Roll on next Sunday.Meath stuttered over wicklow and Wexford,are still congratulating themselves on a 7 point beating from the dubs and have already written off Tyrone!
St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1726 - 21/07/2013 10:41:48
St.Conleth we haven't a chance against Tyrone but we will enjoy the day out and won't attack the ref.
ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 21/07/2013 10:50:40
Tyrone are well capable of beating Meath but maybe the difference now is that each game will be fairly close whereas a few years ago we would have pulled away last night. That said as someone who has attended most of Tyrones games in the backdoor away matches at the county grounds have great atmosphere's and help the home team and close victories over the likes of Longford, Roscommon and Kildare have had to be earned.
Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 21/07/2013 10:58:11
lilywhitemagic County: Kildare Posts: 1605
1436422 I said crdeit has to go to mc geeney not all but credit aswell im sure syl merrins and co would agree!! beir bua you clearly have an anti mc geeney agenda and I hope the county board announce soon he will be kept on just to sicken the likes of you.
Anti-McGeeney agenda? Not at all my friend. McGeeney made great progress in his first few years in charge but he risks undoing all that the longer he stays on. The message has gone stale and he has ran out of ideas. All Kildare fans can appreciate the work that was put in but a new man with new ideas would be a good move at this stage of the team's development.
beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 21/07/2013 11:21:02
St.Conleth we haven't a chance against Tyrone but we will enjoy the day out and won't attack the ref.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 21/07/2013 11:34:11
Tyrone are well capable of beating Meath but maybe the difference now is that each game will be fairly close whereas a few years ago we would have pulled away last night. That said as someone who has attended most of Tyrones games in the backdoor away matches at the county grounds have great atmosphere's and help the home team and close victories over the likes of Longford, Roscommon and Kildare have had to be earned.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 21/07/2013 11:43:11
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 4459
1436812 Are we human. If sj had stayed with cavan he'd be in quarter this year. Karma. :-)
No royaldunne he would be watching the game on telly. He was told he was not needed by the new manager and Cavan's achievements this year have vindicated that decision. If you wanted to see Karma in action replay the QF in 2010 between Kildare and Meath, its Meath's next game after the Leinster final "win".
murof (Kildare) - Posts: 480 - 21/07/2013 11:43:54
Fair play to Tyrone, did what they needed to do and won. Took their chances for the most part and defended well, don't think we had any real goal chance at all last night. They kicked some great points in the first half, although a couple of score came from us being sloppy and giving up handy possession resulting in our backs fouling them each time they came forward.
Kildare kicked it away in the first half, two or three dropped into the keepers hands with another seven or eight going wide. Massive point by Doyle just before half time which gave us a bit of hope going into the second.
Showed great character and resolve to come back into it and get level, just couldn't get the vital score to go in front, atmosphere was absolutely electric at that stage.
Some of these young players are showing some serious potential, there's a lot for Kildare fans to be positive about going forward from here.
Also great to see lads like O'Connor and Bolton out on the pitch for so long afterwards, was the same after the Louth game, I'm sure posing for photos and signing autographs is the last thing you want to be doing after a defeat but they looked like they would have stayed out there all night asked. The players are a credit to themselves and the county.
clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 3818
Why did Mcgeeney take off O Neill? The whole game changed after that terrible call from the manager, Tyrone were there for the taking but IMO the managers call ruined any chance of a Kildare win. Tyrone v Meath should be a great game but where have all these cocky Meath supporters come from ?A 7 point defeat to there biggest rivals has made them think Tyrone will be no challenge to them now ? Am I missing something ?
O'Neill was on a yellow and was again shown the book by McQuilan in the second half, another foul and like Kelly he more than likely would have received his second yellow for persistant fouling and gone off. Thought Hurley did well enough when moved to midfield anyways.
As for your second point, there's a small element of Meath fans who seem to take more joy from a neighbouring county losing than they do their own county winning. Losing by seven points is seen as a victory for them as long as we lose by more.
Of course I'll probably be accused of being bitter, jealous or obsessive now.
They remind me of Hearts or Liverpool fans a bit with the way they go on.
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 21/07/2013 11:53:08
A lot of people here seem to take the views of one Meath poster in particular as those of the entire county.
Thats just a convenient way of making yourselves feel better about your own opinions.
Truth is - 99.9% of Meath folk do not give a damn about Kildare or any other county for that matter. We've had enough on our own plate to deal with over the past few years to be worried about anybody else. Likewise - any opinions you do have of us are wholly irrelevant anyway. They always have been and always will be.
As for that one particular poster - if you do take any heed of him - then more fool you.
In relation to the game itself - the truth is; Kildare will know that they played very badly and yet they still could have beat Tyrone if they did things even slightly different.
