Kerry v Cork

Kerry to win by the minimum.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 18/06/2013 10:16:16    1409584

There's a few more tipping Cork than I expected. I do agree that we have the stronger squad, however Kerry do have the stronger
15. I just think it's time we put this Killarney ghost to bed. Counihan was given an extension and this game for me is one he needs to be winning.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 576 - 18/06/2013 11:19:47    1409634

''The absence of Colm O'Neill & the venue, Killarney, means that the Muckross millions are nervously riding on Kerry this weekend''

You like to back early, match isn't till 7th of July.Dangerous thing to back on a game too early, injuries can have an impact if they occur.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 18/06/2013 11:44:53    1409661

I Have a monkey on a draw, up to PUC for the replay and then a Cork Win. Kerry are average, while I have a sneaky feeling Cork are flying under the radar and will win Sam this year.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 18/06/2013 12:05:12    1409702

Awful hard to call, home advantage to swing it for Kerry in the end, nothing between these teams. Kerry are going to give it everything this year for one last Sam for a long long time as the young guns of the Dubs has them spooked down there. Cork have the forwards to beat anyone in the country, its that defence I'd worry about.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 18/06/2013 12:08:49    1409707

We have the resources to sort out our defence. Counihan loves the old guard of Kissane/Canty/O'Leary however when we have planty of other lads that should be ahead of them. We should keep Kissane/Canty for the bench. They would be great to bring on for the last 20. I think people's patience in Cork will run very thin with Counihan unless he delivers this year. If he was rebuliding the squad, we could wait but when he is letting very talented footballers like Sean Kiely/James Fitzpatrick drift from the panel while holding to lads that are getting past it he had better have a fool proof plan to be winning both the Munster and All-Ireland. There is far greater pressure on Counihan and Cork to win-and so it should be.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 18/06/2013 12:20:37    1409720

Sergeant_Slash

Awful hard to call, home advantage to swing it for Kerry in the end, nothing between these teams. Kerry are going to give it everything this year for one last Sam for a long long time as the young guns of the Dubs has them spooked down there. Cork have the forwards to beat anyone in the country, its that defence I'd worry about.

Not the feeling I get down here ..... it's the young guns of Cavan that are spooking the country.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 18/06/2013 12:26:48    1409727

I just love the Kerry posts....

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 576 - 18/06/2013 12:54:22    1409765

Serious game between two serious top 5 sides

If Kerry can beat this Cork team then they are still very much capable of beating anyone!

This will show a lot about Kerry

They ahve manged to keep all the talk about the other top few teams

Donegal

Mayo

Dublin

But if they beat Cork there will eb a lot of focus put back on them and just watch their odds change...

I tipped Kerry a few months back and I'm still very much sticking to that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/06/2013 13:02:04    1409782

As its a 20 man game and Cork have the stronger panel I take them by 3+

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 18/06/2013 19:59:14    1410254

When it comes to football we all know Kerry are the kings so we will go to Killarney and take are annual beating and go through the back door Kerry by 7

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 353 - 18/06/2013 20:46:54    1410290

Cork haven't won in Killarney since 1995 -all of 19 years ago! That is some record by Kerry, particularly as those finals have usually been close.

For me, it's important that Cork keep the tempo going right throughout the game. It's asking for trouble to take breathers against Kerry, which is something Cork have been very guilty of down the years.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 646 - 18/06/2013 21:29:23    1410350

Was article during the week talking about all the contenders needing to beat lesser team by 15 to 20 points or they shoulld forget about winning Sam. Does that logic rule Cork out afterall they only beat Clare div 4 team by 9 points?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3993 - 18/06/2013 21:41:52    1410366

Really looking forward to this game,

While people knock Munster to me this game is the best of the summer.

Killarney on a hot day, terrace packed and the great colour.

I think the cork management are very brave introducing so many young guys
and we will see if it pays off in there real test.

Personally I still believe in this Kerry team and I think we actually have a little more
dept than the last few years .

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/06/2013 21:57:39    1410385

westkerry

Really looking forward to this game,

While people knock Munster to me this game is the best of the summer.

Killarney on a hot day, terrace packed and the great colour.

I think the cork management are very brave introducing so many young guys
and we will see if it pays off in there real test.

Personally I still believe in this Kerry team and I think we actually have a little more
dept than the last few years .

Can't wait for it. One of the best days out of the year when it's Killarney.
Ring of Kerry cycle is on the day before so Killarney will be extra craic that weekend.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 19/06/2013 11:00:10    1410507

Killarney = great spot

Went out with a Killarney girl

Out on the lake rowing... fishing on the river Flesk where it runs into the lakes

Then getting Banjo'd that night out on the town... with a nice bag of chips outside that chipper where half the town meets up at about 2am after the pub kickout

Nice girl, nice people, nice town...

Ahh young love.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/06/2013 11:13:00    1410513

Killarney = great spot

Out on the lake rowing... fishing on the river Flesk where it runs into the lakes

Then getting Banjo'd that night out on the town... with a nice bag of chips outside that chipper where half the town meets up at about 2am after the pub kickout

Ahh young love.

Fighting out on the lakes? Is there anywhere the dubs won't start a fight? :-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 19/06/2013 14:00:59    1410725

Have a feeling na Réabhlóidigh might pip us on this occasion. We barely hung on to our unbeaten record in 2002, 2006 and 2009, and it's high time we lost. The silence from muintir cois Laoi is chilling I tells ya, that's when they go and win the bloody thing. As much of a loss as Ó Néill is, they still have Ó Góilín, and him coming off a bench is an ominous sight. The U21 dominance is bound to start paying off, 1 provincial title for us in 11 seasons is a stunning statistic.

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 20/06/2013 16:51:50    1411706

Superglue

1410725 jimbodub

Killarney = great spot

Ahh young love.

Fighting out on the lakes? Is there anywhere the dubs won't start a fight? :-)

_____

Haha... true enough...

Found this amazing spot... her aul lad told me the locals call it "the Cascades"

Water fall coming down the mountain surrounded by oak trees... stunning. Great plunge pool at it's base where you can dive in...

Gorgeous, brought my gear down there a couple of times since to shoot stock footage

You can see why Kerry is called the Kingdom alright...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 20/06/2013 17:22:48    1411739

an tseabhac

Have a feeling na Réabhlóidigh might pip us on this occasion. We barely hung on to our unbeaten record in 2002, 2006 and 2009, and it's high time we lost. The silence from muintir cois Laoi is chilling I tells ya, that's when they go and win the bloody thing. As much of a loss as Ó Néill is, they still have Ó Góilín, and him coming off a bench is an ominous sight. The U21 dominance is bound to start paying off, 1 provincial title for us in 11 seasons is a stunning statistic.

The fé 21 statistic is not great for an Ríocht. However, in that time ye have won one All-Ireland while we have only won one more than that. Really thought we would have won this year and three years ago but thems the breaks I guess. Ye are still bringing through plenty of players anyway so would not worry about the stats.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 20/06/2013 20:18:59    1411899