Kildare v Tyrone

Hurley made a big difference when he came in but there was a 6/7 minute period about 55 to 60 where Tyrone won at least 6 clean possession either a catch or been very sharply in for the break that when the tacked on the crucial points.

AreWeHuman (Kildare) - Posts: 242 - 20/07/2013 20:52:58    1436718

Way no

Don't agree man Kildare played into Tyrone hands by hand passing the whole way up into into the all out defense Tyrone had on a small tight pitch like that instead of letting the ball do the work. feel Meath won't make same mistake and Meath attack with long ball and in croker Tyrone will fund it tough to play that all out defense against that

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/07/2013 20:53:01    1436719

Boring, terrible blah blah. We still did enough to win. I'm much more confident going into the Meath match. Good open space in Croke park, and plenty to improve upon. Fancy our odds. Disgraceful abuse/attention Stephen O'Neill received. Penrose off and Mc Alliskey to start next time around. Time to put Cassidy into midfield from the start:never seen him have a bad match; preoccupation with C Kavanagh got to stop. I'd have Justin Mc Mahon in next game if fit too. Apart from the point Peter Harte had a very mediocre game. Packie needs to mind the kickouts-they were magnetic to the sideline.

Gael01 (Tyrone) - Posts: 74 - 20/07/2013 20:53:24    1436720

Bred. Very big improvement if you are to beat meath, especially with the hand of history laying heavy on you.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2013 20:53:46    1436721

Open spaces of croke park to benefit tyrone??

Tyrone lads must not have seen graham reilly or eamonn wallace run.. I can see meath giving tyrone a good headache.

Let tyrone be favourites its killed you too many a time

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 793 - 20/07/2013 21:00:40    1436736

Daith

Both teams were not refereed the same way but what more can you expect with that referee? At the same time you get down to it it was a basic fact that yet again we weren't good enough to beat the worst Tyrone team in 20 years, at home. Pathetic.

I take it you didnt watch many of tyrones games in the late 90s :), it wasn't a great game, the tight pitch didn't suit us but we got the win. I think this tyrone team can definetly give most sides a game but we just lack that something special up front which the top teams donegal etc will simply swallow up our lightweight attack heres hoping we can give meath a decent game as they looked very good in their 7 point loss against dublin.

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 20/07/2013 21:06:40    1436745

Gael - SON attention was bad alright a bit like what you boys have done too gooch for years not nice when the shoe is on the other foot.
Meath will play direct ball first time and will ask questions however SON will light up Croke Park and may be the difference.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 20/07/2013 21:07:44    1436747

Cant see anything but a win for ye next week Gael cant understand how Meath are been blown up so much its hard for me to admit but ye deserved your win tonight your football is not the most attractive ever but you do have a set of sharp forward and a team with a huge work rate unfortunately from what I have seen this year there is still only one team to lose it their wearing Blue

AreWeHuman (Kildare) - Posts: 242 - 20/07/2013 21:09:25    1436748

Don't agree man Kildare played into Tyrone hands by hand passing the whole way up into into the all out defense Tyrone had on a small tight pitch like that instead of letting the ball do the work. feel Meath won't make same mistake and Meath attack with long ball and in croker Tyrone will fund it tough to play that all out defense against that

Yeh I think you're right Kildare where slow and lethargic and didn't exploit tyrone bar 10 mins at the start of the second half.

Think youre reading too much into Meath mate personally. I think if you had of put Tyrone up against Meath hypothetically before their 35 minute display against Dublin, Not one person would have felt Meath would of had a chance.

However I do feel they have a chance but as I said they will need to play for 70 minutes not only 35 .. And like a few Dublin players .. Tyrone will need a few of their best players to be off song..

