Kerry v Cork

Aidan O' Mahony is a huge loss to Kerry. His physicality was always needed against Cork, interesting decision now for Fitzmaurice, throw in Mark Griffin who's untested and very green, or shuffle the pack.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 01/07/2013 16:01:44    1420689

How long is O 'Mahony out for? Really looking forward to this game and seeing how good either team is this year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/07/2013 16:21:53    1420724

Well he dislocated his elbow, looking at 6 weeks which would rule him out of a possible Quarter Final too.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 01/07/2013 16:26:08    1420734

Hard one to call but I'd say Cork by 3 points.... Think Kerry are over-rated but could be proved wrong on this one. Certainly Gooch will need to get his head in the game and stop worrying about the state of the game in general and whether he would get picked now for a county side or not....
They dont want to get knocked into the qualifiers and come up against an Ulster side again in the quarter final, their past proves that this is often their undoing

Cork will have learned a lot since last year and experimented with a blanket defense during the league, I expect them to be the slightly more inventive team.

Aiders (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 02/07/2013 13:02:07    1421475

Aiders

Hard one to call but I'd say Cork by 3 points.... Think Kerry are over-rated but could be proved wrong on this one. Certainly Gooch will need to get his head in the game and stop worrying about the state of the game in general and whether he would get picked now for a county side or not....
They dont want to get knocked into the qualifiers and come up against an Ulster side again in the quarter final, their past proves that this is often their undoing

Cork will have learned a lot since last year and experimented with a blanket defense during the league, I expect them to be the slightly more inventive team.

Their past would prove the opposite

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 02/07/2013 13:45:08    1421560

see o mahony is out just a general question is he really that big a loss to Kerry,kerry have some awesome players I think a few better than him but that is only my opinion

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 353 - 02/07/2013 13:52:07    1421578

Superglue

Kerry Defeats in the last 10 years in the Championship, I count 6 Ulster teams out of 7:

2002 Armagh
2003 Tyrone
2005 Tyrone
2008 Tyrone
2010 Down
2011 Dublin
2012 Donegal

No wonder you don't like our style :)

Aiders (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 02/07/2013 14:00:35    1421598

Aiders

Funny line since Kerry have played 4 Ulster teams in the Quarter Final, Armagh 06, Monaghan 07, Down 10 and Donegal 13, won 2 of those 4, hardly "often their undoing".

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 02/07/2013 14:11:02    1421619

monkstownrebel1

1421578 see o mahony is out just a general question is he really that big a loss to Kerry,kerry have some awesome players I think a few better than him but that is only my opinion

No he is a savage loss, esp. as our full back cover is a relative novice.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 02/07/2013 14:12:23    1421625

regardless what is going on this annual joust in Killarney is one of the highlights og the GAA calendar. Colour, Craic, lots of banter between the supporters, terrace ticket for one of the best views in the world....cmon Kerry!

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 02/07/2013 14:15:42    1421628

Aiders

Superglue

Kerry Defeats in the last 10 years in the Championship, I count 6 Ulster teams out of 7:

2002 Armagh
2003 Tyrone
2005 Tyrone
2008 Tyrone
2010 Down
2011 Dublin
2012 Donegal

No wonder you don't like our style :)

Cork have beaten us more often in that period than anyone else. Care to count all our wins while you're at it? Bit early for Donegal to think they're in the same league as Down and Tyrone when it comes to playing and beating The Kingdom. 36.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 02/07/2013 14:24:20    1421649

I'm afraid that I find the munster championship difficult to watch. It sticks in my craw that Cork and Kerry get a bye to the fourth round of the qualifiers. The whole thing is so disappointing. If I were a Kerryman (for instance) my embarrassment would drive me to challenge Croke park to enforce a change; for instance that at least Cork and Kerry would have to meet in the first round of munster every year. That way, one of them would have to go through the qualifiers each year. But it will never happen because, imo Kerry are happy as Larry with the status quo. They just don't like it up em.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 02/07/2013 14:40:07    1421675

Vested interests Gael; Munster football and hurling folk have always had a vice like grip, some would say malign, on what goes on within the GAA. Munster and Dublin looks after themselves and put their interests first.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 02/07/2013 14:48:47    1421692

gaelantrim

I'm afraid that I find the munster championship difficult to watch. It sticks in my craw that Cork and Kerry get a bye to the fourth round of the qualifiers. The whole thing is so disappointing. If I were a Kerryman (for instance) my embarrassment would drive me to challenge Croke park to enforce a change; for instance that at least Cork and Kerry would have to meet in the first round of munster every year. That way, one of them would have to go through the qualifiers each year. But it will never happen because, imo Kerry are happy as Larry with the status quo. They just don't like it up em.

