Kerry v Cork

Moylagh Kerry are in the QF Meath will get hammered by Dublin cant
see them getting through the final round of Qualfiers i hope ye do
so we can meet in the qf and show ye how to play football

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 08/07/2013 12:36:22    1426437

Theres a lot of people getting carried away with this present Dublin football team. They have outstanding potential with a huge squad to pick from but they have won nothing yet. The way some folk on here talk about them would have you believe that they have won multiple All-Irelands. Dublin took apart a poor Kildare side yes but bigger tests lie ahead. Donegal still the team to beat in my view. My ranking order as of now would be 1.Donegal 2.Dublin 3.Mayo 4.Kerry 5.Cork 6.Tyrone. IMO THE REST HAVE LITTLE CHANCE.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 08/07/2013 12:57:34    1426460

i was dissappointed in the game thought it would have been more intense,however i liked kerry's performance in stages they looked like the kerry of old pushed up forward nice passing and the gooch is some player what a finisher,cork just very lazy and rusty i thought they would have given a better account of themselves...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 08/07/2013 13:18:32    1426493

mayoboy1

Congrats to Kerry but where do they go from here? If they get a handy quarter-final draw, maybe Kildare or Meath or a team like that, Dublin await in the semi-final. I'd say that wouldn't he pretty from a Kerry point of v

same thing was said when kerry met dublin in 2009

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 08/07/2013 13:32:01    1426504

what about all the chances kerry wasted especially in the first half?

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 08/07/2013 13:37:45    1426514

kerryluck

1426504 mayoboy1

Congrats to Kerry but where do they go from here? If they get a handy quarter-final draw, maybe Kildare or Meath or a team like that, Dublin await in the semi-final. I'd say that wouldn't he pretty from a Kerry point of v

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Kerryluck - we are now a long way from 2009 a year that was a line in the sand in many ways. Dublin, Donegal and Mayo are different sides now being far more defensive and dynamic in attack. Furthermore, since 2009 Kerry have lost blue chip players such as Diarmuid Murphy, Tom O'Sullivan, Tommy Griffin, Mick McCarthy, Darragh O'Se, Tadhg Kennelly and Tommy Walsh, those are serious losses to any squad and now Aidan O'Mahony is out injured. Do not fool yourself kerryluck we are not in the same place as 2009 and neither are Dublin - far from it! If we meet Dublin we'll still give a great game for sure and carry a punchers chance but I would still expect them to prevail this year on all known evidence so far.

A mixed display from Kerry yesterday but always nice to beat Cork and it is especially great for our younger lads to be part of a winning team. The likes of Crowley, Griffen, Fitzgerald and O'Donoghue are the future and their confidence will only grow from here. Roll on the QFs!

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 08/07/2013 15:19:24    1426684

Theres a lot of people getting carried away with this present Dublin football team. They have outstanding potential with a huge squad to pick from but they have won nothing yet. The way some folk on here talk about them would have you believe that they have won multiple All-Irelands. Dublin took apart a poor Kildare side yes but bigger tests lie ahead. Donegal still the team to beat in my view. My ranking order as of now would be 1.Donegal 2.Dublin 3.Mayo 4.Kerry 5.Cork 6.Tyrone. IMO THE REST HAVE LITTLE CHANCE.

People talk about Dublin being a serious team with incredible strength and depth.

Nobody is saying Dublin are nailed on to win the all Ireland (well nobody from Dublin anyway)

I do agree however that outside those six, Noone has a hope .

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 08/07/2013 15:25:07    1426697

Kingdomson

kerryluck

1426504 mayoboy1

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Kerryluck - we are now a long way from 2009 a year that was a line in the sand in many ways. Dublin, Donegal and Mayo are different sides now being far more defensive and dynamic in attack. Furthermore, since 2009 Kerry have lost blue chip players such as Diarmuid Murphy, Tom O'Sullivan, Tommy Griffin, Mick McCarthy, Darragh O'Se, Tadhg Kennelly and Tommy Walsh, those are serious losses to any squad and now Aidan O'Mahony is out injured. Do not fool yourself kerryluck we are not in the same place as 2009 and neither are Dublin - far from it! If we meet Dublin we'll still give a great game for sure and carry a punchers chance but I would still expect them to prevail this year on all known evidence so far.