Both counties can take away from that whatever they want.
BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 21/07/2013 12:08:22
BRING_ON_GURTY! County: Meath Posts: 705
A lot of people here seem to take the views of one Meath poster in particular as those of the entire county.
Thats just a convenient way of making yourselves feel better about your own opinions.
Truth is - 99.9% of Meath folk do not give a damn about Kildare or any other county for that matter. We've had enough on our own plate to deal with over the past few years to be worried about anybody else. Likewise - any opinions you do have of us are wholly irrelevant anyway. They always have been and always will be.
As for that one particular poster - if you do take any heed of him - then more fool you.
Gurty, Meath must be a lonely place when you're talking sense like that.
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 21/07/2013 12:17:23
if_in_doubt County: Kildare Posts: 2186
Gurty, Meath must be a lonely place when you're talking sense like that
What can I say.. Since I started taking the M4 home instead of the M3 - I've been acting all strange lately.
BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 21/07/2013 12:32:46
Bringongurty
Your spot on. Kildare posters use the views of one supporter to abuse an entire county based on the posts of one person.
And as for Meath posters taking more from a kildare loss. Not a bit if it. Couldn't give a damn about kildare. However, there was a thread on this site a few months back asking What was your counties sweetest result in recent years. Two KILDARE posters who Saud their sweetest result was Laois beefing Meath last year rather than one of their own counties wins !
Says it all.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 21/07/2013 13:08:12
What was the Kildare fans gripe with the ref. I didn't see the match so just wondering?
marita (None) - Posts: 469 - 21/07/2013 13:13:14
Gurty band on there my friend. As a Kildare fan who attends a few Meath matches with the Meath in-laws I can honestly say most of the bitter and moronic Kildare-Meath rivalry happens on HS, outside of that neither county could really give a shite about the other. The rivalry is the minds of a few bitter Trolls (from all sides) just out to cause shite, some who have admitted to this on other threads. the gloating and jibes over another county been defeated is infantile and a huge to disrespect to any team of amateur sportsmen who give their all for the love of playing our game. Thats why i have so little time, humour or patience for this shite from certain posters.
commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 21/07/2013 13:19:17
marita County: All Posts: 264
1437055 What was the Kildare fans gripe with the ref. I didn't see the match so just wondering?
-----------
In a crowd where almost everyone is supporting one team you will have noise anytime the ref gives a decision against the home team. If you watch the match back you'll see the ref got all the big calls right.
The penalty was a penalty for a foot block. The sending off was a sending off for persistent fouling and 2 yellows.
Some other refs would have been swayed by the Home Town Support and given a few dodgy calls but that would be them at fault.
tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 21/07/2013 13:21:53
Jinxie County: Meath Posts: 5661
However, there was a thread on this site a few months back asking What was your counties sweetest result in recent years. Two KILDARE posters who Saud their sweetest result was Laois beefing Meath last year rather than one of their own counties wins !
Says it all.
Well that's just no true now is it?
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 21/07/2013 13:36:00
We lost last night because we had too slow a build up to our attacks and lack a few clinical forwards to support Johnny. Defence had a few issues but there some class play by 1 or 2 Tyrone forwards. Some poor efforts, wides and short ball by both teams but some of Kildare's forward play was just poor and naive. Jesus at this stage we are still so dependent on JD, I feel sorry for him. We did win enough possession but well done Tyrone, when we drew level and they missed the penalty they showed experience and had the extra bit class to finish the game out. Geezer has pulled this team out the doldrums and has nurtured a nice bit of under-age talent coming through. But IMO I think a fresh set of ideas, tactics etc may be whats needed to draw the best of the upcoming talent that is undoubtedly there. Its not all doom and gloom, great hope for the future. Also if folk want to see what I think HS is all about have a look at some of the posts from genuine fans on the Kildare/Tyrone thread on the Kildare county page. well thought out constructive posts from Dublin, Tyrone and Meath fans like Htaem, WaynoI and Bert09.
commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 21/07/2013 13:41:22
Hi guys,
Tactical analysis on an unusual evening in Newbridge here http://action81.com/blog/?p=7471
Emmet
emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 21/07/2013 13:44:21
If in doubt
Why is it not?
Are you saying it wasn't said. Off the top of my head I can tell you that one of those posters was sedico.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 21/07/2013 13:59:54
Jinxie County: Meath Posts: 5662
If in doubt
Why is it not?
Are you saying it wasn't said. Off the top of my head I can tell you that one of those posters was sedico.
Not saying it wasn't said, just doubting that two different posters said it.
One of them might well have been sedico, I wouldn't know who the other one was though.
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 21/07/2013 14:10:04