Kerry v Cork

I tell you what lads forget about Eammon Fitz .... JamesH seems to know so much about Kerry maybe we should let himself select the team for Sunday!!

You'd think by now he'd be more worried about ending his own beloved county's barren spell of 60 years or so!!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 04/07/2013 16:39:19    1423799

People talking about Dublin's panel should take a look at Cork's bench for Sunday ; Aidan Walsh , Alan O Conor , Donacha O Conor , Noel O Leary , Ciaran Sheehan.... Wow

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/07/2013 20:36:24    1423986

Aidan Walsh????? Don't think he's injured

corkrebel (Cork) - Posts: 105 - 04/07/2013 20:43:42    1423989

Just shows what James H knows about Kerry we had the best defence in the league least amount of scores against. It's the forwards I'm worried about D Walsh and Galvin are past their best while JOD is weak, Cork to win by 1

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 04/07/2013 21:27:09    1424029

I see some contributors are attacking Emmet Ryan's analysis just because ultimately he tipped Cork to win! So we can presume if Emmet had tipped Kerry to win they'd be praising him! Where is their rational analysis? There is none. The RTE preview has also tipped Cork to win so expect some further indignation from those who can't accept a different opinion from one only seen through the prism of green and gold spectacles.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 05/07/2013 09:31:04    1424111

JamesH. The report claimed Kerry had changed their plans drastically to beat Cork. I would suggest it is Cork who have changed their plans to beat Kerry.

Also if you want to slate the Kerry defence, I suggest comparing them to a Mayo full-back line on All-Ireland Final day.

Up The Kingdom! 36 All-Irelands!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 05/07/2013 10:08:04    1424141

1423986 People talking about Dublin's panel should take a look at Cork's bench for Sunday ; Aidan Walsh , Alan O Conor , Donacha O Conor , Noel O Leary , Ciaran Sheehan.... Wow

Great bench alright.. However I do feel that Walsh may start. He should be starting. I don't think we can afford to leave him on the bench. I really like the fact that we have Sheehan and O'Connor to call on in the front line. Sheehan is a great footballer and can kick points from anywhere..

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 576 - 05/07/2013 10:11:12    1424148

I expect Aidan Walsh & C Sheehan to be starting on the day. I think Canty will go in the half back line, Walsh midfield & Sheehan at wing foward instead of John O Rourke.

This is going to be a cracking match and thank god the weather is great for Sunday. Killarney is the place to be this weekend.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 05/07/2013 12:56:18    1424340

It's seems like no one is giving Cork a chance of winning what do the Cork lads on here think of their chances?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/07/2013 13:04:15    1424348

It's seems like no one is giving Cork a chance of winning what do the Cork lads on here think of their chances?

We have a great chance on Sunday as there is very very little between these two teams. Both are however a bit behind Dublin, Donegal & Mayo at the moment. We have some very talented U21's coming through but they will be tested at this level for the first time on Sunday. How they cope will play a big part in the outcome.

Kerry have serious serious pace in the inside full forward line & I think this is where they will have the beating of us and win the game by 2-3 points. Cooper at centre forward will have the ability to set up many scores for the likes of Declan Sullivan, Darren Sullivan etc.

A draw would be a good result for us.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 05/07/2013 13:52:01    1424395

Just wondering what the Cork lads think of Loughrey. It's rumoured he will start against Kerry. Do yous think he is good enough or is the competition for the half back line not as strong as you would like. Interested to know if he has settled in well and what the general Cork view of him would be.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 05/07/2013 16:34:22    1424577

Most of the papers are tipping them ......

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 05/07/2013 16:53:45    1424593

Poeple should not expect a great game of attacking football It will be close and tight with a lot of handpassing if its anything to go by the last few years. Just two good teams sizeing each other up without giving too much away. having said that i hope its a fast attacking game hard to tell as this is fitzmaurice's first real test as a manager and with all this close door training done the last month nobody knows what to expect. Hopefully it ends in a draw as we need some extra hard games as we played nobody so far.It will be intresting to see how griffin does at fullback its a big test for him and also see how this team looks without donnaghy as he hasnt impressed me really since '08.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 05/07/2013 18:25:12    1424664

A draw Chicago ?

We don't need any more games than is necessary to get too HQ.

I'm expecting a fast good game, Munster finals never disappoint in a sun drenched Killarney.

Come on the the Kingdom

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 05/07/2013 19:54:03    1424742

I have to say I fancy cork for this one should be a great game all the same...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 05/07/2013 20:27:02    1424765

No one cares. Tipp/Kilkenny own this weekend

Fishermantom (Limerick) - Posts: 569 - 05/07/2013 20:32:49    1424769

05/07/2013 19:54:03
westkerry

A draw Chicago ?

We don't need any more games than is necessary to get too HQ.

I'm expecting a fast good game, Munster finals never disappoint in a sun drenched Killarney.

Come on the the Kingdom

2009 was awful. And the weather was great. Lovely setting, great occasion, terrible game.

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 05/07/2013 21:55:24    1424842

05/07/2013 20:32:49
Fishermantom
County: Limerick

No one cares. Tipp/Kilkenny own this weekend

You're joking right? It's all about the prolonged whinge over some lad not getting picked by a rugby team so artificial it makes the compromise rules look normal. Boo hoo no BOD!
Oh, and Andy Murray winning Wimbledon!

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 05/07/2013 21:57:43    1424846

Will this game go to extra time or replay, i can see it goin that way!!

loyal82royal (Meath) - Posts: 260 - 06/07/2013 08:47:18    1424862

People expecting a really close contest might be in for a big disappointment and I won't be surprised if this game follows the pattern we have seen in much of this Championship and turns out to be a one sided affair and a dead rubber from early on.

The closer this game gets the more I'm thinking it could be a damp squib. Since Kerry's last All-Ireland win in 2009, one has to wonder how they can expect to return to the summit with essentially the same players which came up short in recent years. Kerry are actually starting with just one Championship debutant tomorrow and that is full-back Mark Griffin which is an enforced change. So for all the trawling for new talent during the league Kerry came up with very little new just a different plan with Cooper on the 40! It is simply not enough. Cork do have some really exciting young players and certainly they're not carrying as many has-beens as the opposition. Cork to win in a canter.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 06/07/2013 10:42:53    1424889