The irony here is something that stands out. As a Cavan man you have no right to criticize. The atmosphere in the buildup to this match is a positive one for us and it's a match where we are more than capable of outscoring Wexford by a comfortable margin. I wouldn't put it beyond us to limit Wexford to single scores as their forwards are vastly over rated in the media. wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 21/06/2013 12:25:23 1412141 Link 0 |
are wex a division 2 team this year? are meath a div 3 side this year? next year is a different ball game this is 2013 wakey wakey dawnrun (Wexford) - Posts: 81 - 21/06/2013 12:40:20 1412160 Link 0 |
Good betting on this game with Meath favourites at best price 4/5. Wexford opened at 15/8 which i backed and now are top priced at 13/8. I think Wexford could take them by 2/3 points but any piece of luck or good or bad fortune could tip the balance in one teams favour. kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 21/06/2013 12:52:32 1412166 Link 0 |
Personally speaking I would expect Wexford to win this game on Sunday week. I believe that they are an underrated team who more than most in Leinster have pushed Dublin over the last few years. In 2010 they should have beaten them in the Quarter Final while last year if Brosnan's radar was working the would have beaten them. In Anthony Masterson they have a good goalkeeper, Molloy is a very good full back, Adrian Flynn is an excellent attacking wing back, they have a solid midfield, Redmond Barry, Ciaran Lyng, PJ Banville and Ben Brosnan are as good in attack as anything we have. jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 21/06/2013 12:55:48 1412172 Link 0 |
Ahh will yis give upto up. Meath are favs with bookies (only just though) but we haven't beat wex in champ for near on 20 years, we are very much building a complete new team, last year and this, wex are the more settled side and championship hardened team with the exception of a few lads meath will field a team made up of mostly 23s and under. Now the worry for wexford thay in that bracket /group. You have the likes of biggy, wallace, Newman etc. royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/06/2013 10:43:10 1412679 Link 0 |
Agree that Meath will win but I don't see it being a high scoring free flowing game at all. THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 22/06/2013 13:05:10 1412719 Link 0 |
but the shame there would be to the once mighty meath to loose [ again] to wexfod a county they would have looked down on for years in fact would not play a practice more than once in past [ were not good enough in meaths eyes] Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3115 - 22/06/2013 13:27:06 1412727 Link 0 |
The people's Leinster final? realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 22/06/2013 13:43:21 1412737 Link 0 |
Ah lads I think we should loss the whole little county thing... Very few from Meath will be looking past us and that is a credit to how far we have come from the doldrums.. They will be confident in their team to win as I am confident in our lads to win... If we utilise banvilles pace and if Holmes does what he did against Louth same with Quinlivan we are in with a big chance. wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 22/06/2013 13:52:42 1412741 Link 0 |
realdub OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 22/06/2013 14:04:33 1412747 Link 0 |
What I mean is wexcore, most people would dislike both Dublin and Meath and would love to see them beaten realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 22/06/2013 14:19:19 1412755 Link 0 |
Unless I'm completely wrong Ollie and you actually love us and the royal : ) realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 22/06/2013 14:39:59 1412766 Link 0 |
realdub OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 22/06/2013 15:04:14 1412785 Link 0 |
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 22/06/2013 15:41:35 1412801 Link 0 |
Looking past this game.. as in recent years there has been; Dublin v Meath finals and Dublin v Wexford finals. I would that whoever win the game does a good job in the final. Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 843 - 22/06/2013 17:53:34 1412881 Link 0 |
Fair play Ollie. royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/06/2013 18:00:35 1412886 Link 0 |
Ollie I know you like shouting for the underdog and I know Meath are slight favs with PP but in reality Meath are the underdog. This game is a big turning point for us. We lose to Wexford and we may never beat them. If we beat them that's the Wexford monkey off our back and a 3rd Leinster final in 4 years. Real progress for this team still in transition. Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 22/06/2013 18:11:34 1412895 Link 0 |
Royaldunne you have said it quite a few times that Meath WILL get to the Leinster final. THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 22/06/2013 18:37:45 1412918 Link 0 |
Snapper the goal at beginning of year was promotion and leinster final. That has not changed. But if you look beyond any team, you are likely to get caught out. They are not polar opposite, the big goal and achieving same by focusing on one game at a time. If anything the performance by Kevin Reilly, Graham Reilly and wallace only increased my optimism, not diminish it. royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/06/2013 19:26:03 1412949 Link 0 |
My reasons are quite simple and biased as to why id like kildare to beat Dublin. Is that meath would beat kildare, IF we reached final and thats a big if. But to hell with it. I want another leinster, so come on meath and kildare. :-) royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/06/2013 19:45:38 1412956 Link 0 |