Meath v Wexford

I would've started Joe seeing he did more in 10 mins than Bray did in almost a full game, he is a good option from the bench though. Bray and Newman need to do much more than the last day if Meath want to win this imo. Wallace should be interesting to see, he could be nervous having his first day in croker and I reckon he can be stopped if the space is filled up, but at the same time if he is given space his pace could be lethal.

This one could go to the wire, but I'll stick with my original prediction - narrow Wexford win.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 28/06/2013 20:41:20    1417930

I'd be surprised if Meath can hang in there for another round in the Leinster championship, Wexford should have enough to beat them.

I'd be worried for Meath that a lot of the talk is of them currently in a process of re-building. Just because a county is outside of Div 1 and not competing in the latter stages of the championship does not mean it is re-building. This was the excuse used in Donegal for years and all we were doing was limping along with too many of the same players who let us down before. When I look at Meath all of their main men have been around for a while at this stage so I can't see where the hope is coming from.

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 28/06/2013 20:45:26    1417933

Nick. . .dude.. . . .your setting yourself up to fall in a major way. If we lose it's a new account for you !!! :) I can't understand this crazy confidence is coming from Meath either though. . . . . .there clearly the Liverpool of football. . . . . :) I really can't see anything other than a Wexford win. should be a cracking game though !!

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4558 - 28/06/2013 21:28:54    1417972

ounty: Donegal Posts: 262

I'd be surprised if Meath can hang in there for another round in the Leinster championship, Wexford should haveenough to beatthem.

I'd be worried for Meath that a lot of the talk is of them currently in a process of re-building. Just because a county is outside of Div 1 and not competing in the latter stages of the championship does not mean it is re-building. This was the excuse used in Donegal for years and all we were doing was limping along with too many of the same players who let us down before. When I look at Meath all of their main men have been around for a while at this stage so I can't see where the hope is coming from.

Seannie man im starting to think that either you know nothing about football or you just a wum.
Àlot been around for years? Twelve months to the day almost since meath beat kildare, the team that has been named for Sunday has wait for it SIX players that started that day. Wallace Newman harnan etc all making croker debut in championship. So either do a good wind up or learn about football.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/06/2013 21:44:54    1417987

Going for a Meath win here in a very tight match.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 29/06/2013 12:33:25    1418090

Nick. . .dude.. . . .your setting yourself up to fall in a major way. If we lose it's a new account for you !!! :) I can't understand this crazy confidence is coming from Meath either though. . . . . .there clearly the Liverpool of football. . . . . :) I really can't see anything other than a Wexford win. should be a cracking game though !!

________

I hope you're right and Wexford hammer Meath tomorrow.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 29/06/2013 12:50:06    1418098

I think this is the second hardest game to call of the weekend. If Meath can win the greater share of the spoils at midfield they will win IMO. Long v Lim is impossible to call but surelely the team with the most to lose is Longford where a defeat here would be 9 losses in a row excluding OB cup.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 322 - 29/06/2013 13:19:38    1418107

Hoping for a Wexford win, the Meath fans on here are unbearable.

jimmyc (Laois) - Posts: 12 - 29/06/2013 16:33:33    1418233

jimmyc

Hoping for a Wexford win, the Meath fans on here are unbearable.

Bit of a sweeping statement isn't it?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/06/2013 16:39:15    1418241

There is no stopping the W.A.R tomorrow (Wallace and Reilly that is) :-)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2013 16:56:27    1418263

very confident wex by 5 points or more

dawnrun (Wexford) - Posts: 81 - 29/06/2013 17:47:43    1418292

Dawnrun. Thats funny exact same prediction as me only mine is meath +5 pulling up.
we shall see who is right tomorrow :-)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2013 17:54:42    1418295

I'm not as confident as you royaldunne although obvious I hope you're right, I know basically nothing about Wexford this year but I have seen Meath several times from the O'Byrne cup to the Wicklow game and to be honest we haven't been brilliant.

I'm really looking forward to the game tomorrow but it's almost unbearable sitting in croker worrying about how your team is going to do, I just hope that the half back line improves a good deal and Bray and Newman show a lot better from play. If those 2 plus Wallace and O'Reilly fire then I'd say we'll win it by 3 or 4, if they don't then it's certain disaster.

Meath by 3 for me.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/06/2013 18:03:06    1418302

Htaem. I know where you coming from. My logic is based on wallace having more space and the fact that biggy is injury free (please god) them two interlink from deep and running at pace working as a unit is near impossible to stop, i think bringing in harnan and particular kenny will shore up half backs. Add to that Carroll, bray and Newman will not have as quite a day and even if one ia off form a rejuvenated Joe can come in along with gilsenan. Just feel after wex first fifteen there ain't much else but we have superior bench (well i hope so anyway)
that's why I think we will win by 5 about

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2013 18:32:21    1418321

Hey listen I hope you're right royaldunne and I like your optimism, fingers crossed at this stage.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/06/2013 18:41:20    1418329

Hard one to call. Though the law of averages might favour Meath.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3070 - 29/06/2013 18:45:39    1418333

Jaysus, its been a while since so much was
written about so little!
Lets just hope that this game lives up to
the hype! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 29/06/2013 19:46:23    1418380

Best wishes to team and management today. Time to put down a marker to prove meath are on the way back. This is a massive game for what must be the youngest team in championship. Youth has no fear, throw in a few experienced heads and you just might make something spectacular.
COME ON THE ROYAL.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/06/2013 08:32:32    1418673

Royaldunne I'd be surprised if its a younger team than Dublin but I don't really know much about this new Meath team so your probably right. All I know is we've three 19 year olds starting today and Bernard is our oldest out field player at 29.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/06/2013 08:59:09    1418688

Best of luck today to the lads, heads down n keep going, ye definitely have it in ye to win this!

UP THE YELLA BELLIES!

katcha (Wexford) - Posts: 110 - 30/06/2013 09:19:59    1418695