned previously on this post.

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 17/07/2013 18:21:33    1434845

Some frees that Murphy has put over from the ground for Glenswilly over the last two years have been astronomical. 60+ yards. Right over the black bit.

donegalboy (Donegal) - Posts: 120 - 17/07/2013 18:29:59    1434852

this shouldn't be a matter of opinion. There should be stats available.especially for this years championship. percentage-wise who scores the most.I reckon Cluston's percentage has gone down badly this season. I would say Daniel Goulding or one of the Donegal boys would on top. Mickey Newman has scored alot but also missed quite a few. Gooch rarely misses but they are usually handy ones (that he has cunningly engineered for himself)

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 17/07/2013 19:29:18    1434897

Liamwalkinstown

Breff is right and wrong!
Cluxton hs missed many frees in his time
but you know what, i have never seen him miss a big one
any time the free really matters, he nails it.
Every time.

What a stupid statement! They're all important! Maybe if he didnt miss so many of these so called "unimportant" frees, he wouldn't have to face so many last ditch life-and-death kicks

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 17/07/2013 19:35:10    1434900

Percentages would be unfair on Cluxton seeing every kick he takes is 45m + from goal, then there are guys that only kick short frees like Gooch as you said.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 17/07/2013 20:12:59    1434924

Bryan isn't bad at them http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H5WaNh0a3UI
Murphy is great also

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 17/07/2013 21:24:22    1434973

Sheenjr

I think currently its Mickie Newman of Meath. 50 yard free kick against the wind in wicklow, excellent score

Yes but also missed a few closer ones too.
But totally silenced the boo boys on the hill.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 17/07/2013 21:26:33    1434975

Cute hoor has a good summary of six lads there, 3 from ground and 3 from hands.

But i would like to echo what lockJaw said about murphy, recently, as confirmed on local radio he clipped over a free from. "70 meters" (wind with him) but lads how many men coud hit a ball off the ground 70 meters out over the bar in club championship pressure?

fatfrog (Donegal) - Posts: 200 - 17/07/2013 21:59:52    1435003

Best free taker ever: off both feet...Colin Corkery was the best..Maurice Fitz had the best style

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 17/07/2013 22:00:03    1435004

No particular order
Redmond
Corkery
Murphy
however if I had to pick just one , Trevor Giles lethal .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/07/2013 09:24:27    1435033

Sheehan has gone off the boil of late so wouldn't include him in the argument.

Daniel Goulding, Michael Murphy and Cillian O'Connor look the best at the moment.

Maurice Fitz is the all time best. Will we ever see his like again? Unfortunately not I feel.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 18/07/2013 09:50:08    1435053

How hasn't anyone mention Paul Finley yet prob one of the most reliable free takers in the country

monk92 (Monaghan) - Posts: 6 - 18/07/2013 10:16:28    1435073