A mixed display from Kerry yesterday but always nice to beat Cork and it is especially great for our younger lads to be part of a winning team. The likes of Crowley, Griffen, Fitzgerald and O'Donoghue are the future and their confidence will only grow from here. Roll on the QFs!

most commentators were saying kerry for finished,
and now they are still talking has if it is the same kerry team as 10 years ago

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 08/07/2013 21:02:40    1427070

kerryluck

people from outside kerry guess the average age of kerry team that started today and the team that finished

At a quick tot the average starting and finishing age was about 27.
Also, Kerry had 11 different scorers yesterday.
5 fwds
2 mfs
2 backs
keeper
1 sub

Two very good positives from yesterday.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 08/07/2013 21:05:35    1427076

Hi guys,

I've put together a video analysing some of the issues Cork had defensively yesterday. You can check it out here:
http://action81.com/blog/?p=7423

Thanks,
Emmet

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 08/07/2013 21:43:59    1427133

kerryluck

1426274 people say cork are the team to avoid, but if roles were reversed yesterday and kerry lost by same scoreline, what would they be saying?

Probably Kerry will be the team to avoid in Round 4 of the Qualifiers!

But right now Kerry are Munster champions, while Cork are the team to avoid In the 4th round of the qualifiers. I'm sure the odd muppet would say Kerry are finished or whatever, but most people know better.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 08/07/2013 21:59:26    1427151

When reviewing a game the age old problem is how good were the winners or how bad were the losers. I contend that for 50minutes of Sundays game Cork were shocking. Kerry did look good and could have been much further ahead by half time. Furthermore Kerry have traditionally kicked on when they get to Croke Park and their chances of winning Sam cannot be written off. I would expect them to win their quarter final however from there if results go as are generally expected, they will face Dublin with winners to meet Donegal. I saw nothing in Killarney that would give either of the Munster sides much hope against either one of Dublin or Donegal.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 09/07/2013 09:43:54    1427198

Neither side would beat Donegal or Dublin. Kerry were slow on the ball in the second half, made poor decisions, Darran O' Sullivan being most culpable. Some good performances from Anthony Maher, Cooper and Declan O' Sullivan but a combination of the extreme heat, Cork winning more ball around the middle and old Kerry legs caused Kerry to wilt.

But we are where we want to be and we will always be dangerous in Croker.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 09/07/2013 10:56:31    1427267

The Kerry forwards have been rightly praised for the accuracy of their kickpassing and excellent movement in Sunday's game. Kevin McStay highlighted this on The Sunday Game. On the flipside, I'd like someone with the time and technical knowhow to do an analysis of Kerry's use of a "blanket defence" in the last 20 minutes and, in particular, a lot of what appeared to be "strategic" fouling in the middle third of the pitch during the same period. If Donegal or Mayo had done this, there would probably have been more of a reaction.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 09/07/2013 11:41:02    1427322

Its a bit sad but the reality is that no one in Cork or Kerry were really too bothered by the long term implications of the result. Yes on the day you wanted to win the game but the reality is its only now that the real competition begins. Yes Cork have an extra game to play and could slip up in that one but if they do then they have no right to All Ireland aspirations in the first place, if they don't slip up the extra game could be an advantage in getting a bit of momentum going for the quarters. We have discussed this here before but its becoming more obvious every year, the Provincial Championships as a means of progressing to the All Ireland are past there sell by date. With 32 Counties,o.k. slip London in instead of Kilkenny, we are ideally set up for a Champions League type set up. 8 groups of 4 with the previous years quarter finalists seeded, or even previous years semi finalists. 8 winners into quarter finals for Sam, middle 16 knock out for a Shield Competition and last teams in each group play for a third tier Cup.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 09/07/2013 12:50:16    1427386

Corkcelt I couldnt agree more.

The extra game will benefit Cork no end. It might also get Counihan to wise up with his team.
I was happy that Kerry won but we have no big advantage over Cork in the long scheme of things.

Just as a FYI, some craic in Killarney on Sunday after the match. I don't think too many cars went back to Cork after the match!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 11/07/2013 15:21:03    1429069

woops

Corkcelt I couldnt agree more.

The extra game will benefit Cork no end. It might also get Counihan to wise up with his team.
I was happy that Kerry won but we have no big advantage over Cork in the long scheme of things.

Just as a FYI, some craic in Killarney on Sunday after the match. I don't think too many cars went back to Cork after the match!

The town was hopping. Still not right after it.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 11/07/2013 17:18:03    1429210