Don't watch it so. But we all know ye really love Kerry up there .............

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 02/07/2013 14:52:45    1421699

"Funny line since Kerry have played 4 Ulster teams in the Quarter Final, Armagh 06, Monaghan 07, Down 10 and Donegal 13, won 2 of those 4, hardly "often their undoing"

2 out of 4 is often enough, but 6 of the last 7 exits from the Championship was when you met your waterloo at the hands of Ulster opposition.

As for Kerry 36, well that just answers everything doesn't it.... Like Liverpool talking about their rich history. You may be quoting the number 36 for a long while to come!

Aiders (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 02/07/2013 15:13:48    1421728

Aiders

"Funny line since Kerry have played 4 Ulster teams in the Quarter Final, Armagh 06, Monaghan 07, Down 10 and Donegal 13, won 2 of those 4, hardly "often their undoing"

2 out of 4 is often enough, but 6 of the last 7 exits from the Championship was when you met your waterloo at the hands of Ulster opposition.

As for Kerry 36, well that just answers everything doesn't it.... Like Liverpool talking about their rich history. You may be quoting the number 36 for a long while to come!

Have you that much of an inferiority complex hat you have to combine the record of a 9 county province against 1 county?
Maybe we should play in the Interprovincials instead.
Thanks for the compliment though.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 02/07/2013 15:39:48    1421762

"Have you that much of an inferiority complex hat you have to combine the record of a 9 county province against 1 county?"

I don't think so I'd say its more Ulster get bunched together for ruining football and everything else, and my only point was that Kerry wouldnt like to get beat by Cork and run into the likes of Tyrone, if it happens you may see my point...

And that Ulster counties have dumped them out of the Championship 6 times in the last 10 years.... Only one county from any of the 3 other provinces has done so

So I am not taking the record of 9 counties against them, I am saying that teams that have eliminated them have been predominantly from the one province

Aiders (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 02/07/2013 16:05:08    1421795

Ulsterman

Vested interests Gael; Munster football and hurling folk have always had a vice like grip, some would say malign, on what goes on within the GAA. Munster and Dublin looks after themselves and put their interests first.

Strange how you never hear calls for change to the format from the Ulster council.
The fact is they are the biggest opponents to changing the provincial format.
It would end their cash cow if it did change.
Were they not the ones that brought the Ulster final to Croke park????
No consideration for tradition or travelling expenses for those involved.
Vice like grip is an accurate description

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 02/07/2013 16:18:55    1421817

I cant wait for this game.

I agree with the post that tradition now means very little, you are only as good as your last game, and can only look towards the game the following week.
I would not look too deeply into where the opposition comes from, ie which province, it is all about tactics and set up on the day, there is no point in worrying about cavan or down because of their rich history in the game, i would worry about them on their merits today, and what they have been doing over the past 12 months.

Anyway, back to the topic, I will go for kerry, they don't get beaten too often in killarney, and cork are unlikely to spoil the party this time either. I am sure it will b close though.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3858 - 02/07/2013 16:29:22    1421833

Aiders

"Have you that much of an inferiority complex hat you have to combine the record of a 9 county province against 1 county?"

I don't think so I'd say its more Ulster get bunched together for ruining football and everything else, and my only point was that Kerry wouldnt like to get beat by Cork and run into the likes of Tyrone, if it happens you may see my point...

It happened last year and didn't work out too bad for us

And that Ulster counties have dumped them out of the Championship 6 times in the last 10 years.... Only one county from any of the 3 other provinces has done so

Kerry have dumped Ulster teams out of the Championship 7 times in the last 10 years....It's a better record than vs Connaught or Leinster

So I am not taking the record of 9 counties against them, I am saying that teams that have eliminated them have been predominantly from the one province

I'm saying that the teams Kerry have eliminated have been predominantly from the one province

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 02/07/2013 16:36:14    1421848