Anything is possible though

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 20/07/2013 21:10:19    1436749

AreWeHuman
After the beating we gave use last year I'd be fairly confident we'd win against you pulling up again.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 586 - 20/07/2013 21:10:45    1436750

Areyouhuman. Your obviously not after that.
Kildare are poor very poor. Behind Dublin, meath, laois, wexford in leinster And to call Tyrone good tonight? Even the most blinded Tyrone man would tell you they didn't even turn up. They will up it for meath, and will need to. Meath are a real football team, not over hyped talentless gym monkeys. Truth hurts my friend, get over it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2013 21:12:53    1436753

If Peter Harte is tha loose the next day in Croke Park Meath's CHF will have a field day. Also reckon Donnelly will cause whoever Meath have at CHB some problems with his running. Fancy Gormley to shackle Reilly and Keoghan to shackle O'Neill.

Also another thing. McConnell is very poor with his kick-outs. If he lumps ball on top of Meath's midfield it will suit them down to the ground.

RebelAlliance (Cork) - Posts: 34 - 20/07/2013 21:13:03    1436754

Maybe you didn't see our Division 1 matches this year in Croker?? Suited us very well.

Gael01 (Tyrone) - Posts: 74 - 20/07/2013 21:13:30    1436756

Neither are top teams as I thought at the start of the season, Tyrone are closer than Kildare though and I still expect them to beat Meath, it should be very close and physical though.

There just aren't enough natural footballers in that Kildare forward line, men who look confident of scoring when given the ball from a certain distance. Doyle and Kelly can do that, O'Flaherty on his day but he wasn't on it today. Doyle was shut out after his early point, as I said O'Flahery didn't do enough, so then you are relying on a 19 year old to create/score chances. Once O'Connor is stood toe to toe with against a physical full back he is bang average, I like Dan Flynn but he didn't do it today, and yet again he is a working forward rather than a scorer. Kildare need to add at least one more natural scorer (maybe Johnston?) to that forward line, but the sad thing is that Doyle may be gone next year. It could be 2-3 years until their youngsters provide for them, until then Kildare may struggle.

Tyrone looked a bit average up front, all running but no guile to provide that incisive pass, make the run or take the score. They rely a bit on O'Neill, but if he is 100% fit against Meath he will be a big boost. Midfield looked poor today and Colm Cavanagh should be dropped for Cassidy. They will do better in the open spaces of Croker.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 20/07/2013 21:13:58    1436759

Bred. Very big improvement if you are to beat meath, especially with the hand of history laying heavy on you.

_____

You'd swear Tyrone where up against Kerry next ..

Its that kind of talk that makes people delighted to see Meath lose ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 20/07/2013 21:14:21    1436761

kildare football is in a bad place their county board have neglected everything in the county and pump money in to their senior county team which as turned in to a disaster no leinster, no allireland, no decent ground no hope.

thegrounds (Carlow) - Posts: 145 - 20/07/2013 21:20:15    1436770

what makes you meath people think yous are gonna put it up to tyrone any better than kildare did tonight.yous have played wicklow and wexford (hardly world beaters) on the way to a leinster final in which if dublin had of stepped out of 2nd gear they would have took yous to pieces,yous have played division 3 football againt a team that came within a wisker of winning division 1 and beating dublin who beat yous handily so to think yous can put it up better than kildare did 2nite is deluded

god68 (Down) - Posts: 32 - 20/07/2013 21:23:09    1436774

Well done to Tyrone, done enough. Clinical when they needed to be. Very frustrating for Kildare, another performance well below what we're capable of but that's championship. Do it on the day or not at all and we have just not showed up this summer. It's a new team and some of the young lads still showed well at times. There is the bones of a very decent side there. But McGeeney will be the first to tell you that from a sports psychology point of view the worst thing anyone can say about you is that you have potential. And that's probably the best thing you can say about us now! A bad year but I suppose a change as big as the turnover in players we've had this year was always going to be painful but it would have been nice to have one good result to hang the year on, instead we've ended up with nothing.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 20/07/2013 21:23:37    1436775

I think you are living in a dream royal but anyone who frequents this site knows that so take off your crown and get real as football becomes ever more scientific a very average team like meath just don't cut the mustard unless.................unless you get one of those eagle eyed official you have up there reffing

AreWeHuman (Kildare) - Posts: 242 - 20/07/2013 21:25:22    1436777

Tyrone not what they were and Kildare not ready for the big boys yet!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8756 - 20/07/2013 21:27:18    1436779